We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks of fun at the Vine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2 weeks of fun at the Vine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This a beautiful facility that is full of natural light. It is bright, airy, spacious and the main lobby has a comfortable seating area and coffee bar, which is a really nice touch. The people are the friendliest and most helpful of any resort we have been, they glow with enthusiasm and pride in their hotel. The restaurants are a reasonable size and during our 2 week stay we found that for two of the five there was no wait time and the wait time for the other three restaurants was less than twenty minutes at the busiest times. The presentation and quality of the food is excellent. The restaurants and bars are well stocked with several excellent Mexican beers and of course the wine cellar is exceptional with over 4000 bottles from every corner of the globe. The Red Wine Bar offers a variety of after dinner entertainment every night of the week and the three fellows in there are great entertainment unto themselves (Jesus and Israel are two of them). The 12th floor gym is very well equipped and has an amazing view of the ocean. The pool areas are great and there is a very nice beach. Overall a wonderful vacation spot that we highly recommend. A special thanks to the Concierge, to Ana, the Sommelier, Luis in Entertainment, Fabian, the 12th floor pool Concierge, and of course to Jean-Pierre Sorin the General Manager whose high standards are reflected so well by the wonderful people at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,481
    356
    126
    27
    20
See reviews for
100
1356
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 3/21 – 3/25 at Secrets The Vine in Cancun Mexico to celebrate my 50th birthday. This was our first time to Cancun and we LOVED IT! The food, staff, rooms, drinks, and service---everything was AMAZING! We are asking friends and family to come with us, would like to book for March 2014.

I HIGHLY recommend this resort; it was the best vacation one could ever experience. I hope the service is, as wine…..gets better with time-

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I had a preferred junior suite so my review is based on the preferred upgrade and in between.

The overall experience was wonderful. Plenty to do and I loved it.

Spa: Patricia gave me three treatments and I felt so relaxed. The staff booked too many people at once so it was a little crazy but once I was in it was great. Nice hot tub and steam room on the inside to use before your treatment.

Food: room service is not that good. Its not the service but the quality of food. You might get a great meal at breakfast but even that's hit and miss. It will take about an hour to get your food and it will arrive almost cold. The menu is extensive but they put minimal effort into room service. I got French fries without ketchup, mayo, salt and pepper or a y other condiments. Be very specific when ordering room service, you've been warned. What to stay away from: ham and cheese panini ( one slice on ham and a thick slice of cheese NOT melted) it looks like a three year old made it. See attached picture. BLT this is hit and miss. Chillaquilles, if you like soggy tortillas and a dish that looks like dog food then have at it.

Market cafe was amazing!! The best breakfast with options for even the pickiest person. The preferred area ( for dinner) was elegant and great but if you think the portions are small just have a burger later. The pool area was kind of quiet. I found myself going to the regular pool for interactions.

Be careful on the beach. When the wind blows hard the sand will hurt. Your body and legs.

Noise: not a big deal. Some of these people are too picky

***please remember to tip
Your servers, room service and your housekeeper*****

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked Secrets The Vine for our honeymoon after checking rating and reviews on TripAdvisor for hotels and resorts in Cancun, Mexico.
It is hard to summarize all the amenities and experiences the hotel has to offer, but some has to be mentioned.
First of all - the design of the hotel is amazing! Well assembled, cohesive and tasteful. It is different from other hotels/resorts that focus on the natural tropical environment of the Caribbean, since it is modernly designed but still employs natural and raw materials to create and convey the total cultural experience of Mexico and the ancient Mayan tribes with great style and grace, a modern look and a luxurious feeling to it. This is definitely appropriate for a nearly five diamond adults-only hotel/resort.
And now - for the food. You would expect from an all-inclusive resort to have a mediocre food and drinks, since it is 'free', meaning already included in the price, but here it is definitely not the case! The food is AMAZING!!! Every meal throughout the day and in ALL of the restaurants in the hotel (including the main one - The Market Cafe) the dining experience was amazing - the great variety of delicious food, quality drinks and the superior service! In the same breath I have to mention the exceptional service of the hotel employees in every area of our stay. They are always very nice and courteous, willing to help with anything you wish for or have questions about, always prompt and happy to serve or help.
We stayed at a preferred club honeymoon suit with an ocean front. It was very modern, luxurious and pampering. Loved the shower, the comfortable bed, the touch-controlled lights, the hidden TV, the big bath and the wide and roomy basin area.
The view was gorgeous, since we had a corner room with a big balcony with a view to the beach on one side and the marina on the other.
If you are going to stay at this hotel definitely go for the Preferred Club option. The price might be a little higher but it is worth it with all the extra amenities, such as access to the preferred lounge on the 21st floor (quiet lounge, with small buffet for breakfast and lunch with quality Nespresso coffee) and the infinity private pool on the 12th floor. It is important to some people (like me) more than others to have that peace and quiet when you are in vacation, and sometimes don't want to be in the tumult of all the other hotel guests and the loud music of the main facilities (pool or buffet).
Lastly, I have to mention just a few problems that we incurred, but do not diminish from the well earned 5 star rating that I gave the hotel. First- since it was a late honeymoon (about 9 months after the wedding) we did not receive some of the extras that a 'fresh' honeymooners would get - such as a sign on the door when you arrive that says 'honeymoon', champagne in the room, be featured in the hotel's daily news and activity sheet (that mentions and wishes happy honeymoon/anniversary/birthday to the celebrating guests), or other gestures.. The suit that we stayed in was indeed a honeymoon suit but I am not sure if it was because we booked it through a vacation website (Travelocity) and maybe had to mention specifically that it was our honeymoon (although isn't it obvious?!) or because it was a late honeymoon, or maybe because we did not purchase a special honeymoon package...
The second thing was the noise, as some other reviewers mentioned. The acoustics in the rooms is not that great and you could hear the loud music from the pool and even from the hallway, even though our room was located at the end of the hallway..
Overall , I would definitely recommend this hotel when planning a relaxing and fun vacation to Cancun any day and I am sure that their other resorts have the same high standards as this particular one.

Room Tip: Preferred Club suits are recommended. Corner suites are large and sunny and fairly quieter. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

WOW!!!!! Truly a DREAM wedding!!!!! Our wedding Planner Yamina Bermudez was EXCEPTIONAL!!!!!! We thought having a destination wedding would be difficult to pull together, however Yamina was Brilliant!! She was warm, kind and always kept my husband to be and I CALM!! It was truly PERFECT!! Thank you Yamina with all our hearts. THIS place made us fall in love all over again!!!! breathtaking!!

A special thanks to Jimmy our waiter at the Market Cafe!! His smile made your entire meal a delight. He was willing to do anything to accommodate your every desire. We LOVE YOU buddy!!

Our activities directors we're beyond pleasant!!! Bethany Buttorff and Alan Olivo, your sunshine brightened our days!! Thank you for spreading sooo much cheer to our family and friends. We can't wait to come back AGAIN!! THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO!!!!!

Chad and Abby Panton

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very nice hotel; all inclusive; great food which is sometimes unusual for an all inclusive resort; great poolside entertainment. Staff was extremely pleasant. Romantic. Beautiful beach. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floor closer to beach side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The first day we waited hours for our room and were told we had a 24 hour butler, which we paid for. The maid came for turn down service that night. The next day, no butler, no turndown service. The food is good and plentiful. The bartenders can whip up anything you like and the pools and ocean are beautiful. Our wrap around balcony has extraordinary views of the Caribbean and the lagoon. I love an Ocean view but we'll stick with the Grand Luxxe. Next year Nuevo Viarta.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.