We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Cancun to your Saves list
Paradisus Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
1 review
“Family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Booked via Cheapcaribbean.com - no problems encountered! Transfers via Amstar was also a breeze!
Had to wait 2 hours for a room. Theyre not usually ready until 2pm-ish which could be a hassle. Being kind of forced into the Club Melia presentation right after check in was a hassle too since youre tired from the flight (esp when flying with a toddler!). We set up an appointment for another time, but cancelled it.
Hotel itself was nice, but previous reviews were right about the hot temperature inside the buildings. With my toddler in tow, it was kind of miserable at times esp during dinner. Room a/c was always set on 65 degrees but it never really felt that cool. Wifi not good. Food was average for breakfast and lunch at Naos. Dinner was better. Vento was my favorite. Bana, Market Grill, and Blue Agave were fine too. Didn't get to try the others. Snacks by pool is great! I could not get enough of their guac/cheese/nachos. Also good for toddlers as they offered pizza. Ordered cerviche everyday but extra charge ($15).
Pools were nice, we mostly stayed by the kiddie pools. The other pools were so deep! Beach was soooo nice! Best feature! Ive read so many bad reviews about problems with getting decent beach chairs so I just booked a Bali bed for our entire stay! It was awesome coz it served as a bed so my toddler can nap comfortably. Miguel and Laura from the pool bar were great!
Overall it was good. Would probably try another place if and when we go back.
But nothing beats quality time with your family, wherever you are =)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    762
    263
    67
    61
See reviews for
1,062
1,192
38
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The lavender aroma at the entrance made me relaxed already, The front desk staff is courteous and accommodating while i was checking out my taxi was waiting, the staff expedited my check out and i really appreciated it.Drinks are accessibleeverywhere because they have several restaurants and lounges There are three things that need improvement.First is the buffet food at Naos, at night there should be variety or a theme night so even you did not make a reservation at least it's different and fun. Second the elevator had an unpleasant smell, the carpet might be wet and it did not get dry completely. Third their pillows are no t pluffy my head sinks to the bed. Overall the service was great,they also have nice little shops inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our second stay at Paradisus. We actually started this trip at another hotel, after one night in the other all inclusive we transferred over to Paradisus. There was no comparason for the same money. From the moment we arrived, it was pure luxery. Words cannot express how wonderful this place it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We traveled in July 2014 and we had an awesome time. From the moment thAt we arrived until we left, we were pampered! We splurged on the family concierge! Our butler Alvaro was the best! We didn't even have to wash or sterilize baby bottles. To me, that was such a pleasant surprise. We would definitely stay at the paradisus again! Familia Correia

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

It was a really nice experience overall. I definitely would choose the same hotel. It was clean, staff are very nice, beach is fabulous, it is close in urban bus to nightlife, and if you don't want to go out of the hotel, they have shows and very good ambience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel ambiance is amazing. The lighting, scents, and overall hotel appearance are wonderful.
The restaurants were fabulous! Bano was our favorite. The food variety was the best. We did the all inclusive and were very happy

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

I looked at several reviews before booking at this hotel.
I would honestly say it isn't a horrible hotel. It smells so nice.
Whenever you request a service the reception will double check if you recieved your service (i.e. Room service, extra towels, etc)
Bana was definetly my favorite restaurant. I would request the server by the name Franchesco or something beginning with an F. He truly made our experience at Bana. Vento wasn't that bad. If you're a vegetarian you can manage, but it's okay options. Fuego was okay the presentation was nice. Blueagave was another one of my favorite places to eat. There's a place to eat near the pool and that was nice. La perla doesnt have any options for vegatarians and its a very limited menu. But they cook their food quite well.
Naos has amazing soups and it's better if you go there early.
The food was pretty good.
Some of the waiters were unfriendly and sometimes forgot to give us our food/drinks.
The rooms. Well the wifi isn't the best in them. We stayed in a Royal deluxe lagoon suite and it was quite small... and the beds feel smaller than queen beds, it was quite an uncomfortable arrangement. The one night we requested an extra bed to sleep on, I got attacked by vicious bugs and insects so they had to spray the room down. The house keeping service is quite great. The cleaning lady helps quite a lot. The room is too hot. The view of the sunset from the lagoon suite is just beautiful. The beach is also really nice and you have to really look for chairs to sit on. You should leave some stuff so no one can take them. The cabanas are so expensive we didn't get to really enjoy them. Also, the hotel is just very hot, and it makes you feel really lightheaded. The best place is the welcome lounge- it has a lot of AC. I wish there were more activities to do to with families. Overall it's an okay experience, nothing too bad, nothing extraodrinary. I travel quite a lot and this is quite an expensive hotel, if you find it for a decent price, i would check it out. If not, it's quite expensive and isn't worth THAT much.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your review providing so many details and insights. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will be working on improving some of our services that you mentioned in your comments.

It is our sincere hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Amex, Melia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.