We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My office has travelled to cancun 7 times (Punta Cana once, and a cruise to Cozumel once).. Secrets the Vine had the best food of any of the other all inclusives that we stayed at. The beach was great, pools warm, and staff very attentive. The rooms were ultra modern stye, and all glass shower and toilet enclosures a little unsettling for coworkers who had to share rooms. It would be fine for a real couple. The gym had all the best equipment. You did not need reservations in the different restaurants. There was a coffee and pastry bar open at 6:30 am that stayed open all day. I would love to go back..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,745
    419
    139
    33
    22
See reviews for
118
1595
42
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this resort 1-19-13 to 1-26-13 for a getaway with my wife. Pulling up to the hotel there was nothing special (but who really cares). Entering the hotel we were greated by some very nice staff members. We went to the front desk to check in and were immediately pressured to upgrade to a different room (the woman could not even tell us what the big difference would be for an additional $100 per night pp). Glad we rejected this offer, because their special preferred 12th floor is really nothing special (save your money and spend it at the spa). When we finally got to our room 2 hours later, it was a very nice sleek modern design. With that comes some flaws. The doors are very large and honestly we had to sleep with ear plugs due to the slamming of doors all night long. This can be pretty disruptive if you like to get any kind of sleep. Also, the walls feel like they are paper thin as you can hear everything that is going on in the hall. The balcony views are beautiful. The food was top notch. All restaurants were excellent. We loved dining at the Market Cafe due to the service of Emilio (He should open his own restaurant as he is one of the nicest people I have ever met). I wish the food was alittle more authentic to Mexico and not Tex-mex....Antonio at Blue Water was great as well, went back to visit him twice due to the service. Their food is excellent The pools were nice, but the chairs by the pool get over crowded on a nice day. Feel that if you are not out there by 6am to claim a spot you have to sit at the upper pool which is pretty lame during the day! The entertainment staff was great however feel they are held back by management. Beth and Winnie did an amazing job. Give them some freedom to have some fun during the day. Music during the day at the pool is elevator music, except during water aerobics. It is a caribbean resort, play some good music. Felt like we were at a nursing home due to some of the music selection at times. People would not have to sleep in so late if they did not have to listen to doors slamming all night. The beach is rough, so if you are not a masters level swimmer do not plan on spending much time in the water. I know the resort does not control this, but I wish someone told us before we took the trip. I was sold on this trip as our travel agent told us it is very similar to Sandals. Honestly, there are few similarities to Sandals.

Room Tip: Get one on an empty floor so you do not have to listen to the doors all night slamming
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

You go to paradise and visit a resort that treats you like royalty in a manner that exceeds almost all places and some people nitpick to the point of ridiculousness. Two stars to The Vine in a review because there were problems with the rides to and from the resort and you didn't get your complimentary bottle of wine or the exact massage you wanted and there was a problem with the bill? What about the spectacular rooms, service and food? Quit complaining about the little things like no complimentary bottle of wine (it is unlimited at any bar). Always review a bill long before check out time. Much easier to resolve problems when the taxi isn't waiting.

I sometimes wonder if people really read the reviews on Tripadvisor? This resort had problems in the past such as loud music in the morning, no full length mirrors, very hot and sunny work out room, unheated pools and noise in the hallways. They have listened to the complaints and have worked hard to fix most of these problems (they say mirrors are on order) but still need to do something about the hall noise.

Wine prices - way too steep. If you really want something other than the free wine but want your favorite wines without the markup - very simple solution - bring some of your own bottles at home. Then the $15 bottle of wine costs you $15. We have done that many times on our excursions and wrap several bottles of wine in towels in a suitcase. Just open the bottle in the room. No need to complain about the wine prices in the restaurants.

Dress code - they have one so bring a pair of pants and some collared shirts. What is the big deal?

Enjoy the luxury - you are on a wonderful vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We traveled with another couple so the following comments are a compilation of our observations. The staff is outstanding: professional, polite, attentive. The facilities and rooms are well-maintained and very clean. The gym (and its staff) was excellent. The food at all restaurants, including the buffet, was fresh, well-prepared and appetizing (although the entrees at the Asian restaurant were unremarkable in that they lacked the flavors and spices that are generally characteristic of foods from the various Asian dishes that the restaurant specializes in; salt seemed to be the spice of choice). The location of the hotel itself is a bonus in that it is about a 20 minute drive from the airport; it is, however, located in a long row of hotels and has very little of its own property. There is little greenery and landscaping to appreciate. There is room for improvement in terms of their wines. The list of included wines was limited, and the wines themselves disappointing. The "for purchase" wine list was terribly overpriced. There are 3 wine-tastings offered at the hotel each day, with the 5pm tasting having a charge of $20 USD per person. We paid for the tasting and were disappointed in the 3 wines offered at that tasting; we shared our complaints with management who handled our complaint respectfully and professionally and refunded our money. Given the many fantastic properties on the Mayan side, we are not certain that we would not stay here again. One last note: the hallways are very noisy and the doors slam (there doesn't seem to be a way to close them quietly). Perhaps some art on the walls would also help not only with the noise level but with the stark feel; the 12th floor contains almost all of the restaurants and the lack of decoration as you step off the elevator onto this floor leaves you wondering if you've mistakenly taken the service elevator.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms with king beds are limited. You may well have a room with double beds for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I travel to the Caribbean a couple times a year and have been to Cancun 5 or so times. In the last couple years we stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres and Live Aqua. We had the Honeymoon OceanFront Suite at Excellence, the Live Aqua Suite at Live Aqua and had the Preferred Club MasterSuite at Secrets the Vine. Nothing will ever compare to the Excellence suite but I liked Live Aqua Suite and Secrets Master Suite Equally. Only listing those so you can see what i'm comparing everything too.

The Hotel is very nice throughout but very cramped in space. Cancun resorts in general have small properties compared to other islands but Secrets is a 1/4 of the space than other resorts in Cancun. So theres not really anywhere to go for privacy on the beach or pool area. All the chairs are almost touching each other.

The food has potential but was average at best. We traveled with another couple and we all got travelers sickness at different times throughout the week. As much as we goto the caribbean, we know all the precautions to take to prevent this and have never gotten it before. So something was off with the food. There was always something at each restaurant that we liked but then also stuff that was not very good. I got the ribs one night at the steak house and It was literally one huge rib with 98% fat. Not good! Breakfast and lunch were very good. Just hit or miss with dinners.

The service was pretty good. Had a couple bad experiences at dinner but overall good service. Things just move slower in the caribbean and you have to be prepared for that. Most people were very eager to help. And I want to send out a compliment to Servero at the preferred club on 21st floor. He was the best of the week!

In conclusion, I liked the hotel but probably wouldnt go back because of no where to escape for personal time. Its definitely a party crowd, so if you are looking for some luxury and want to just party all week, then you may love this resort. I just prefer to have the party but also some personal space by the pools and beach. I would have to rank this resort 3rd out of Excellence and Live Aqua. Feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: I believe the Preferred Club is well worth the money. Its only a few extra dollars a day and you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed Jan 19-26 with a group. We all had a great time, the resort was amazing, great service everywhere we went.

Visited all of the bars (Sports Bar and Piano Bar, lobby and pool bars), 4 of the restaurants (Dragons, Blue water Grill, and the mexican restaurant were all great, Olio was just okay), buffet in the mornings and lunch was amazing. there were also snacks such as burgers, nachos etc outside by the pool everyday. Chiefs came out everyday at 1pm around the pools with snacks for everyone to try, best snack was the lobster pizza! Coffee bar was also great for coffee in the morning or their frozen Baileys ..delicious. Room service was available 24 hours a day, we tried lunch and dinner, both were very good, favorites mushroom soup and the creme brule.

The rooms are very nice and the beds amazing, so comfortable and clean. Amazing rain showers! Great view from the room.

Already want to go back!

Room Tip: Request a room facing Hard Rock to have a view of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris,ME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The worst part of my vacation was leaving this brilliant resort and returning to below zero temperatures! Everything prior to that was amazing!!! The hotel is beautiful. The staff is ultra impressive. I couldn't believe how clean it was. The staff works around the clock keeping the entry, lobby, pool area, dining establishments, stores, etc looking fresh and neat.

I have no complaints about the food at any of the dining options. It was delicious every place that we went...and we went to all but the Mediterranean spot. There were selections for everyone in our group from the foodies to the picky ones.

We found our favorite spot for a good drink everytime was at the Manatee Bar which was right beside the infinity pool. Ignacio and Rosando were always smiling, greeting us with funny lines, and genuine kindness. They made us a few signature drinks like the Mexican Flag...yum! If you haven't visited yet, definitely stop by to see them. The drinks were unpredictable elsewhere. We had some great drinks and some awful drinks at the other bars.

The entertainment team was remarkable! Victor broke the ice convincing us to join in a game of water volleyball early on in the trip and quickly he and the rest of the team became like old friends. When I was sick for a few days they all greeted me with hugs and get well wishes. Balam was like a gentle spirit in an active body. We so thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the whole bunch...Winnie, Beth, Alan included:)

I would recommend this spot to anyone who is looking for a nice break from the hustle and bustle of life. I didn't see a grouchy face anywhere and loved the options for low key and/or high energy activities!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators are nice and quiet. 11th floor was a nice view , but the 25th floor wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.