We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mallorca Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mallorca Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Mallorca Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street Gladiolas Lote 11 Block. 16 SB. 22 | Entre Avenida Yaxchilan, Cancun, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed the experience. The rooms are spacious, the A/C works well and it is very clean. Nearby are good places for both breakfast and dinner. If you want to avoid the resort style hotels, then this is a quiet, central and good value option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Estimated anewdayplace

Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience in our hotel, we are so happy that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are looking for an upscale experience or an all-inclusive this isn't your place. If you are looking for an authentic experience I can't think of a better place to stay. Mallorca is very comfortable, clean, and our room got nice and cool quickly. Be sure and check out the rooftop balcony. It's beautiful up there.

Everyone of the staff was polite and helpful. They made us feel comfortable and answered our questions about the local area. We felt at home.

The area was very fun too. They are close to a square where there is something going on every night. On Palm Sunday they had a number of food vendors and we enjoyed trying some of their local specialties such as elote (corn in a cup with mayo, lime & you can add chili). It isn't something I would have tried on my own but one of the local people share a bite of theirs and we were sold.

The people in the area are extremely nice, I felt safe (which is a pretty strong consideration for me), and we got to see the real Cancun. I am so glad we didn't opt to stay in the hotel district.

We ate at a different restaurant every night. The restaurant 100% Natural was very nice. As a vegetarian I didn't have too much trouble finding dinner selections with the exception of one. Surprisingly La Parrilla has the worst vegetarian friendly menu and it was pretty boring for my non-vegetarian sister as well. I'm not sure why so many people suggested it. It was overrated and overpriced. I'd stick to the more localized restaurants as this one was geared more for tourists.

Anyway - you can't go wrong with the Mallorca Hotel (pronounced Mayorca). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Estimated HighlanderLassie

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments about our rooms and service. We felt very happy while we were reading your post, because our first job is to make your vacations the most amazing experience with us.

We are looking forward to see you back soon, in order so you can enjoy our next proyect that will be the breakfast service.

Best Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were staying one night before heading south. This hotel is within walking distance of ADO station and right next to the park. It was quiet and the room was clean and cool. There are many restaurants nearbye.

Overall it was a great value. Bathroom was on the small side but that is typical outside of the resorts. there was no safe in the room which was a minus.

Tip: take the ado bus from the airport to the downtown station. Much cheaper than taxi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Estimated HamptonPDX123

Thank you for letting us know about your experience during your visit at our hotel, also for giving us your opinion about the rooms and services that we offered.

Best Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice location convince for almost everything( walking distance to Ado bus to airport, R1& R2 bus to beach and Coco Bongo, traditional market for food and handcraft,). Different from luxury hotels in Hotel Zone, Mallorca is a family inn located in the residential district. Residents near Mallorca show kindly interest to foreigners. An awesome way to experience Cancun culture.
Reasonable price and good quality of rooms. Stuffs are friendly. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Estimated Stacy L

Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel, we hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We selected the Mallorca based on location, price and reviews. We are not the hotel zone, all-inclusive types and were looking for one night in Cancun on both ends of a ten day trip. The Mallorca is clean, comfortable and exceptionally well-located. On our second night, there was a festival in the public square across the street that was great fun to watch. It's also five minutes by foot to La Habichuela, a very fine restaurant, and only a couple more minutes to 100 Natural -- also highly recommended. The beds were comfortable and the shower was appealing. The only down side is air conditioners that are noisy and which cannot be adjusted (as far as we could figure out) so that they don't blow right on the beds while sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Estimated JMB-NLY

Thank you so much for have chosen us and for letting us know your opinion about our hotel rooms and services, we hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just needed hotel rooms for the night of arrival in Cancun and the night before departure from Cancun, as our trip was to Akumal and Cozumel.

The Mallorca was a terrific alternative to all those hotels out on the Cancun Peninsula.

It is a Mexican-style hotel. Jorge, who appeared to be the owner or at least manager, had limited English, but we communicated well. His son, Miguel, handled all of our email correspondence with great efficiency and excellent English. Adrian was delightful to visit with. All the staff, including the maid, were wonderful.

The hotel appears to be newly built or newly remodeled at least. It was very clean and nicely decorated.

Its location is next door to a mini-mart (Oxxo, similar to a 7-11). It is also next to the largest park in downtown Cancun, which we enjoyed walking in during the evenings when families were enjoying it.

Our first stay for we two couples was in Suites #1 and #2, which are like small apartments, complete with living room and kitchen. There were cute little balconies that opened up from the suites. These suites are in the back, which I chose because I was worried about street noise.

Suite #1 is up a couple flights of stairs, and included a TV and coffeemaker, which Suite 2 lacked. Suite 2 was up an additional flight of stairs. The suites cost 1,100 pesos (about $83).

The second night: one couple stayed in Room #4, which was up one flight of stairs. It was closer to the street, but was very quiet. It actually had a mini-kitchen with frig; had 2 balconies; and 2 queen beds. It was only 800 pesos (about $60).

We used wifi in the little lobby. You can hardwire your laptop with an ethernet cable in your room.

We ate excellent breakfasts at 100% Natural, which is a 10-minute walk. For a fabulous dinner in a lovely garden setting, go to nearby La Habichuela. (The hotel gave us a 10% discount coupon for dinner.)

We prearranged a driver to pick us up at the Cancun airport, which was cheaper than taking a cab. We paid 450 pesos for the 4 of us in a van. A taxi from the airport will run 600-700 pesos. The hotel prearranged a taxi to take us back to the airport the next morning to get a rental car, and that was 250 pesos.

On our return stay at the hotel, we had a rental car which we parked for free in front of the hotel.

This hotel is a delightful find. We would not hesitate to return here!

Room Tip: Suite 1 is best for the suites. Room 4 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Estimated ClaireWilson36

Thank you so much for have chosen us as the best option for having your vacations in Cancun, also for letting us know your opinion about our hotel rooms and services, we hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked the main floor suite for 4 nights starting on Feb 22, 2014. We loved our home in Cancun for 4 nights. Jorge, Miguel, Adrian and the cleaning lady (I apologize for not getting her name) were wonderful hosts. We were there to relax and found it to be an awesome place for that. Lots of restaurants within 2 blocks and the Parque Las Palapas right across the street with a variety of vendors set up in the evenings, especially on the weekend. We slept soundly through the nights and didn't hear any sounds from outside. We had a rental car and there was parking for us right beside the hotel. We drove to another city for 2 nights and when we came back we felt very fortunate to get a room for one more night before returning to Canada. This time we were in a regular room and we liked it just as much. We found that here was plenty of room for us and we didn't really need all the room that the suite had. I would not hesitate to stay there again. With Miguel and Adrian we could easily communicate in English and with Jorge with our limited Spanish and his limited English, we could easily get by. I would definitely recommend Mallorca Hotel & Suites especially if you want to enjoy some Mexican culture rather than just rubbing elbows with other tourists all the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Miguel R, Director General at Mallorca Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Estimated DrBigB

We are very thankful with you for letting us know your opinion about our hotel rooms and services.

It makes us so happy that you have had such a good time with us, because one of our principal goals is to make your vacations, the most amazing experience.

Looking forward to have you back soon.

Best Regards
Jorge Miguel R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mallorca Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallorca Hotel & Suites

Address: Street Gladiolas Lote 11 Block. 16 SB. 22 | Entre Avenida Yaxchilan, Cancun, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mallorca Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallorca Hotel & Suites is a hotel of a colonial arquitecture blended with a modern look located in the very heart of cancun's downtown, in the state of Quintana Roo, Mexico. Mallorca is born due the eagerness not only to create one more lodging alternative in town for national or international turism, but a cozier option, with a customed service inside a more peaceful and relaxing enviroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mallorca Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallorca Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.