We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is in reasonable proximity to the ADO bus station and perfectly adequate for our one night stay passing through, however not a neighborhood with much going on besides daily life. I would not consider this a resort or tourist destination. The building however is extremely beautiful and exudes a museum like quality. The Mayan architecture and decorations, Spanish language poetry and historical maps on the walls make the hotel very memorable. The beds are reasonably comfortable, but equipped with just sheets, no blankets. Bathroom is rustic and one towel per guest. The pool/garden area is small but lovely and classic feeling with wrought iron tables for sitting and a little water fall creating ambiance. The continental breakfast option is not worth the trouble; service and food quality is poor. Overall, the hotel was fine for our purposes, however we would not choose to vacation here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    63
    25
    52
See reviews for
41
123
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was greeted with a smile even after I checked in at 5am after my flight from Australia was delayed for 24 hours. The hotel was full & still they kept my booking for me even though I showed up 1 day late. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, shower was hot. I absolutely loved my stay. Would recommend to everyone based on the service alone!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

- money stolen from room first day
- air conditioning so loud you can hear it from several rooms away and you can't sleep
- maids come every morning and wake you up when you finally do get to sleep
- bar staff would often tell us that they ran out of beer

Do not stay here

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Everything is good except for the low quality Internet and bathroom... amazing people always willing to help, great location to see the downtown but far away (30 mins by bus) from the beaches and clubbing zone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On its exterior, this hotel is pleasing to the eye with the mayan replicas, statues and murals all of which tell of Mexico's ancestral past. For history enthusiasts, it is wonderful.

The room- barely basic room, hard bed which consisted of a concrete base with thin mattress and very flat pillows. The room did not feel clean,

Rooms contain virtually no furniture aside from the bed; a concrete structure which serves as a closet and a concrete shelf therein to place your suitcase. There is no dresser to place your clothes, just a wooden counter and 6 small decorative storage boxes beneath. The air condition unit is an extremely loud window unit which may even disrupt the sleep of a deep sleeper and did not sufficiently cool the room.

When I arrived, the bed was unmade, the only light bulb in the room did not work and there were no towels. I asked a housekeeping lady on the floor to assist but she told me that I have to wait till she gets to my room! I ended up speaking to the consierge/bellboy/maintenence guy who brought me a blanket, very worn towels and replaced the light bulb. I almost got the impression they they were not prepared for my arrival and this saddened me because I arrived well after check in time!

The bathroom- a quaint wall separates the shower from the toilet. No place for the soap so you have to put it in the 'window' cut out on the wall. The floor of the shower has a rough stone finish which is no doubt a challenge to clean so the mildew is clearly visible. Same for the stone counter top. The toilet worked well.

The continental breakfast consisted of toast, butter, jam, corn flakes and fruit. No hot items besides the coffee.

The pool is beautiful and adjoins a 'victorian' looking garden with massive trees and plants and plenty garden furniture. Definitely an asset to Xbalanque.

There is a Travel Agency in the lobby and Nathaniel was very helpful in arranging my tours to Xcaret and Chichen Itza. Credit cards accepted.

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

I did not choose Xbalanque with luxury in mind but I did expect the basics and some level of comfort which was not forthcoming, needless to say my stay there was disappointing. But if all you require is a place to put your head amidst Mayan history you will be okay here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street tend to be noisy so ask for one located on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

some people will say that this hotel has something in it but others will argue that this is just cheap decoration for tourists...

Anyway room was not clean but neither was it clean. The AC was distributing a mouldy smell all over the room apart from the enormous noise. There is a small patio and a pool with sunbeds around. The positive side is the staff which was very helpful. They helped me to find a car wash and a laundry and even took an effort of walking me to the place which was really nice. On the other hand the breakfast was a joke... There were only fruits, coffee was awful and you could not get any juice or water.unless you pay extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The rooms were quite basic. The air con was loud, the shower was terrible; cold water, small shower head with futile pressure at best and quite dirty. The front desk was somewhat helpful but the maid service was frustrating. I was constantly going to the front desk to ask for toilet paper and towers, almost every day I was there. The decoration of the walls was quite interesting and gave the whole hotel a nice aura, the free breakfast was a basic buffet style, which had cold pancakes and some fruit. The pool was the nicest part of the hotel; outdoors with a quaint water fall, which barley had anyone there. My biggest concern with this hotel was my bill. I had to give a credit card to make a reservation, but I told them that I wanted to pay with cash, at the end of my stay I paid them in cash, but I check my credit card a few days later and they still charged the full amount to my card. I'm still not sure if they tried to scam me or it was a mistake, but I did get it sorted out after a long and tedious phone call. Over all it was a mediocre stay, much cheaper than what most of cancun has to offer, but If you are traveling on a budget I would skip it and head for a hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Orbitz, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.