We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to come home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5 | Cancun, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #32 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Didn't want to come home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I travelled here with my boyfriend at the end of July 2013 and stayed for two weeks, this was our second visit to Cancun but our first stay in the Riu. We previously stayed in the Barceló Costa, however for the same price as the Barceló the Riu is 10 x better value for money, couldn't ask for anything more.
As there were a lot of people to check in at once when we arrived we were taken to a room to check in at once, whilst given refreshments etc, this took no more than 10 minutes and we were on our way to the rooms.
After reading reviews from before I went I have to admit I was a bit worried with some of the bad comments about the food etc as my boyfriend is a fussy eater, however there was literally NOTHING to worry about. The food was fab, fresh every single day; breakfast lunch and dinner! The drinks were to die for and could literally drink as many different cocktails as you could handle!
Location is perfect, with the main strip being a 5 min walk away with restaurants and clubs etc.
As for the cleanliness of the hotel, it was spotless.. rooms were cleaned every single day with fresh towels. Only one thing I could say as a bad point is that the bed sheets could have been changed a bit more often.
The rooms were a tad dated and could do with a little modern update considering the standards of the other Riu hotels however this did not matter much.
The four pools were equally as good with a different atmosphere in each for different types of people.. the pool bar being the most liveliest .. obviously.
Overall, couldn't fault the hotel or the staff and would definitely recommend people visiting this hotel!

Room Tip: High floors have beautiful views, even on level 6 there were gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,853
    1,656
    601
    328
    228
See reviews for
894
2156
70
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

we arrived in cancun after a 9h 30m flight from manchester and were a bit dazed from the jet lag when we arrived at the riu we were welcomed with drinks as we came in and were checked into our room on the 14th floor we had a great view of the beach and at night cap'n hooks ship which is a must try the rooms were kept spotless and the buffet always had tons there were 3 special restaurants for an extra charge unfortunately we didn't get to try these there was a japanese one a beef one and i forget the other pools were kept clean and you just had to ask for something the entertainment at night was great if eating out would suggest senor frogs if asking for a hot sandwich be careful the will put butter on bbq overall great holiday

Room Tip: get a room near the top of the hotel and if flying from a long distance destination would suggest p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow....Honestly.......I read some awful reviews and was dreading our holiday and it turned out I didn't want to come home....we all have our moans but you have to be really fussy not to like this hotel.
The staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you, infact sometimes you almost feel guilty that they do so much for you.
Visited 2nd august, I read that the bedrooms were out dated there not, you sleep init and get ready, what more do you want, the maids are amazing wish I had one at home...1 gripe whatever they polish the tiled floors were is dangerous after a shower so we had to put towels on floor or wear shoes, but when we complained they sorted it straight away..
Mini bar wow refilled every two days...
The three restaurants you have to book in are amazing,staff,food the lot.
The staff we're always there serving you drinks all the time even ones you didn't order to try out, truly amazing.
The swim up bar you will make your own judgement when you get there, we never went in it at all!
Beach is amazing too...
Entertainment staff work so hard but only do a couple of hours in the morning an then a couple in the afternoon.??? But then get involved in the evening entertainment, an they Pick on the men more which is good!!!!but whatever you do don't save seats in the main evening club as you end up arguing even if your child is on the stage in the kids club or go the loo!
Can't understand why people say this is a dated hotel no way!
Would definitely return.
The location of this hotel is fantastic.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I think my title explains it all. Just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive at the riu cancun in Mexico.

This hotel is the best I stayed in for all inclusive. 24 hour food and drink.


On arrival we were given drinks to refresh ourselves during the check in process
The staff can't do enough to help you. You are never without a drink.

The food is excellent, my husband is extremely fussy and he never had any problems with choosing food. The choice is so extensive I would defy anyone to find fault with it.

I know the hotel is being renovated next year, and the rooms, whilst dated in look, where extremely clean.

We had an issue with our shower and the maintenance guy has it fixed within 5 mins of reporting it.

We stayed on 6 th floor and had a love,t view of the sea.

The entertainment team are excellent, working hard to involve all. They even remember your name and make a personal effort to speak to you.

Prior to travelling I was told the beach was almost non existent - yes it's not a massive beach, but its a fair size and you could always get a sunbed no matter what time of day.

We had quite a bit of rain when we were there, but it didnt spoil the holiday as there was plenty to do in the hotel

We went to coco bongo with the entertainment team- I lost the contents of my bag there and the guys managed to get it back for me. It contained passports (as you need to take ID) so I was extremely grateful to get it back. I wasn't too impressed with coco bongo. They let too many people in and its very dark.

The hotel is massive, with a very large lobby bar, entertainment room and also the 24hr sports bar ( a great late night shop off with pizza, hotdogs and burgers for the late night munches.

The hotel presented us with a bottle of fizz, an ornament and a picture for our wedding anniversary which was a lovely touch.

The hotel shop is expensive. I was charged the equivalent of £6.50 for a large bag of crisps - the Mexican outlet over the road was about £3.00 so check out prices

I fully recommend the Japanese restaurant - you need to book 2 days in advance but its totally worth it - delicious.

We flew with thomsons- a long flight from newcastle but comfortable with a food choice of movies/ entertainment.

Be careful when booking trips as thomson charge quite a it more than you can get from the kiosks outside

All be careful in some bars, Carlos and Charlie's charged £25 for 1 beer and a gin and tonic - the waiter seems to make the price up, so always ask to see drinks menu before ordering

Fat Tuesdays was a nice little bar- clear prices and if the photographer come round of can get your photo put on a bottle of tequila for under £10 as a nice little momento.

To some up, fantastic holiday, fantastic hotel and fantastic service - we didn't want to leave and will definitely be back

Thanks for making our holiday so special

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went with a group of 3 couples the second week of August and had an AMAZING time. The location to downtown is so close you never need a cab to get to a club. It seemed safe enough to me we were always in a group of 6 and we never bothered.

The hotel does need some work but for the price we paid I'm not complaining. Service was pretty good, some days better than others. Never really had to move from the beach...the waiter came up to us and kept making sure we had a drink :)

I would never go to the pool bar in the late afternoon...enough said. For those who commented earlier on the elevator heat...yes I know your in the elevator for under a minute but yes it is that bad. They are tiny and when its busy there is no air left to breathe.

The food was a hit or a miss. The Japanese a la carte was the best by far, not a fan of the appetizers but the main course and desert were a hit with our group. Don Juan has terrible lunches...don't know why because we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners.

We went out 3 of the 5 nights we stayed and the fact that we could walk the distance back and forth without paying a cab was well worth any of the shortcomings of the hotel. My boyfriend wasn't feeling well and there were three pharmacies to chose from across the street. There's also a Starbucks across the street for all you caffeine fiends.

I would advise that you put your old towels on the floor between the bathroom and the room because it does get extremely slippery and I did fall once.

Our group had an amazing time at the Riu Cancun and would recommend it to any group that's planning to hit the downtown area. There are better hotels in Cancun but once we saw the distance from downtown in person...it just wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3times now. My daughter got married on the beach 26th july 2013.what a fantastic day it was they did all the leg work we just had to get ready 17 of us. You can't fault this hotel in any way at all. Loads of sun beds clean towels when you want them.Staff can't do enough for you at any time of the day.pools are clean and is cleaned every day. As for the food it's great everything you could wish for. Caroline From Wakefield xxx

Room Tip: Just go you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2weeks with my husband and it was fabulous. The rooms are spacious with good air con, however be careful on the tiled floor, I slipped off the steam from the shower. It is in great location, right in the middle of the night life but still peaceful.
There are a range of pools, the nearest one to beach is the best as the infinity pool looks down on to it. There are enough sunbeds in a morning, yet get up a little earlier to get a good one. There is plenty to do through the day in the hotel and they don't really pester you to take part either. The breakfast is out of this world- fajitas for breakfast! The staff are so helpful, tip them and they will really look after you. It was very clean throughout the hotel. It could do with being modernized but it's still really nice. The three restaurants in the hotel are beautiful, the Japanese was our favorite. They do not allow men to wear vests on a night time in the restaurants or the buffet. The entertainment is ok on a night time, nothing amazing but ok. The all inclusive is fabulous, non stop and the superman cocktail is to die for. There is an outside bar where we met some great people and the staff are always smiling. The pool bar is good to go to, yet it can be loud and there was some heavy petting going on! Otherwise, a brill hotel and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5 | Cancun, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 m/65 ft. from a shopping centre. 10 km/6.2 miles from downtown Cancun. 20 km/12.5 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.