We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Cancun to your Saves list
Paradisus Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Im a 22 year old girl who went here for 10 days with one of my best friends, we had the most amazing time at this hotel. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming wherever you go, always willing to help you. The food at the hotel was lush, something for everyone and different everyday, was worried at first as had read bad comments on here before we went about the food. We went to coco bongo when was out there, would defiantly reccommend to anyone was an amazing night out! I would defiantly reccommend this hotel to all sorts of ages, young, old, familes. This hotel was by far one of the bestest i have ever stayed in!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Amy;

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regards to your stay with your friends in our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time with us and acknowledge our wide variety of food selection we had.

Again, Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor, it was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Paradisus Cancún Resort in the future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,498
    961
    350
    86
    77
See reviews for
1,325
1,509
47
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After staying in another Paradisus in Dominican and having a terrible experience, I set my expectations low for this one, so keep that in mind. We got an amazing deal and were able to upgrade to Royal Service for very little - that made all the difference. So if you are going, UPGRADE to Royal Service...you can reserve a poolside cabana every day, which is where we spent most of our time.

Pro's:
- Most of the staff was incredibly friendly and willing to bend over backwards for you (except for our butler and one grumpy guy at the breakfast/lunch buffet)
- The staff was meticulous about keeping up the resort. They combed the beaches every morning, cleaned out the ponds and were always working hard.
- The beach was beautiful.
- We were upgraded to a room with two balconies with a beach view! Cabana's were always available at the adults only bar and it was always quiet and pleasant there.
-The nightly shows at the avenue bar, the performers were fantastic!
Con's:
- No hot tub...anywhere on the resort! We dipped our feet in every area that looked like it could be, but nothing. It was in the upper 70's/low 80's the whole trip and very windy, so it get's pretty chilly. The pool was waaayyy too cold to enjoy, so it was a bummer not be able to really get in the water in the day or at night!
- No evening pool/ocean side bar.
- A little overly trendy. Techno music playing constantly everywhere (some of it was pleasant spa like techno, but still techno). There was a dress code at the restaurants and you had to make reservations at all of them.

Overall, would I recommend it? Probably. But if I were going again, I would want to try somewhere just a little less trendy and a little more unique - but hey, it's Cancun!

Room Tip: Definetly go ocean view - it is great to leave your door open and hear the ocean all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review, which we really appreciated.

It was especially rewarding for us to read your comments about our Royal Service and how much you enjoyed the service provided by our Team.

Our mission is for you to enjoy your trip in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. I am sorry that we could not be successful in your case for our music.

I am glad you have notified us so we can acknowledge your experience and I will forward your comments to the appropriate department, which always welcomes suggestions for improvement.

We hope that you will be able to return to the hotel soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is one of many trips we have taken to Mexico, and not our first to the Paradisus Cancun (formerly Gran Melia). My husband and I were blown away by the renovations, quality of food, new restaurant choices and of course the staff. From the moment we arrived, our check in was seamless and our room was beautiful. Many thanks to Maria and Yvette. What truly makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the staff. Rody Marco at Fuego is alway there for us. And our dear friends Carlos Duarte and Mario Vasquez (or should I say family) work so darn hard to attend to every detail! They welcome us with open arms and offer us the best service we have had anywhere in the world. We were nervous that our favorite restaurant "Tempo" had changed, but once again our dear friend Ignacio and the manager Olsen took great care of us. The tasting menu by the new Spanish chef (Martin B.) was unbelievable! Better than any recent meal we have had in NYC. Service at the beach/pool was spectacular as well. And the staff at Naos and Market Grill...Victor, we sure miss your laugh and contagious smile! At the Market Grill you will be greated by the nicest hostess anywhere..Ayerelli. My husband and I also had a massage at the Yhi Spa and both were the best ever. We will count the days until our next visit, and it will be your priviledge to be guests at the Paradisus Cancun!

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. joy m;

We appreciate and thank you for your kind feedback. Thank you for recognizing our team members, who are indeed our stars!!

We are glad your husband and you were comfortable during your stay, and I am glad to know the team was professional yet friendly; your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you home again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I haven’t written a Trip Advisor review in quite a while, but I feel compelled to do so after staying at this resort and reading the other reviews. My husband and I stayed at the Paradisus from March 9 to 16, all-inclusive, non-Royal Service. While this resort is beautiful, I think if you carefully read the responses from the management at Paradisus to other reviewers’ comments on this site, you’ll glean all you need to know about this resort – if something is wrong, it is either a “misinterpretation” by the guest, or an “exception” that guest experienced. In summary, it’s the guest’s fault.

The staff at Paradisus is unorganized and they simply do not care. I’m a firm believer in you get what you give – we always tip staff and make a point to be courteous to everyone, speaking Spanish when we can, etc. But, at the Paradisus, the majority of the treatment we received was condescending and bordered on disdain. Perhaps if we were Royal Service guests or with the convention we would have been treated with more respect?

In terms of the restaurants, the buffet food was great. However, getting seated was always a hassle due to lack of tables and unorganized staff. The Market Grill, Vento and Fuego are basically connected to the buffet, so I’m not sure how those are really considered separate restaurants. There may be separate menus, but they all run together. Vento is not outside, as is described on Paradisus’ website, and it is frequently used as run-over buffet seating.

Room service was limited, but tasty and efficient. We ate at Blue Agave (tacos) and had an average experience. Mole, next door, repurposes the food from Blue Agave. For example, chicken mole enchiladas were the chicken tacos (not kidding) from Blue Agave covered in a cold mole sauce. And, the conchinita pibil seemed remarkably similar to the carnitas we had the night before at Blue Agave. La Perla was closed to guests, except for convention parties. The bad food, coupled with the often rude service, lead us to eat at some of the great restaurants near this resort (several are within walking distance or a quick ride on the great bus system in the hotel zone).

The gym is sub-par and seemed as though it was an afterthought. It’s in the basement with no windows, thumping club music and not enough machines. Good thing it only rained one day so we could go outside.

Also, just a warning – if you have trouble climbing stairs you may want to consider another resort. There are several stairs up the front of the resort (to take the bus, etc.) as well as to access to pool and beach areas.

I will say that the beach and pool areas are beautiful at this resort. However, I will be staying at another resort, with another beautiful beach and pool area, next time I’m in Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding our hotel. We take all comments and criticisms seriously and appreciate the time you took to write your review. Everyone at the Paradisus Cancún Resort aspire to ensure that all of our guest receive an exceptional experience.

We regret that we did not achieve this goal. We never want to be anything less than helpful or honest with our guests and we're reviewing your comments to ensure we're doing all we can to exceed expectations.

We hope that one day you will afford us an opportunity to restore your confidence in the Paradisus Cancún.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Such a beautiful clean helpful friendly safe resort.

We have been all over Mexico and this was our best expierience yet.

The entire resort was spotless. From rooms to the beaches and 24 hour room service.
.
We normally have bad experiences with hard beds in all Mexician resorts but the beds at Paradisus we like Heaven. We felt rested every morining, almost choosing staying in bed rather than getting out in the sun.

The restaurants were amazing. We went to the sushi restaurant 3 times.
Making late reservations were never a problem. The wine lists are very good and themed to each restaurant.

In the last day we lost our IPad and IPhone. We thought that we were robbed from either staff or a guest. Feeling devistated, we went to the Guest services Desk and to our surprise house keeping found our lost items and they were returned to us.

Honestly the best Mexician get away ever.

Even though we felt the pools were cold, we will go back to the Paradisus next year.

Room Tip: We booked on Lagoon but there was no problem when checking in to upgrade to ocean side for 45$ a nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest;

On behalf of the team, I would like thank you for recommending the resort via TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read from your review that we managed to live up to your expectations. All you comments are highly appreciated and I will certainly share them with the team.

Once again, thank you for posting a review and we all look forward to welcoming you to your now favourite resort in Cancún, Paradisus!!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Traveled from March 3rd-9th. First I must say that this resort is breathtaking! The pictures don't do justice. My friend took me here for some much needed R&R, and I that is exactly what we found at Paradisus. The service staff was impecable. Anything you need, they are right there for you. We opted for the royal side which I must say is definately worth it. We had an amazing butler named Hector. He was so kind and polite and right there for any of our needs. We did not find it necessary to make reservations in the evenings because you can pretty much walk into any restaurant and get seated. Twice we went to Bento the sushi restauant and the hostess Victoria and our waiter Antonio were wonderful. Even though the restaurant was closing, they never tried to kick us out. They do not have a huge selection of sushi. Mostly tuna. Fair tasting. Our favorite restaurant was Vento. The food was outstanding and our waiter Jonathan was amazing! Another favorite waiter was Rogelio at La Palapa restaurant on the beach. Whenever he saw us coming, he already had our drinks ready for us to enjoy on the beach. The beach on the royal side was nice and quiet. Never too crowded which we liked. People walked around on the beach trying to sell you stuff all day, which we did get suckered into quite a bit! Got some great stuff. They are not pushy though, if you say no, they leave you alone. The pool water was pretty cold so opted to swim in the ocean everyday. It's too beautiful not to. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that had 2 bathrooms which is nice. A lot of the days there was a funky sewer smell coming out of the 2nd bathroom floor drain which they promptly came and fixed. Our room faced the lagoon which we loved because everyday after leaving the beach at 5:00, we got to watch the sunset from or balcony. It was beautiful. Staying at Paradisus truly makes you feel like you are in paradise!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for the Royal side. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments.

We appreciate your kind words about our resort and the service you received during your stay with us. We are convinced our staff is the most important part of our company, we are Happy know that Hector, Victoria, Antonio, Jonathan and Rogelio are doing such a nice job and make you feel pampered and helped at all times.

Your feedback is very important for us and we are sure your comments about our service, restaurants and benefices are read for our futures guest´s.

We are looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been coming here (formerly Melia) for many many years. Nothing really has changed for the better with the new high status name. Now you do have an all-inclusive option which we prefer to not take since there are many really great local restaurants--some within walking distance; all within a quick and cheap bus ride away. Basically our observations with new name were that 1) the rooms and amenities are virtually unchanged, 2) there were some color changes to the common area decor, 3) they expect you to wear a rather annoying bracelet identifying your all inclusive or not status, and 5) the breakfast quality took a nosedive. That aside, the positives remained intact--great beach, friendly staff, decent fitness room (for a hotel), clean, and a good location. If you hit a great stretch of weather (which we usually do in March) this area is truly breath-taking. One final note, we happened to overlap with the Spring Breakers (more staying there than we had ever seen before); I am not sure if it was coincidence, but their rooms seemed sequestered in another tower (pyramid) so it was pretty quiet.

Room Tip: Request sea view far in advance--street view (a.k.a lagoon view) is truly ugly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all, thanks for your feedback. It is always good to receive reviews from our loyal guest´s in order to improve our services and our stays.

Vento Restaurant, Fuego, Market Grill, Toji, Blue Agave and Tempo By Martin Berasategui are some of our major changes, also our Welcome Lounge and Family Concierge. We deeply regret that our changes doesn't meet your expectations.

We would like to thank you for your opinion and comments, we think our staff is pretty great too and appreciate you taking the time to say so as well!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Melia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.