We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Cancun to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #28 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for your money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel 9th-23rd april 2013, one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The staff were friendly, always cheerful, and nothing was a problem for them. We mainly used the buffet diner, this has a vast selection of dishes both hot and cold with something for every taste. The bedrooms were big and had air conditioning (much needed), a fridge well stocked with water,beer,coke etc.,in addition there was 4 optics in the room. The bathroom was quite large with 2 washbasins and a large walk in shower, the rooms were kept spotless by the maids. The only downside was traffic noise which started at about 5am, light sleepers may need earplugs, we took some, and the noise was not a problem. The main reception area was large with 2 bars, this area has no air conditioning, and so can become quite warm and sticky.
The main pool area can become noisy with the swim up bar and the entertainment, but the smaller pool at the other end of the hotel is usually quiet. There was ample sunbeds to go around, and lots of shade if you need to take a break from the heat of the sun. There is also a bar at this pool which serves pizza at lunchtimes. If you like to snorkel, there is a littIe man made reef, with lots of fish (take a banana in and you can hand feed them). Can't think of anything really negative about the RIU CARIBE, totally recommend it, can be as lively or as quiet as you want it to be, ENJOY.

Room Tip: The higher floors may have traffic noise even though they have sea views, 5th floor has a low buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,453
    1,994
    686
    355
    254
See reviews for
1,125
2,623
86
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights with friends while we were celebrating our anniversary and we had a great time! The rooms are nice, not great, but the views from every single room were absolutely amazing. They also stock the mini bar with plenty of beer, alcohol and tons of water which was very appreciated and best of all its included in the price!

The best restaurant was the Japanese restaurant and next was the rodizio restaurant. Reservations are difficult to come by so reserve early in the morning. I'm not sure I'd return to the steakhouse again because the buffet restaurant for dinner was good.

The ocean is so clear right off the beach in front of the hotel I would recommend bringing your snorkel and mask if you're into that. We didn't have our gear and we still saw close to 30 fish swimming right around us.

If you're traveling up and down the hotel zone of Cancun the public bus transportation is clean, efficient and safe. We took the bus 3 different days and never encountered a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this property from April 18-23. It was great. The location is ideal.. close to the mall, excellent beachfront. The food was excellent. Thoroughly impressed with the variety at dinner. The specialty restaurant we visited was Kawachi Japanese and the Brazilian restaurant. Both were very good. Although it is hard to make a reservation since they are accepted only 2 days in advance. But, you can always check back on the day for cancellations. One thing that is mentioned on the hotel website is the dress code at the restaurant, We were disappointed that the dress code was not really enforced. We had to pack additional clothes just for the dining experience and in fact it really didn't seem necessary. :(. We requested a king room and received a room with 2 double beds pushed together. Not a good idea for a property, but we managed. Also, I would advise to not request floor 5 - rooms 539 to 569. They claim it is oceanview, but the view is actually restricted by a tall wall outside the balcony. I had to stand on a chair to see the beach. If you are tall, you can see the ocean far away. We visited RIU Caribe with our wristband because of the exchange privileges and had lunch there. Very nice property indeed. One other disappointment... lack of WiFi in our rooms. Overall... we would definitely stay yat this property again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent two weeks in the riu cancun and can honestly say it's the best holiday we've ever had!
You couldn't ask for a better location, and the views from the balconies were out of this world! Never been on such a nice beach.
The rooms were slightly dated, but it didn't matter. They were clean and well maintained. As was the whole hotel.
Food was great. Plenty of choice and always hot!
Entertainment team were fantastic.
Haven't actually got anything negative to say about the hotel! And we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jengirl000
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I travel to an all-inclusive resort once year and this was the first time trying a Riu resort and we were pleasantly surprised! Everything from the food, service and cleanliness was great. Check in was quick and we had a beautiful room. The bathrooms and beds are a little outdated but our room was very clean and we had an amazing oceanview. We went down with a group of 10 this year and 2 couples ended up switching rooms because they payed for oceanview and didn't have it to begin with, but they both had rooms by late afternoon the day we checked in.

Service at the pool bar was slow. They could definitely use another bartendar there but otherwise service everywhere else was fantastic. The other thing that I did not like was that you have to make a reservation for the nicer restaurants 2 days ahead of time (and this wasn't just because we had a big group). We've been to other resorts that you have to make reservations for maybe 1 of the restaurants but we had to do it for every restaurant here except the buffet. And then when we were at these restaurants, they were never full, it didn't make sense. The japanese and brazialian were very good, the steakhouse was just ok to me. I actually liked my steak at the japanese restaurant much more than at the steak house. The buffet was great for all meals. They had a huge variety of foods and I could always find something I liked. Best buffet by far compared to other resorts. Servers don't expect tips but you definetely get faster service if you tip.

One thing that I loved about this resort was that we didn't have to wake up extremely early to save spots like at other all inclusives. There were plenty of chairs and plenty of places on the beach. And the beach is big and clean! some spots of rocky areas but none the less, a GREAT beach. We even did some minor snorkeling right off the beach.

The location of the resort can not be any better. It is in walking distant of downtown cancun if you want to go out at night, out for dinner or shopping for a bit. We took the city bus to a golf course and also to one of the piers for a boat excursion. The bus is only a $1 (american dollar) each way and it picks you up right in front of the resort. Very easy and cheap transportation.

Our group took the public ferry over to isla muijueres and we all did a snorkel trip together. Best excursion that I've ever done in Mexico. We payed $20 per person for the ferry and $35 for the snorkel trip, which included lunch. We saw thousands of fish, sting rays, sea turtles, star fish, etc. It was well worth the money!! If we would have had more time I think I would have liked to spend more time on the island and rent a golf cart to see more of the island.

All and all, the trip was great. This was my second time in cancun and 5th time in Mexico and I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We absolutely love this Riu! It's our 4th trip to this resort because it's such a great place to relax & completely enjoy yourself. The staff at the Riu could not be any nicer or accommodating, from the cleaning people, to the management team. We love that it's downtown & close to everything. I feel so comfortable in the hotel zone that I went off by myself one day to go shopping without my husband. I simply caught the public buses that run all day long up & down the strip & shopped from Walmart to La Isla, the outside mall, with several stops in between.

We also for the first time to the Ultramar Ferry over to Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) for the day. The ferry was 20.00 each with tax (dock is only 2 doors down from Riu) & we ended up just renting a golf cart from the guy on the ferry. I've heard a cart can be found cheaper on the island, but we did not bring our drivers license, so he had a company who allowed us to rent one without our ID for 45.00 for the day. We really enjoyed the freedom of driving up & down the 7 mile island & seeing all the beauty & the sadness, too, of how some of the people are living :( I really liked the silver jewelry on this island better than Cancun, too!

If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer them for you if I can! Feel free to contact me ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very good hotel, staff can't do enough for you. Day and night entertainment was of very high quality, something to do every day and night so even if you don't fancy going into cancun at night you won't be bored. The staff can't do enough for you, You don't have to tip but if you do it's appreciated for instance we gave the bar man 3 dollars a night when we went to the entertainment and he just kept bringing us drinks which are also of good quality - (it may be the cheapest vodka/tequila but they make it nice and put effort into what they do e.g. dashs of orange on the side). Whilst in mexico we went to 'xel ha', (go here for swimming with dolphins/snorkelling/water activities such as cliff diving) speed boat safari (with stop in the sea for snorkelling) and bar crawl through thomson rep all of which were amazing. The daytime burgers and hot dogs weren't of the best quality but what do you expect, apart from this all of the other food was very good in the buffet - all fresh and cooked in front of you with a huge huge selection. The only downside of the whole holiday was the weather! we went mid June for 11 days and it rained for about 3 of those days in total but did not stop us doing much. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: leave a 2 dollar tip now and again and the maids will do funky stuff with your sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.