We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Went for a long weekend vacation. This was not my first time to the resort but I was most impressed this visit. The hotel is extremely classy and well designed. Located 15 minutes from the airport and on a great beach. The food is just great especially the Italian restaurant. The staff is exceptional. The beach is just perfect with lounge chairs and umbrellas available all day as well as food and bar service. All rooms have a great view of the ocean as well. My only con is the acoustics aren't the best in the room and it's a bit noisy. You can hear most of the conversations in the hallway. All and all a great all-inclusive vacation and I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    466
    154
    38
    28
See reviews for
141
1,844
52
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have traveled to the Cancun area many times over the years but usually stay in the Riviera Maya area. For this trip we wanted to split our stay with a few days in Cancun. When we talked with our agent we told her we wanted an upscale all inclusive. For the first part of the stay we stayed at Secrets Carpi. She suggested that we continue with Secrets and stay at Secrets the Vine in Cancun. All I can say is Thank you Sharon from Vacationeeze.

When we first drove up I was concerned as there were shops, bars and other hotels all around us. But once in the lobby we were very excited. It is nothing like Secrets Capri. You walk in and there is this large, like 20 feet long fire wall and across from that a wine wall. We were staying in the preferred club so we were taken right upstairs to check in. Our room was amazing. The bathroom set up is slightly strange but it was very nice. The shower is very large and almost right in our room. The balcony on our room seemed to be around 10' x 30' with great ocean views.

We spent most of our time at the preferred club pool. The view from here was great. The bar service was amazing. The only issue we had was the wind. One day it was so windy that we could not stay up here. There were actually whitecaps and waves in the pool from the wind. The beach in front of the hotel is nice. There are plenty of chairs but very little shade. The beach butlers do a great job of keeping you hydrated. They also had music on the beach.

The food at the resort is great. There must have been at least 6 or 7 restaurants. We were only here 3 nights so we could not try them all. The breakfast buffet had a great assortment of food. There was plenty of fruit. At lunch there had to be at least 5 places you could eat at. I could go on and on as we had a great time. I would go back in the future. I am really glad we took the advice of Sharon at Vacationeeze and tried the Cancun area and stayed at Secrets The Vine. As I look back now I am not sure which I like more, the Vine or Capri. Each has its own different vibe and feel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I travel a lot for business and our family travels extensively internationally a few times each year. To impress me, the facility must be well designed and decorated and staffed by exceptional people. The Secrets The Vine in Cancun is a wonderful facility with spectacular staff. And then they blew me away.

We stayed for 4 nights, spent most of our time at the beach, and tried to eat at every restaurant. We opted for the preferred room configuration and accompanying services, which is worth it. Our butler, Emiro was delightful and always surprised us with the quality of service and attention to our needs; spoken and unspoken. Be sure to let the hotel know you if you are celebrating an anniversary or another special event. We arranged for a private dinner on the beach, which was a memorable experience.

This is the first time we elected to stay at an all-inclusive resort. We've been to the Cancun, PDC, and Puerto Aventurous area several times and nearly always rent a large home with staff (big family) or stay at a very good hotel. I was expecting "cruise ship" cuisine and was honestly blown away by the quality of food, the delightful service, and remarkable wine list at every restaurant in which we dined.

The private pool for preferred guests is located on the 12th floor, overlooks the other pools and Caribbean and was a wonderful place to escape to later in the day. The primary pools (3) are well staffed. Drinks and food orders were taken and delivered very quickly at every pool and on the beach, A modest tip goes a long way toward ensuring you receive special attention.

We were a bit cautious about an adults only facility; however, the wide range of ages (circa 21-50) was welcome and we never experienced the discomfort of excessive PDA. It is a great place to enjoy romantic time with your favorite person.

We had one negative experience, but it didn't dampen our enthusiasm for the facility. The SPA just isn't quite ready for prime time. The were understaffed and we waited for 15 minutes past our appointment time before being able to check in. The treatment was 'okay" but hobbled by a faulty shower that produced only scalding hot water. The SPA staff just didn't seem to be as high a quality as the balance of the resort.

Beautiful resort, staffed by generous and thoughtful people, amazing food, and perhaps the best beach in the world. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The hotel is a narrow building, with a limited number of ocean front rooms. However, the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Pros
-The property is incredible. Without question, this is one of the hottest properties in Cancun. Secrets The Vine perfectly combines party and luxury. There are tons of restaurant options at all times of day no matter what food you were in the mood for. The pools, especially the preferred level pool, were great for both relaxing and partying. Because you are in central Cancun, you can walk down the beach to all of the other nearby resorts - but who wants to leave!
-The rooms. The rooms are chic, spacious and luxurious. We were on the preferred floor and had an incredible view of Cancun and the crystal clear blue water. The shower is in the middle of the room which was also a cool feature.
-The service. Being on the preferred level, we were brought up the floor with our butler and had a special, private check-in followed by a detailed explanation of our room and the resort. All week, our butler helped us make reservations, coordinate with our transfers, and make sure our stay was enjoyable.
-The scene. Secrets the Vine is perfect for so many different types of travelers. If you want to party, you can drink by the pool and socialize with other guests and hit Cancun at night. If you want to relax you can go to one of the more quiet bars and grab a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. No matter what type of traveler you are, Secrets the Vine can accommodate your needs.

Cons
-The scene. While it can be a pro for some, it can certainly be a con for others. Sharon at Vacationeeze told us about the resort so we knew what we were in for, but this may be for everybody. If the hustle and bustle of Cancun is not for you, you may want to consider another Secrets property such as Silversands or Capri.

Overall, great trip and much better than basically every other resort in Cancun. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks to Vacationeeze for recommending this chic resort - we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Splurge for preferred level. Exclusive access to private check-in, certain restaurants, and your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Went for a week in May. From the moment we were met at the door with a cold towel and a glass of champagne until the day we checked out and all our luggage was taken care, we were treated like royalty. We stayed in a club room with use of the private pool and private check in. Our room was amazing and had a view over the hard rock hotel. Food was amazing in all the restaurants we used and we never had a problem with the quality of the drinks (champagne, wine or beer) provided.
The only issues were - the wi-fi was a little patchy but worked fine from our room and the room was quite often not cleaned until very late in the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and we can't believe it was everything we hoped for and much much more! Upon arrival, being welcomed 'home' with a glass of sparkling wine was the perfect way to start our new life together!
Being showed to our room too find a honeymoon banner on the door was a little yet much appreciated surprise! Our room was fabulous, very modern, spacious with amazing views of the Caribbean Sea!
Enjoying relaxing days in the spa, made all our work worries disappear and relax straight into our honeymoon together!
Relaxing by the privilege club pool, sipping on mouthwatering cocktails and eating fantastic food, just doesn't do this hotel justice! All the a le carte restaurants were out of this world, with amazing food and very attentive staff! With this said, Jimmy from the Nebbiolo restaurant was simply outstanding, his service was second to none, his manner was relaxed and friendly yet very professional and attentive! Nomberto and Angel, from the lobby bar also contributed to making our honeymoon the best it could be, they were both fantastic throughout our stay, nothing was ever too much, even when asking for cocktails not on the menu, I loved with Mexican version of WooWoo!
Secrets, The Vine is just simply stunning, we loved every second of our honeymoon and can't wait to go back! It is certainly made too be your home away from home!

Room Tip: Privilege club all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I read a lot of reviews before deciding to book with Secrets: The vine through cheapcaribbean.com. WOW, What an incredible hotel! We only wanted a true all-inclusive meaning food and premium alcohol was included. I was so impressed from the moment I walked out of our cab and up to the glass doors of the hotel. They greeted us with warm towels to dab off our nasty travel hands and walked us over to get us checked in. The definition of luxury for sure!

I was blown away with how beautiful this hotel was! I really did feel like we were on a second honeymoon. Everything I read about this place was true! The ratio of staff to guests seemed to be 2:1 and everyone was so helpful and friendly. We felt welcome! Also…what people say in reviews about the “timeshare” presentation is true. They do try to get you to sit through a presentation, and they will offer you hotel coupons or credits towards excursions. Just kindly decline. You won’t want to waste a full morning of vacation time on some weird presentation.

I wrote a review and shared pictures on my blog. http://brookehamiltonblog.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/our-trip-to-cancunsecrets-the-vine/

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.