We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit One Year On.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Second Visit One Year On.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited the Secrets the Vine just after it opened last year and it was amazing we have now booked and are going back this year at the end of November cannot wait. We have been looking on trip advisor and reading all the new reviews and we are sure that it'll be even better than the first time we went. It is our wedding anniversary and it was my birthday on bonfire night so we are really looking forward to a relaxing double treat. We cannot wait to be back at secrets the vine as the staff are so friendly and lovely and go out of their way to make your holiday complete.
We'll be there on 27 November for one week.

:-) see you soon secrets

Chris and Elaine UK

Room Tip: Always ask for the rooms overlooking the preferred side of the pool nearer to the seafront end
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Elly&Chris,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our resort. It was a pleasure being your hosts!

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Secrets The Vine Cancun. Our team looks forward to having you back in at the end of November.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,211
    494
    165
    46
    30
See reviews for
154
1,988
59
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I took a 5days/4nights vacation here with my fiancé and was blown away. The decor and ambiance of the resort was very clean, modern, and luxurious. The service on this resort is top-notch; everywhere you go from your dinning experience to the coffee stand, you felt like you were always given extra care and attentions.

The beach and pool area are kept very neat, with staffs continuously cleaning after all guest. This is also true in the dinning areas, where every spill, drop, and mis aligned food items were always put back into place. The staffs in the dinning areas were the best; they were friendly, funny, and really catered to all your needs. An example of the meticulous details is that each time you leave your table to grab anything, your cloth napkin is refolded and put back on the table.

The food was also very good. Since we opted to upgrade our rooms we also had access to 3 additional dinning options. The menu was great in those restaurants. All of the food there seemed very fresh and were flavored well. The drinks were also very good as the resort had top-shelf liquor.

In regards to the upgrades, unless you upgrade to the ocean-front suite; all of the views will be very similar. However, the upgrade does provide a bit more space and access to a private pool area for all VIP guests and more drinks selections. The private pool area was very nice as it was never crowded and had a great view looking out to the ocean.

The only cons with the resort is that it does not includes any water sport. Any water sport around the resort was extra. This may be due to the demographic that the hotel is catering to; generally older people. We are still in out mid 20s so we were looking for some extra curricular activities.

Overall we had a great time and will definitely use this resort again if we are looking for a relaxing getaway.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is aesthetically pleasing from the moment you walk through the door in the lobby. Amazing service throughout our stay! Fantastic food at restaurants that do not require a reservation, which is awesome as most all inclusives do. You just go to the restaurant that you choose, if seats aren't available just head to the bar and wait to be paged with the beeper they give you. Also to note, at many an all inclusive I've been to, the drinks are usually not very good..... These were not only good at EVERY bar on the property, they were fantastic. They had top shelf brands of liquor and were not afraid to use them!!! My husband and I grabbed margaritas in the lobby bar before even going up to our room and it will still go down as best margarita ever!! Get the casadores tequila!!!!!
Beautiful and and very sexy rooms. My husband and I both said we would never go back to another sandals after experiencing secrets!!!! It made sandals look like a crappy holiday inn! You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I just recently got back from Secrets The Vine and I cannot wait to go back!!! I traveled from Canada with my fiance (37), his cousin (41) and his cousin's wife (40) and I am the youngest of the group (29) and we were all blown away!!! Mexico was never top on my list of places to travel and I was unsure how I would like it, well I loved it!!! Not just the resort but the people too!!! So much so that we are even thinking of going back for our honeymoon!!!!

Check in was a breeze and the staff at the desk was super friendly!!! We were upgraded for free to an ocean-view suite which was absolutely stunning. We loved the modern and clean vibe!!! We had a day and a half of bad weather and the rooms and hotel are so nice that we didn't even mind staying inside!!! The bed was very comfortable!!!! The hotel was kept very clean, the cleaning/maintenance/housekeeping staff did and excellent job!!!

The food was awesome!!!! I am a vegetarian and have a gluten intolerance and didn't once have and trouble finding something delicious to eat!!! This is the first vacation I have gained weight on!!! We especially liked the steakhouse!!! We ate there twice I had the salmon and the tuna!!! The breakfast buffet and main pool snack bar were fantastic!

The drinks, were good especially all the coffee beverages hot and cold at the cafe and the margaritas and the beer!!! However I wish the juices were a bit better throughout the day, they had amazing fresh juices in the morning and then switched to not very good juice from concentrate (I know there are better options out there for juice from concentrate), we also would have liked better vodka and rye (very minor...I hate to even say the word complaint because honestly this place is amazing).

The Piano Bar was the "Disco" per say, we wish it was a little more lively but we had a blast regardless!!!! We had fantastic service there! The staff were kind, tentative and fun!!! I would like to recommend putting the dance floor at the back of the bar, changing the layout a bit I think would improve the flow/vibe of the bar!!! But like I said we had a great time there!!!!

We did venture off the resort to Coco Bongos which gave us enough partying for the week LOL!!! It was awesome!!!! I have never experienced anything like it before and I have gone to some great party bars!!!! We went with Winnie (Jose) from the main pool entertainment staff (who I will talk more about after cause he really help make our trip memorable and is an all around great guy!), we paid $65 USD which covered our taxi there, unlimited drinks and a VIP table. It was well worth it, we had excellent service, great entertainment and a lot of fun!!! We didn't have a hard time finding a taxi when we were ready to leave.

The pools were awesome!!! There were 3 or 4 to choose from (we stayed at the main pool the majority of the time) but they were all different and unique!!! Very sleek, modern and clean!!! Great temperature!!! Just awesome!!! We had fantastic service by the pool, I feel horrible for her name slipping my mind, it started with an "M" though (I am sure after I have submitted my review it will come to me) anyways she worked very hard, was friendly and very tentative!!!! I hope she gets recognized for her great work!!!! Also Winnie (Jose) the pool entertainment staff is just plain awesome!!! I can't imagine how many people he meets a day but he remembered our names and made sure to say hi to us everyday!!! He taught us some Spanish and how to do the wobble!!! He worked hard all day keeping all the guests entertained, involved and happy!!! He is friendly and fun and it was a pleasure to meet him!!!! Also Victor who often worked along side Winnie was great as well!!!

The beach was pretty but the water was violent!!! Be careful when going for a swim!!! I lost my $400 prescription sunglasses (even though I had them tied to my head) when I got sucked under water and dragged along the ocean floor. I got a bad scrape on my thigh (was bleeding a bit) and barley made it back to shore. It was pretty scarey. Luckily I am a strong swimmer and was able to grab a hold of a rope to pull myself to shore despite the lifeguard whistling at me to let go of it! I went for a run along the beach everyday and it was great!!!!

Overall It was the best resort I have ever been too and can't wait to return!!! And visit other Secrets resorts!!!!!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in the hotel! But the Ocean-view suite has an amazing view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is amazing. Really friendly, great facilities, brilliant gym, unlimited cocktails and even champagne. The food is to die for with brilliant restaurants open all day long. I've stayed in 5* hotels all round the world. This place beats them all hands down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Vines. We had great poolside service by Sylvia. She took awesome care of us while we were there. The drinks and food were great! Everyone was so nice and relaxed at the hotel. The only downfall was the desserts. We would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are delighted, the best service ever, you really feel special. Would recommend it to all the couples, hotel is simply fantastic, very clean, stuff is amazingly helpful! Food is of a great quuality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.