We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid all inclusive but not exclusive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Columbus, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A solid all inclusive but not exclusive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lets start with SUPERB service, beautiful rooms and a meticulously designed resort. The service was by far the best that my husband and I have ever received at a hotel (superior to 5 star Ritz Carlton's and St, Regis hotels we have stayed at). The staff was incredible opening up a sports bar 2 hrs early in order for us to watch a game, bringing us drinks even when the bar was closed, drinks were refilled pool side without us even asking (thanks to Fabian at the preferred club pool). I can't say enough about the service. As for the room we stayed in a jr suite on the preferred level. The room was beautiful--very clean and modern and a nice size. These rooms are better suited for couples then friends as there is minimal privacy between the room and the bathroom.

We had very good experiences at the restaurants. The food quality was much better then our last experience at an all inclusive (excellence resort in playa muyeres.). The cafe downstairs had an excellent breakfast buffet with every kind of food you could imagine. We also tried Italian, Asian, the steak house and the Mexican restaurant (the night that it was not buffet). The Italian was very good, the Asian was okay--I found the good to be over salted. We enjoyed the steak house and Mexican. The live music at the Mexican restaurant on saturdaynight was superb.

Preferred level ensured you a larger room (you could tell by the difference in balcony sizes which spanned the width of the room.). It got you access to the pool on the 12th floor although I was disappointed as I don't think that the hotel did a good enough job monitoring who was out there--it got very crowded at times. Preferred access also got you a speedy check in.

Room for improvement:
The spa was a huge disappointment. My husband and I both got 80 minute treatments and agreed that the massage therapists lacked the proper training and experience. In fact, One of the worst massages I have ever recieved.

The only other negative was the noise from the hallways (including room doors slamming) while you're trying to sleep. We ended up opening up the balcony door and putting a towel underneathe our room door in order to limit the noise. Not ideal and it seems like something that could be fixed.

Over all it was a very nice mini vacation for us. If you are looking for an all inclusive this was extremely nice.

Room Tip: For a restful night opt for a room As far down a hall as possible in order to not hear people in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    494
    165
    46
    30
See reviews for
154
1,992
59
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a new top shelf place to stay in Cancun look at this place.From the Hotel , Staff , Service , Food , you could not ask for anything more than they offer. We visited in mid December and what a place . This resort was spot on with the staff getting you involved pool side and on the beach activities . Top shelf liquors and the food was great. We had a great week and recommend you look at this property before making a decission to go anywhere else. We will go back to the Vine.It is a great Adult only hotel.

Room Tip: If you want the sun on your deck pick a room pool side. 10th floor north side away from the pool hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at The Secrets from Jan 12-19. We were welcomed by Erick who show us the property. We were really amazed by the beauty of this hotel. Everything has been perfect from the beginning until the end. The staff was always there to help us and serve you with a smile. We had the preferred junior suite room, facing the Hard Rock hotel and the view was amazing. The room was big, extremely clean, the fridge was always full with beer, juice, water and coca-cola. They clean the room in the morning and at night. We did enjoy staying in the preferred club. We liked going on the private swimming pool and having a breakfast on the 21st floor while our room was getting clean. sports bar was awsome with good food and all the sports channel possible. Thank you to Cesar, our butler, who was always ready to help us. We have tried all the restaurant and they were all delicious! Special thank to Enrique at the Asian restaurant. Entertainment team was awesome, very dynamic! aerobic was fun with Jesus, Bingo with Beth around the pool area. That was fun! We had an incredible vacation and we hope to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is new and was very modern, clean, and simply put- AMAZING! The food at the restaurants was excellent (I didn't love the Asian one, but my husband did, so just a taste preference). The classes and entertainment provided nightly was great! We saw a circus show, a illusionist, and they did an American Idol type show for the hotel. They were all so fun to go to. The atmosphere at the hotel was very relaxed and the service was beyond what I expected. The staff was very helpful and didn't try to scam us into any timeshare meetings. The pools were clean and beautiful and so were all of the grounds. The view from our room was great and the balcony has a great space to sit out and relax... as do every room. There are big rain showers and large comfortable beds and ample storage space for your things. The beach was soft white sand and the water was bright and clear. I have never enjoyed swimming in the ocean more. It was never crowded and no one harassed us to buy things on the beach. Instead there were people bringing out drinks and towels and just providing us a luxurious stay. The exercise room was great too with new machines and looked right out over the ocean. The spa seemed a little expensive for us and we usually don't use them, so we passed on the spa, but heard from other visitors that it was great. We only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: The great part about this hotel is the fact that they don't have any bad rooms. Each room has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just stayed over Christmas. I was not sure what to expect, but upon arrival it exceeded every wish we had. Beautiful entrance stairs with door greeters, lead you up to modern hip interior lobby
Very funky chic. Our rooms were just beautiful. Open, glass, lots of lite blue, white, coloured tiles in bathroom. Huge Flat screen. Tons of closet space. Lot's of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. They have a concierge level, with special amenities and a bar. The pools (3) are modern, maybe too modern, but step to the famous and amazing Cancun beach! Walk for miles. The food was tremendous, far above other all inclusive's i have stayed at, and i have stayed at 50 at least! Cancun is really going upscale and has tremendous shopping and excursion options

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. All rooms have some type of view. Lagoon, or ocean. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Secrets The Vine Jan. 12 -19, 2013 with a group of 100 as part of the Andy and Aaron Experience through Vacations By Varonika from Rockford , Ill.
For only being open for 5 months everything ran very smoothly.
So many of the previous reviewers have wrote about the resort itself that I'd rather comment about the staff and their attitudes.
Starting with the General Manager Jean-Pierre Sorin and restaurant Manager Leonardo, also Antonio and Alonsio. Krystal one of the resort Concierges.
This is a resort were service and attitude were highest we've ever encountered Bethany from the entertainment team stood out above everyone else. Unfortunetly my wife needs a wheelchair to get around. The first day we were making our way to SeaSalt Pool she saw us and came over interduced herself. She explained where everything was and the easiest way to get with the wheelchair. For the rest of our stay any time she saw us she alwaystook the time to see if she could be help to us. She even helped another member of our group with a concern he was having in his room. My wife,Julie and I will never her kindness.
Another thank you to Lino from Market Cafe for helping my every morning at breakfest carrying her plate toasting her bagel every day and bringing her peanut butter. Hello to Ana and Jesus from Nebbiolo and Enrique from Dragons,Louis from Bluewater Also Head Chef Mary Joe and her whole staff for our bestmeal experience of the week at Olio.

A shout out to Biannca and Jorge the wait staff at the Sea Salt Pool.The cheeseburgers at Barefoot Grill were better than I can get back home.
Two of the best things about the resort are the heated swimming pools and being able to call back home to the US.
The only negatives about The Vine concerned people with disabilities.The is no elevator access to the Sports Bar only up or down a long staircast.The other concern is that there are no ADA comfort height toilets anywere in the resort.
our group had a great time and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were at this resort from 01/11 to 01/18/13 with four adults. Both couples were in preferred club junior suites. This is about the 7th AI vacation we have taken to Mexico, DR and Jamaica so we do have some basis for comparison.
We were greeted on arrival with "Welcome Home", champagne and cold towels which is a really nice introduction to the resort.
Our suitess were beautiful and the views were gorgeous, night and day. The lack of privacy on the balconies didn't bother us but there was never anyone right beside us. We were facing the Hard Rock Hotel and did find there was loud music but only one night. We enjoyed it from our balcony but it would have been intrusive if trying to sleep. Our room was always cleaned and the mini bar filled. We did find that turn down came too early (6 pm) but they always offered to come back later and would leave the resort activities sheet, towels, chocolates, water with us if we didn't want them to come back. I did find the hallway noise could be heard in the room but not any worse than other hotels. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, one of the best hotel beds I have ever slept in.
The layout of the resort is very nice. I was concerned about the size as I usually enjoy the grounds but I really didn't mind the more hotel feel. The bars and restaurants are plentiful and the design of the resort is really beautiful.
The food was definitely a step up from other resorts we have been to. We enjoyed dinners at Olio (great steak) Dragon (great meal and lots of variety) Bluewater Grill and Nebbiolo (very nice italian food). We loved that we didn't have to make reservations and were given a pager when there was a wait. We only had this happen once but it was nice to just head to a nearby bar for a drink and head back when our table was ready. The breakfast at the Market Cafe was always plentiful with lots of variety and fresh fruit. We also enjoyed the Sea Salt Grill for a quick lunch and great Mexican food. We also enjoyed the various cocktails that were suggested and featured throughout the week so we could always try something new.
The preferred club pool area was definitely worth it for us. Fabian and Alejandro took such great care of us at the pool, it really felt like we were being spoiled. They were very attentive and easy going and always made sure we had drinks, food and dry towels. Regardless of whether you were at the preferred pool or the main pools, you could find a seat any time of day. The beach is nice but the water is very rough and the red flags were up the entire week. We were expecting this and are not beach people so it didn't bother us but I know it did bother some guests.
The evening entertainment was fun: circus, karaoke, Elvis. It didn't run late but that was fine with us as we aren't great at late nights any more. The staff went to a club every night with guests which is a great option for the night owls.
We did spend some time in the spa but it was a bit disappointing. There seemed to be many maintenance workers (male) including one on a ladder right outside my treatment room. My massage was good but I have had better. Make sure you see Alfredo to book your appointments as he has some great package deals.
We did not go and pick up our coupons and they did call our room every day until I asked them to stop calling. I think the "lounge" on the 21st floor is really just to catch everyone for their vacation club tours. We visited it a couple of times to grab a drink but the set up isn't really conducive to lounging and visiting.
The best thing about STVC was the staff. They were so kind and genuine, they really did make us feel at home. We had our initial tour from Miriam who was really lovely. Bernardo was our floor butler and was very professional and made our friend's birthday really special by having her room decorated and leaving her birthday cake. All of the bartenders and servers from the Market Cafe to the pools were very attentive and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The resort is kept spotlessly clean. We had the pleasure of meeting Denae on our first night as she was hostess at Olio and then saw her at breakfast a few times. She always greeted us with the most beautiful smile and checked how our stay was going.
Overall our vacation was fantastic and would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.