We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change to Paradisus, outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Cancun to your Saves list
Paradisus Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Ypsilanti, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Change to Paradisus, outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have been staying at the Melia, now the Paradisus, since 1990, and became members of the vacation club in 1998. It was one of the better investments we ever made. Many wonderful moments of watching our children having a great and enjoyable vacation.
The change to the Paradisus is for the better as the Melia was beginning to show her age. Rooms have been remodled with new furniture, decorating, air conditioning, and clean, clean, clean. The entrance to the hote is a scene from a Hollywood production. People are courteous and hard-working.
We were not on the all-inclusive plan, but we did dine at a number of restaurants, and the food was very good. Since we dine out somewhat, here are a few recomendations: breakfast--La Pasteleria (Mexican and crepes), dinner--DuMexique (French) and La Palapa Belga, and an inexpensive Italian restaurant is Rino's a few doors down from DuMexique on Bonampak Ave
Talked to a number of people who were on the all-inclusive plan and did not hear one complaint. One family from Ohio since becoming vacation plan members said the change to the Paradius was outstanding.
Keep up the great work, and we will see you next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your loyalty and nice comments. Keeping our repeat guests happy is very important to us and we really appreciate your feedback.

Paradisus Cancún Resort aspire to ensure that all of our guest receive an exceptional experience. You will always welcome back to your second home.We are looking forward to see you again.

¡ Muchas Gracias !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    767
    268
    68
    61
See reviews for
1,072
1,206
38
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were amazed at this resort. We had a corner 1 bedroom apartment so consequently had 2 large balconies with views of the ocean and above the pool area. Twice we got up early to have a coffee on the balcony to watch the sunset and then return there in the evening to have a cocktail watching the sunset. Spectacular!!

We booked through RCI and were awarded Club Melia membership which rather blew us away. We had a private beach with sun loungers which you did not need to book. There is always someone to get you drinks as well so you can feel real pampered.

We found the staff very courteous and friendly throughout the Hotel, especially Carola Jiménez-Castro Espejo, our representative at Club Melia,who was so helpful to us during our stay and solved every problem or enquiry we had.

There was a bus stop at the end of the drive and buses passed every minute so we never had to wait. The cost is $8.50 per person per trip so dirt cheap. No need to take a taxi or rent a car. We never ate at the Hotel because of the choice of restaurants in Cancun.

We have travelled the world and are returning next year to Cancun and to the Paradissus because we were so impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sunny Greeting from Paradisus Cancún Resort.

On behalf of the entire management and our staff much appreciate your comments I would like to thank you for your feedback , we are happy to read your comments about your experience with our ocean view room and more than happy to understand that our team members did well to make your vacation a memorable one. We are glad to know that we are on the right track in our hospitality mission to gain our guest satisfaction and loyalty.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort

¡Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton-on-Ouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked 11 nights in Royal Service for our Honeymoon and weren't disappointed. On arrival we were taken to Royal Service check in. The room was great although a little worn but can't expect it to be immaculate, it was clean. We were offered a mobile so we could contact the butler when we wanted but we chose not to. The Royal Service staff were amazing, they were more than happy to help no matter how small the request, and we had a few.
The restaurants we ate in were delicious, our favourite being Market Grill which served 6 meats cut straight from the skewer. La Palapa, the Royal Service pool bar/eatery was great as we didn't need to go to the main buffet and could relax next to the pool. The menu could have had a few extra things on it but after a while they offered us other choices not on the menu as we kept to what we liked after trying a few, which made lunch times better.
They have a few bars but non of them really our scene, Avenue was too loud for us, Toji had 8 seats at the bar and 2 2 seater tables which we liked when you could get a seat, We never drank in Red Lounge as it opened at 2100. The majority of the time we drank in the Royal Service lounge where they had a selection of drinks you could help yourself to but they had servers available until 2300.
We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear JG1981

Thank you for choosing Royal Service at Paradisus Cancún Resort as your host during your recent visit. We are so honored to have been your accommodations of choice for your honeymoon! Let me offer you a sincere ‘congratulations’ on such a happy milestone! We are pleased to have been a part of your celebration. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest.

Again, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to host you again and continue to amaze you with our Unmatched Guest Service Standards. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time - stayed 10 nights in which time we completely unwound and had an absolutely amazing holiday!
The hotel was amazing and really clean - all staff were fun and helpful and made our stay all that bit more special!
Special mention to Martin who made us smile every breakfast and lunch in the market grill and buffet area and to Benito and Luis for getting us drunk every night wen we weren't looking and also for making us laugh and of course provide us with the best cocktails in Cancun in the sushi bar!

Grace and Key from Manchester!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Keir D

Thank you for kind comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and will let know that Martin, Benito y Luis played an important role in making your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We hope to see you return real soon.

Regards, Paradisus Cancún Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very well located on a prime spot of Cancun Island. Jsut acroos of Aquaworld Water Sports Center. Try restaurant TEMPO by Martin Berasategui. Its a true gurment esperience highly recommendable. It will cost you a bit extra, but it is wothwhile. The beach is out of this world.

Room Tip: Royal Service is great for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Cancunceramist

We were so pleased to see your review on TripAdvisor today. We truly appreciate all of our guests and are especially thankful that you chose to post your comments in this forum for all to see.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and found the food to be amazing, high praise indeed and thank you for it.

Thank you for recommending our restaurant Tempo by Martin Berasategui !!

Our team will look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at the Paradisus Cancun for spring break, March 1st until the 8th. Opted for the family concierge package, great choice. Our kids 12 and 9 thought the candy bar at the concierge was the bomb... From the moment we arrived Isaac and Karla and the rest of the team took great care of us. From the Bali beds to the nightly suggestions for the restaurants and even taking care of all the reservations......just fantastic. The kids loved the nightly turn downs with cookies and milk and we loved the special touches of aromatic pillows and complimentary red wine upon our return to our room. The pool was great and so was the easy access to the powdery white beach. Would recommend the hotel, to everyone not just family's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear 13sadtobehome,

Thank you very much for staying at Paradisus Cancún Resort and for writing your kind review on Tripadvisor. "Family Concierge" provides everything a family needs for a perfect vacation, We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay!

Thank you also for your compliments – our whole team really appreciates them, especially Karla and Isaac . We aim for service excellence so it is very rewarding to know we exceeded your expectations.

It would be a pleasure for us to contribute to your positive travel experiences in the future too.

Muchas Gracias!!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for five days. The resort is in a good location with a beautiful white sand beach. The waves are strong here so don't expect to get in without getting IN. Our room was clean and I enjoyed the large terrace with two lounge chairs. We ordered room service breakfast one morning and ate outside.

The service was really fantastic, not just prompt, but also friendly and welcoming. Service with a smile! The food was overall good, sometimes excellent but randomly so. Especially loved the buffet at breakfast and the hot cappuccino.

The decor was really cool, you could tell things had just been redone with plenty of lounging spaces both inside and out. We both had the relaxing massage and wished the hydrotherapy pool at least would be heated as the water was chilly (don't go at night).

Now for my one issue, and it felt more and more significant to me as the stay went on. We were not aware of the option to upgrade to Royal service. Our room happened to be right on the edge of the Royal Service area yet our bracelet wasn't the "right" color. No big deal except that the pool and beach most convenient to our room were not for us. On two separate occasions, once on the beach and once in a shaded seating area I was told I was in the wrong place. When reading my book in the shaded area I was told I can sit there but cannot be given anything to eat or drink. I figured out where my boundaries were but felt the class distinction and would suggest upgrading to Royal service to avoid the situation.

No one was rude about it and I would recommend the property with that one caveat.
It certainly was nice to get out of the Northeast and be warm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Melia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.