We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a friendly staff and a convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
cancun
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a friendly staff and a convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Xbalamque in January. I have traveled throughout Mexico, and live in Cancun, so I am very aware of what is out there. When I was having work completed in my home I needed to get away from the noise and picked this hotel. So glad I did........inexpensive, clean, beautiful artwork everywhere, very nice room, great pool with a little waterfall, spa, and a nice staff. I would stay again, and recommend it highly. Mercado 28 is super close as are the new casinos in town.......

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    37
    19
    40
See reviews for
32
82
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Xbalambe was a basic, but very pleasant hotel. Service was excellent and friendly. The location was perfect as it is situated in the hart of Old Cancun close to the busy life of the town. The Hotel has a lovely pool with a charming outside area where you can eat your breakfast and lounge around when you have nothing better to do.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and affordable stay. Just great!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Of course, the hotel Xbalamque is not on the beach, however it is conveniently located just a few blocks from the central bus station, which can be reached from the airport for only 42 pesos if you take the public bus instead of a taxi. The hotel is clean and comfortable with firm beds and there is a theater and a nice cafe with entertainment next door. There are no extras in the rooms, such as a blow-drier, but the basics are solid, the airconditioners are good and there is cable TV and wireless internet access for your laptop. The staff is very helpful and tours are easily arranged, while you can easily access the beaches of Isla Mujeres or take a bus to one of the public beaches. There are plenty of shopping areas, restaurants and bars, the central plaza and small parks, which are all ccessable by foot. Few of the staff speak english very well, but if necessary they will find a staff member who does to help you. Shuttle buses to Playa del Carmen can be accessed a couple of blocks away for 30 pesos and low-priced buses will take you from the central station to just about anywhere you want to go. There is also a large grocery store in the neighborhood where you can get anything at a reasonable price. The pool is clean. There is also a spa and workout equipment, but I didn't have a chance to use those facilities. Overall, if you are interested in lower priced tours, I would recommend that you stay in this hotel and use the bus station to go anywhere you want.

Have a nice stay,

Frank, the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

well .the first time im stay a long time far from my house but when i was with my friends in hotel xbalamque was a great moments because the atmosphere is just great has a nice bares well is just great there are everything around just near also the bus stop ......i hope u have the great experience to be in this place is will make a grate moments for you peace ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We booked this hotel as a 4* and couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived. The hotel is very dark, mainly because most of the lights in the lobby and hallways were broken. Our first room was a death trap with exposed electrical wiring, broken bathroom mirror, and a big chunk of broken glass near the bed.
The rooms are like caves, with concrete bases for the beds, very uncomfortable.
The staff were very ignorant and only wanted to speak to you if they were trying to sell a day trip. The pool was also terrible, and was surrounded by family of the staff, you were lucky if you got a metal chair as all of the beds were taken up by them sitting there all day smoking and leaving food everywhere.
This was the worst place we've ever been to and we didn't even get it on the cheap!!! It is advertised as a 4* but we found out that this is a rating the hotel has given itself as it has a spa.
Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Although the interior was so authentic and incredible, the staff was very impolite, rude and unhelpfu, even the head of the hotel, that made a very sad impression. Instead of one big bed we had two separate on our honeymoon!!! :)) they were not willing to give a normal room anyway :(
They really know nothing about customer service!!
Would not recommend it to anybody, but maybe you will be lucky ;)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

If you want Waikiki, go to Hawaii. If its a real Mexican experience you want, stay at the X. The rooms are tile and stucco, the bathrooms almost clean, the water temperature fluctuates for no apparent reason, the bed was hard but huge, the nights are alive with the sounds of traffic, and the buzz of weekend parties. There is a police station right behind the X, armed troops around the hotel day and night and they live in the X as well. A local said there is a drug war going on so the police are ....a little tense, but not at all hostile. There is a money changing booth right outside the X with current exchange rates. Across the street we found the best fish tacos, and Mayan style food, and the X opened a Mayan food spot the day we we were leaving, so we took a couple of killer tortas with habenero salsa for the plane. Mercado 28 is 4 blocks or so from the X, and it has everything Mexican or Mayan you would want. Everyone was friendly and helpful at the X. They went above and beyond for us if we asked for info or help. My wife is Mexican American , and I (white guy)can get by , so language was not an issue. One night we found a park behind the X that had street food vendors and little bumper electric cars and a playground for the kids. There are numerous restaurants and stores in the centro area of Cancun . If you are so inclined to rough it for a night or two, and get a feel for what real Mexico is about, try the X , the Caribe, or Margarito, which all can be seen from the X. We engaged the folks working at the small tiendas, taxis,hotel maids, and strangers everyday, and had the best time just chatting about Cancun, and what their lives were like. Bottom line is that staying at the X allowed us to experience daily Cancun from a totally non " Hotel Zone" perspective. Next time maybe we stay at the Caribe to get another take on Cancun. The Chitzen Itza Tour was outstanding. If you go, be prepared for the humidity and heat. Its a jungle, not a theme park. Otherwise be prepared to be amazed at what the Mayans and Toltecs we able to do so long ago. The X was not exactly comfortable, but not as some have suggested. I guess it depends on your needs.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.