We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

i must say that the secrets is a very beautiful hotel the rooms are fantastic the pools are refreshing the food is most excellent and the staff is out of this wold, balam padilla was the one staff member that most stood out to me, was very helpful with everything we had questions to , he would take the time to come over and say hello to us anytime he saw us , he is very pleasant and has a wonderful smile , he has a great sense of humour and is a very funny guy. all the staff memebers were great but balam was our favorite. i would definately come back just to see him and enjoy the entertainment that the hotel provides, thank u so much for having us, susan pindus of canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,780
    419
    139
    33
    22
See reviews for
122
1619
43
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved Secrets on the Vine! The drinks are strong, the hotel & grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly & accommodating. The pools each have their own atmosphere. The bottom pool is loud & a party everyday and the top pool is quieter which is perfect if you want to relax & read a book. It is nice to have the choice depending on your mood. We appreciated the list of the next day’s activities that was left in the room every night. It advised the drink of the day, the restaurants that would be open & the nightly entertainment.

We loved the fish & shrimp tacos at Sea Salt for lunch. The Asian & Steakhouse restaurants were our favorites for dinner. The rib eye at the steakhouse is incredible. The desserts were always great at each restaurant as well.

We sat through the time share presentation for $200 spa certificate which we used for a great couples massage which then only cost $40 each. The staff is very high pressure during the time share presentation. We haggled & got them down to under $18,000 for a package which originally cost over $75,000! If you are interested in a time share with them play hardball. They will give you everything you ask for to get your business. They had even thrown in 2 free week long trips at the end. You will have to put 25% down & pay the rest off over 5 years. We did not end up buying but will consider it in the future.

On our second to last night we received a letter under our door stating that if we wanted to switch to one of the Riviera Maya Secrets Resorts for our last night, we would receive a free 3 night stay during low season to Secrets on the Vine within the next year. That was a great offer but we do not want to take another trip so soon away from our kids so we did not pursue it.

Our few complaints about the property are the same as the other reviews:
The hallways are very loud. The doors slam & voices echo. We were woken up every night by that.
The spa (without coupons) and the bottles of wine are both very expensive.
The lights in the rooms are difficult to operate. We couldn’t figure out how to only have the lights on by the sinks & bathroom without turning on all of the lights in the room.

Just an FYI…channel 36 on the TV is a hard core porn channel. To find this while flipping through the channels one day was alarming. I’m fine with the hotel offering the channel but maybe give people a head’s up about it & have it available for free under the "on demand" feature, not in the regular line up.

Overall, we had an amazing vacation & look forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at this resort. This was my fourth visit to a Secrets resort (I have previously stayed at Maroma , St. John, and Huatulco.) Out of all the Secrets this hotel has had the best food, I was very impressed. (coming from two Chicago foodies who dine out weekly)

The location is right on the strip, and the hotel seems to have a party type atmosphere (compared to the other Secrets resorts where there are many couples and honeymooners and a more relaxed environment.) However, I also saw many spots where you could seek refuge and enjoy alone time. The hotel is very modern, and sleek.

My husband and I both received spa services, and they were ok. Can’t compare the spa here to the one in Huatulco or Maroma where they have hydrotherapy circuits to enjoy.

As other travelers have mentioned the hallways are loud, and the doors do slam shut. My husband also wished breakfast was outdoors. The market cafe was a bit warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Three couples traveled to Cancun and stayed at this resort. We had an awesome vacation. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting an all-inclusive, adults only, resort. We arrived and were given warm scented wash clothes and a glass of champagne. Our checkin was smooth and the rooms were absolutely wonderful. There was never a problem with sound in the halls. Our rooms were on the 10th and 15th floors. None of the rooms were next to the elevator. Two rooms had marvelous views of the ocean and the lagoon. One room had a marvelous view of the ocean and the pool. What a great way to start your day, sitting out on the deck enjoying a cup of coffee and looking at the ocean. The maid service was excellent and our beds were turned down every night which was a nice touch.

The breakfast buffet was great. The scrambled eggs were very yummy. We tried all of the restaurants and the Italian was everyone's favorite. Most in our group thought the food was five star. I thought all the restaurants started to taste the same. I thought that maybe they used a certain spice in all their cooking so everything tasted the same. Regardless, the food and presentation were excellent. We all drank the house wines and were very pleased.

We never had to worry about saving chairs on the beach or at the pool. The drink service was excellent. It was extremely windy when we were there but I believe this is typical of Cancun. We come from a windy state so that was not much of a factor for us. We swam in the ocean both on a very windy day and on a mild day, however you had to be careful on the windy days.

They worked very hard to keep the resort clean. The staff were always happy and smiling and worked very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Tipping was not required but the service was so amazing that we wanted to tip.

The nightlife and shows usually started around 9:30. That was a little bit late for us. We were usually in bed by 10 p.m., after being in the hot sun and enjoying a few cocktails in the afternoon. It would have been nice to have some entertainment start a little earlier.

I had a medical emergency while on vacation. The resort doctor was very helpful and sent me to the emergency room. I was very skeptical of going to the emergency room in another country. They could not have been more helpful and professional. It was an excellent experience and saved the rest of my vacation.

I am already starting to plan our next vacation. I would definitely stay at this resort again but will probably try a few others before deciding which one is my favorite. We have stayed at the Royal Sands as a timeshare owner's guest. That was a marvelous experience also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wow. From when we arrived at the airport. Apple rep greeted us non stop bus ride to the hotel. Unbelievable staff . Kudos to Bethany one of our entertainment directors, rooms clean, foods varied and fresh, lots of variety. Fitness facility comparable to any goodlife back home. One note if travelling to fea! market get ready to barter, offer 10 percent of what they want. You will have the time of your life.
Thanks Joe and Trisha

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent a week here. Very enjoyable resort experience. There are other destinations that may be nicer, but are likely more expensive. This was our fourth visit to a Secrets resort (Capri, Maroma Beach, and Huatulco previously), so the formula obviously appeals to us.

It's a very attractive property with excellent staff trying very hard to please. At the same time, there are a few mistakes made here and there that could be quite bothersome if you got more than your share (e.g., having the balcony next to the preferred lounge, as one guest complained; the "shelf" in the shower is too high/small; or the slamming doors of guest rooms that sound like a gunshot in the hallway--SECRETS, are you reading, fix this!)

Property: unlike other Secrets properties we have visited, that were isolated on their own lavish grounds, this location is right in the heart of the Cancun "hotel zone", no problem if you're not bothered by being near other properties. For example, the rock band on the beach one night at the Hard Rock immediately next door is either a plus or a minus, depending on your tastes. We thought it was fun, but we did opt for a room on the quieter north side of the property. The view from our 24th-floor room, with the gorgeous sea on one side and the bay on the other, was fantastic, plus that side of the building is shady. Public areas of hotel are really quite spiffy, spacious (widest hallways to guest rooms anywhere), subdued lobby, beautiful bars inside and out, nicely turned-out restaurants, great pool action and seating at the various large pools.

Preferred/rooms: we paid the additional price for "preferred" this visit (we have, and have not, previously at Secrets), which seemed worth it in view of the very spacious, luxurious room we had on an upper floor. Use of the preferred-only pool on the "12th floor" (where exercise room, spa, and several restaurants are located) seemed a little more "exclusive", with our "pool butler" Fabien. But non-preferred room guests eat at the same restaurants, drink at the same bars, and use all the other pools, and have luxurious, if not as spacious, rooms. So I'd say "preferred" is probably worth it if you can afford an extra splurge for the view and higher floor, but not mandatory if you're watching the budget.

BUT NOTE THIS: the so-called "12th floor" of this resort is really about 4-5 FLOORS UP! In other words, there's a major case of "floor inflation" going on, our "24th floor" room was a lot closer to 16 or so floors up.

Tipping: If you go to this resort, you can afford to spend on a nice vacation, which should include being generous with the wonderful staff. Any tips always seemed to be appreciated, but it was not "required", and we saw many guests leave meals or the bar without leaving a little something. This behavior seemed chintzy and no one should be that person.

Food: others have commented on the food, which we thought was uniformly excellent, plentiful, but not served in huge portions that ended up being wasted. We really appreciated the gorgeous breakfast delivered to our room the last day, exactly at the very early time we needed in order to catch our flight home.

Entertainment/activities: the usual "beach" activites are available, and the staff does a good job of keeping things moving, volleyball, aerobics, games, etc. All manner of optional tours. Armando was great (a mentalist) and the circus act in the lobby was terrific!

Spa/exercise room: we used the exercise room regularly, just about always able to use the equipment of choice, with super views of the water. Did not use the spa services, they generally seemed to be rather pricey, even with some discount coupons we received. We heard both positive, as well as less enthusiastic, comments from other guests on the spa services.

The hard-working and very kind staff is a big reason that we have returned to Secrets, that plus a fun, "posh", adult resort experience. Thanks, Chef Eric, for a fun kitchen tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Vine for 4 nights on Jan. 19 to 24. We thought the place was one of the nicest resorts we have ever stayed at. We have traveled the world and have also stayed at The Royal and Palace Playa del Carmen. Our Preferred Club Oceanfront Honeymoon Suite on the 23rd floor was spectacular with the largest wrap around balcony I have ever seen. Well worth the extra money.

Everything is very new and clean. Service was excellent. We really liked not having to have a reservation to eat and never had to wait. At The Royal, our time was all ruined by a "lost" reservation.

We went to the 12th floor Preferred Club everyday after time at the beach and pools. It was a very nice change of pace and the staff really makes you feel pampered. Make sure you order a Kobe beef hamburger at the Preferred Club grill. You also get top shelf liquor at the Preferred Club like Don Julio margaritas.

Another awesome thing is that all the pools are heated. At The Royal, no one used the pools in the afternoon because they were too chilly.

Bethany on the entertainment staff was incredible. She took groups every night to dance clubs in Cancun. We went to Coco Bongos and Dady'O. She stayed until 4 am to make sure everyone was safe and having fun.

Just a couple of things could still use improving. I really wish they would let you have bottles of wine to take to your room. Having to keep going down to the lobby to get a drink gets old. The coupons they give you are worthless because they can only be used on full price items. They have sales that are cheaper. Finally, the night time entertainment at the needs improvement. With the exception of the circus, it was not very good. Particularly, the magician (actually a playing card act) was the worst thing I have ever endured.

We can't wait to go back and hope prices will stay competitive.

Room Tip: Preferred Club Oceanfront Honeymoon Suite definitely the room to get. Massive wraparound balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.