We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Cancun to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Here are the pros and cons of the Riu Cancun:
Pros
- very good social activities, especially around the beach and pool. Although there were many younger people (less than 30 years old), there was a good mix of people and many participated in different activities like volleyball
- good entertainment and service
- very good lobby and sports bars. The bars are comfortable and were busy as people enjoyed their environment
- buffet restaurant is very good, especially the Mexican night. The menu changes daily for dinner so this is also nice.
- the pools and the beach area are nice

Cons
- rooms are dated and were a bit musty.
- the specialty restaurants are really set menu restaurants. We ate at the Brazilian restaurant and it was not good

All in all, this was a pretty good hotel to stay at. If you are looking for activities and some atmosphere, this is the right hotel. I think it is a good family hotel. If you are looking for a very nice and quiet hotel, then this is probably not your best hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, as there are some rooms overlooking the lobby area that are not very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,179
    1,776
    632
    338
    237
See reviews for
990
2,377
77
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was our first stay at a Riu Hotel and it was great. The staff was great, always smiling, and attending to your needs. The entertainment staff was amazing! always organizing some sort of events, on the beach, pool or the nightly show. The Marathon and Mayan shows are excellent!
The food was really good, a theme night every night, with Mexican food always available.
The beach water was a bit rough in December, not sure if it's always like that, but be prepared for some strong waves, overall fun just don't wear your glasses in the water or you might lose them :P

Excursion: "Selvatica" highly recommended

Room Tip: all rooms are Ocean view, floor 12 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

we stayed 7 days at riu cancun, 3rd. floor, not in towers, but right over pool. was excellent! view was perfect. staff went overboard to insure enjoyment. food was also amazing!. i don't get some of these bad reviews, we had an awesome time. thanx to activity staff, (eric,paulina, becca). only downfall was the partiers that exited la palma disco after the bar closed. but it was tolerable. fell asleep to the crashing waves every night. i would recommend the nightly shows,banana fritters at breakfast, swimming with dolphins. avoid isla of mujera, kinda rundown, ferry ride was $20.00 round trip. venders are a little pushy. we did have an awesome lunch on the beach. you can rent a golf cart on the island for $45.00 all day and drive around at your leisure. we will definately return to this resort. prepare yourself for some topless nudity on the resorts beach, as well as some not so beach worthy thongs and speedos. we stayed jan.1-8th, 2012., from usa, illinois.

Room Tip: 6 story building above pools, ocean view with balcony.is a plus. room 356 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Spacious rooms, GET AN OCEAN VIEW - It's gorgeous!! If you want to catch sun at the pool, go early in the morning and claim chairs with your towels. Was in a great location on the peninsula, close to malls, shopping and walking distance to Coco Bongo, Senior Frogs, etc.

Staff very friendly and accomodating. Made great pals with 'Zack' the pool bartender. Great place to hang out!

In-room stocked bar with Dos XX, bottled water, soda and hard alcohol was great - ironically we used it to take the bottle water with us more than we used it for the booze, since our drinks were all inclusive anywhere in the resort...

Hotel offers a lot of activities - small little nightclub open late - Large theater-type room with nightly shows - small sportsbar and daily pool activites and games. But grabbing a couch along the breezeway and enjoying a cocktail is so relaxing.

Cons: The two beds pushed together was pretty weird...and because of the humidity, the room did sometimes smell a little musty, but all in all, small stuff to deal with for such a great place!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Never think that I have to pay a lot of $$ for the worst food, services and room at this hotel.
I have to wake up early in the mining on my vacation just to be in a line for making a dinner reservation with a lady name "Liza". I spend over half an hour on the line and when my turn come up, she said there is no more space for you. I felt really mad then at the same night I sneaking in one of those three special dinner ( reserved only) I found that there are lots of empty table.
Do not go to this hotel believe me!,

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My family went to Cancun for Christmas/New Years 2011 and stayed at the Riu for 6 nights. We would definitely recommend it and go back again! The resort is very large and has one of the biggest beaches. There are 3 pools, one with a swim up bar and another with activities going on all day. There are tons of workers that are willing to help with anything. The comments about the sun going behind the buildings after 3 is right but the way all of the hotels are built, it will most likely happen with all of the hotels. Since the sun rose so early we were out at the pool by 9am and by 3 we were ready for a break from the sun. That's another thing - if you want a chair by the pool and in the sun you should make sure to put your towel on a chair early enough.

Since the hotel is in the hotel zone there are several clubs, restaurants, bars, etc. within walking distance. Not to mention a Starbucks and several stores just across the street!

A note for Cancun activities - take the Ultra Mar ferry to the Isle Mujares. It's a cheap, quick trip and worth it! Once you get there rent a golf cart and tour the island, stop at the shops, beaches, restaurants, etc.

The buffet food is amazing. They offered many different options and had some theme nights too. The 3 restaurants that you can make reservations for are NOT worth it. You have to make reservations 2 days out and the food is not good - buffet is MUCH better - don't waste your time.

The only complaint I would have is that the rooms smelt old and moldy. The mattress smelt as if it got wet and never dried. It also wasn't very comfortable but manageable. Also - the AC didn't work very well so if you really wanted it to be cold I recommend making sure the door wall remains closed at all times.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just arrived back after spending Xmas and new year here, me my husband and my two kids.
From day one I loved everything about this hotel, the sports and entertainment team are fantastic, entertainment from 10 in the morning till 11 at night, these guys worked hard for there money.
Hotel was very clean and all staff more than helpful and polite, find it very hard to find a negative.
Fantastic for the kids as Santa arrived on a jet ski what more can you ask for. It was that good that I have already booked for next year, please try it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#40 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.