We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Secrets out"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Air Credit!
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"The Secrets out"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Traveled as a married couple January 31st thru February 10th (storm extended the dates). We normaly travel to an all inclusive once a year for the past 14 years. This hotel rates with The Royal and The Excelence. It blows away the other all inclusive hotels. We believe once this hotel receives the recongnition it deserves the price range will be dramatically increased.
Food: the twist here for an all incusive is that the restraunts were actually excellent. from lamb chops to brick oven pizza(only in Itialian). We didnt try all of them but we ordered as much as we wanted of what we liked from every restruant we attended. The Breakfast buffet was great as well. Martin served us in the buffet as though we were royalty. thank u. There is a coffee bar with great deserts and sandwiches as well as expresso equivlant to Starbucks. Medesto at the vine lounge makes the best expresso martinis. We never waited more then 5 min to be seated and although service isnt as quick as at home it wasnt all that slow either.No reservations needed. room service was ok, but still quality.
Alcohol: American beer choices as well as corona/corona light. quality booze choices allthough not exceptional, very good (especially for an all inclusive). Wine just ok even the purchase choices. Every bartender was excellent and trained and spoke english.
Beach: although rough (as always) this strip of beach is breath taking. There can be some shells upon entering but it is a brief discomfort for all of 2 steps. The service on the beach leaves u without needing anything! excellent service. The beach isnt huge but it accomidates everyone. Chairs are quality and towels are available (no cards!)
Hotel: Brand new! spotless. On the smaller side as are all Cancun hotels (compared to Riviera Maya), this means less walking. Hallways are designed in a way noise is amplified but not overly so. This is an adult only and most people arent screaming all hours of the night or slamming doors. The rooms are incredible, beds are quality as are pillows. The light switches are tricky get bellhop to show you how to use them. The glassed in shower and bathroom is a strange feel but it provides enough privacy you cant be seen. The balcony is securly seperated but you can see your nieghbors (not in their rooms though). This is just part of the design. The odd room numbers put u pool side which gives the best oppertunity to enjoy the hotel. The even numbers put u looking at the Sandos hotels tennis courts. All rooms have the same beach view. The view is nice. The noise from the nightly entertainment will be loud enough to interupt your sleep on the odd or even sides if you go to sleep before 9:30 pm. After that it is appropriately quite as it moves inside.music was enjoyable for the most part. The fridge was stocked everyday and cold. The towels were changed when (as instructed) we put them on the floor. Turn down service would have came more often had we not put the privact sign out.
Pools: The 3 pools offer enough options to fit everyone comfortably. The long pool offering the closest thing to a quite pool then the others. Towels are always rolled up and replaced as they are used. awsome drink service anywhere.A pool bar wasnt missed. Saving a favorite location does happen but the rest of us have plenty of options. Rafts are spread out if wanted as well. All very clean and opened much later then expected. The entertaiment team around the pool and beach were great, Bethony worked hard to ensure all the guests were comfortable, informed and happy, thanks! This hotel was adults only and we found the entertainment to be age appropriate.
Negatives: There wasnt hot water. This was a temporary thing but it wasnt corrected as of the time we were leaving. The light switches need to be explained. The water is rough (not their fault). Turn down service usually came after 9pm.
Yes we will return here sometime in the future but i expect the prices here will be raised given the service, quality and location. Get on it ASAP.

Room Tip: Odd nubers gives best location to enjoy this hotel. Preffered pool less windy but not heated. no nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,570
    580
    189
    63
    38
See reviews for
183
2,314
77
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Butte, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

All the restaurants had great menus. It was nice having choices between buffets and sit down meals. The swimming pools all had great views of the ocean. They also had a great exercise facility. You could not ask for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overall, a pleasant experience. The physical hotel is beautifully "stark and full of glass." The rooms are lovely and very comfortable -- but it sure "ain't Mexico." So, if you are looking for Mexican charm, you must look elsewhere.

We have stayed at other Secrets and Dreams and I fear the food here is not as good. True, it is "fancy" but in striving to be gourmet, it falls short of good old fashioned tasting good.

The people who work here are exceptionally warm and gracious. You are met with smiles and an helpful attitude.

I am sorry that this is not a glowing review. But I would not recommend this hotel to a friend who was looking for a Mexican experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Currently at Secrets The Vine for the past 4 days. The Room and amenities are beautiful but the food is quite bland and unimpressive.. I have yet to be wowed. We have previously stayed at Aventura Spa Palace and Excellence Playa Mujares which have significantly better food.

Despite the beautiful room and resort, we love and live to eat. We will not be coming back to this resort.

For those that love food -- look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Secrets the Vine did not disappoint. From the amazing food to the great entertainment to the outstanding service. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful, they always provided exceptional service. Carlos from Market Cafe, Miguel from Olio, Jesus from the piano bar were some of the staff that made our stay memorable and enjoyable. The maids kept our rooms immaculate and the turn down service was fantastic. We especially enjoyed the casino night, Carlos was our dealer and made the night outstanding. Armando the mentalist was very entertaining. The hotel was great, but the staff is what will make us come back again. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Cancun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We loved the decor and ammenities!! She especially loved the modern style of the room. The bed was comfortable and the view was fantastic. The food was the best we've had in Mexico, bar none. The service was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Secrets the Vine from January 28 to February 6, in a Preferred Club Room on the 25th floor, facing Sandos (north), the quiet side. The view was amazing, over the top of all the other hotels and we could clearly see the ocean, the lagoon and Isla Mujeres. The room was kept sparkling by Veronica during our stay and was always clean when we returned from the beach for an afternoon siesta. Toiletries were provided – SPF 15 sunscreen, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, toothpaste, shaving cream, even a toothbrush and disposable razor, so that cut down on what we had to bring. Their sunscreen is really effective and smells good too. Hot water was always available, and we loved the two shower heads. The mini bar was always fully stocked. Our room was in the “short wing” for want of a better word with only about 8 rooms in it, so it was very quiet – we did not experience any door banging, although you could see how that was possible if people were not careful. The food was excellent. We particularly liked the Market Café for breakfast or lunch, Sea Salt for lunch and had absolutely fantastic dinners at Blue Water Grill (thanks Antonio). Bars were everywhere and service and quality of drinks were outstanding. A particular treat was the fantastic beach bar and the service we received on the beach. Which brings me to the one thing that stood out about this resort, over all the others we have been to over the years – we didn’t have to play the towel game in the morning to get a place on the beach! No getting up at 7am to stake out a claim on a small patch of sand! Instead, each day as we arrived at the beach, the staff would offer to set up chairs with towels, and bring an umbrella. Pure luxury!! As others have said, the hotel is not a sprawling complex with landscaped pathways but they have made great efforts to plant greenery wherever it might grow. All the staff at the hotel go out of their way to please you and their command of English is truly remarkable; way better than so many resorts we have been to. The beach was gorgeous and you could walk for miles but swimming was another thing. Twenty years ago we would have loved to play in the waves and could have dealt with the current, which was strong, but now we prefer to relax or swim in the water, and this was not a swimmers paradise, at least certainly not while we were there. Was this a deal breaker for us – no, we worked around it and did get in the water a couple of times when the red flags were not flying, but it is not the same as a lazy float in the salt water. All in all, an excellent vacation at a truly luxurious hotel, staffed by many wonderful people.

Room Tip: Higher floor, even numbered rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.