We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but loud...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #3 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful but loud...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Vine for 7 days/nights during Thanksgiving week and paid extra for the Preferred Club. We have stayed about 5 times in the Riveria Maya area, always at all-inclusives.

The facility - Absolutely beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the "newness" of our room, the spa, the gym (incredible-state of the art equipment), and the overall campus.

Preferred Club - don't waste your money. Yes, the 12th floor pool and separate bar were a nice touch, but we never enjoyed the pool because it was ice cold. And the special Preferred Lounge on the 21st floor was a joke. Very "sterile" feeling, very few uncomfortable seats, and very small area. Other Preferred areas at other resorts that we've been to made their preferred lounges feel like a private bar/lounge where you could comfortably hang out and enjoy real appetizers. The appetizers here were all foo-foo and very small. BTW - the only place that The Vine serves Crown Royal is on the 12th and 21st floor bars.

Room - beautiful! Especially liked the oversize shower! But like everyone else has commented, you could hear SO much hallway noise. And if there's any live entertainment by the pool, or next door at the Hard Rock, you hear everything! Balcony was nice, but no privacy. In-room "bar" was 3 airplane-size bottles of spirits on a tray - a HUGE disappointment?! Yes, there was an in-room fridge, but if you didn't tip the guy who filled it up for you everyday, 90% of what he put in the fridge was waters, juice, pop --- not beers as requested. Only snacks were mini size can of Pringles and peanut M&Ms.

Entertainment - the staff was awesome, especially Bethany and Winnie. They always called you by your name, and took time out of their busy days to make you feel at home. Sebastian the bartender at the Vine Lounge was AWESOME --- Thank You Sebastian!

Shopping - very convenient and inexpensive. It costs $1 per person to take any local bus to one of two shopping malls with 5-10 minutes from The Vine. We preferred La Isla which was an open air mall with many dining options on the waterfront.

The spa was beautiful but very over-priced. They did have an "Open Bar" massage option on the list that was basically four massages for what it would have cost for three. Brenda, who made the appointments and checked everyone in was very nice and helpful. The two therapists that I had were very good, however the woman was better. The facilities were very nice, although it wasn't very quiet in the "relaxation room". Overall, a good experience.

$400 in Hotel Vouchers - this was actually one of the items that helped sway us towards staying at The Vine. But after you get your vouchers, you find that they are just discounts off a full-priced item (like $20 off a $200 private beach dinner, or $X off a bottle of $40 wine). We didn't even use ONE of them. Disappointed.

Transfer to/from airport - as mentioned before, we've stayed in the cancun area before. HIGHLY recommend that you pay extra, as we did, for the private transfer to/from the airport.

Overall - We were happy that we tried The Vine, but we prefer the other all-inclusives in the Riviera Maya that have a larger campus, have breathtaking landscaping, separate areas where nightly entertainment/shows have their own "theater" that isolate the loud music, rooms that have "real" in-room bars, and Preferred Clubs that truly pamper you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,879
    437
    144
    33
    24
See reviews for
128
1703
46
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from 4 night stay. Food was great. Hallways a bit noisey as they are all marble and stucco with voices and doors slamming shut. They need to work on softening this somehow.
Rooms are very nice and clean. Love the large showers! Two vanities in the room is a great idea. Pleanty of storage space for clothing. Room service was a bit slow. I don't think my room was cleaned once during my stay before 2:30pm! Only got the turn down service twice of the four nights I stayed. I would stay here again though. Staff was all very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I'm not going to write a long winded review because anyone who wrote how wonderful this resort is has said it already. I honestly do not know how anyone can base a review on one bad experience. If you look at the service, food, cleanliness, and property, how can you not give a positive, beyond positive review for this resort. I am totally convinced some people LOVE to complain and they will always find faults in everything and everyone. Please, go and enjoy what Secretsthe Vine has to offer and DO NOT listen to any negative reviews , they are simply wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Secrets The Vine from 17 November to 1 December and have to say what a lovely hotel. I had a fantastic large room with just about everything that you could possibly need. A big thank you to all the staff at Secrets The Vine - they were really amazing and could not do enough to make sure that we all enjoyed our stay. The entertainment team did a really brilliant job and a special thanks to Sebastian who ran the Vine Lounge Bar he always served us with a smile on his face and the place was just not the same on his day off. I have to agree with other comments about the noise in the hallways, this really needs attention from management as does the approach to the hotel - still looks like a bit of a building site but does not detract from the spacious beauty of the interior and exterior of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Let me start of by saying how nervous we were to book a still under construction resort. We got a great deal and were looking forward to visiting Cancun. The pictures and reviews do not give this place justice. It is a smaller property, but it is a perfect amount of land and easy to get around everywhere. No reason to ever be bored at this resort. The concierge, ALL of them, are very helpful with a luggage snafu we had to deal with (and was great meeting Zu). The food: A+ The Rooms: A (minus the hotel construction noise). We were put on the 26th floor. I would advise trying for a lower preferred floor to minimize the noise because it was loud. The beds/bedding are not fluffy like other Dreams/Secrets resorts but were comfortable. Despite that which is not a permanent issue, it was great. We loved Diego and Jorge at the pool bar--they were very attentive every day. Nebbiolo was our favorite restaurant--get the lobster appetizer, you won't regret it. The coffee was an excellent perk. Breakfast buffet, we could take it or leave it--but it was good. The sports bar was AWESOME, made you feel at home. The beach is warm and a bit rough...but it's clean and beautiful and my husband had a blast swimming in the waves.

Room Tip: Face the Hard Rock hotel and get a lower floor while construction is pending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited Secrets The Vine 11/23-11/30. Have visited other Secrets and Dreams properties and was curious to see how this one compared. first of all, like other AM Resorts the service was very good. The hotel was clean, beautifully built and decor was amazing. The comments about the noise in the hallways are all unfortunately true, by 6:30am there is so much noise that you cannot sleep in. My husband and I are early risers so it did not cause us too many problems. The Sea Salt restaurant was our favorite and the Bluewater Grille was a HUGE disappointment. Our server Lewis screwed up our orders and completely forgot our wine order! After a 2 hour meal still had not been offered a dessert menu. Nebbllio (Italian restaurant) was amazing! Service was outstanding and the wine that was recommended was delicious. The coffee bar was a great touch. The Market Cafe food was very good, however the tables by the windows were so hot with the sun that it was uncomfortable to eat and relax. The preferred club at this resort is a complete joke! At other AM Resorts the preferred club is a comfortable environment to relax, check email, get a snack or a great drink. At this resort the preferred club is a room open to the elevators with warm bottles of water, premium liquor without a bartender that knows how to mix a good drink with small tables with uncomfortable chairs. No couches or TVs, computers etc. Bottom line - do not waste the money for the preferred club upgrade! We were given a free upgrade and put in a room on the 18 floor ( not a preferred club floor) and given the extra amenities 4 out of the 7 days. The preferred club pool on the 12th floor is a great atmosphere to relax but the pool is ice cold! (Other pools were heated).
Secrets iPhone app is a nice feature but unfortunately only works half the time. WiFi is hit and miss. The sports bar was very accommodating and works hard to find any game you wish.
Secrets the Vine is a beautiful resort but if it wants to compete with the other Secrets properties needs to pay more attention to the details. With the location of this resort it doesn't have the natural beauty of the larger properties that are in Riviera Maya and Punta Cana. However if you like the location to a larger city then this resort is for you. It has something for everyone, sports, games, relaxation etc. "it's my pleasure" is something that I only heard a handful of times where you hear it constantly at other properties. I didn't miss the comment but I did miss it in the attitude.
My husband and I were one of the first UVC Club members 2 years ago. We love the AM Resorts properties but do not understand why members are not treated any differently than other guests. We brought another couple with us to show them the reason that we loved these resorts and were disappointed that we were all so unimpressed. I would think that if a property had upgrades available that were empty that they would make their club members feel special by providing them. If they want to attract more members then they need to do more than listing their name in the SunDial.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for preferred club at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had a really nice time at the brand new Secrets the Vine with my wife over Thanksgiving holiday. Our room was quite beautiful, spacious and well-appointed with a rain forest shower, balcony and gorgeous view. Some areas of the hotel did not appear to be completely finished (apparently there is still some on-going construction) but I thought the facilities, overall, were very attractive. We had preferred club which gave us access to the 12th floor pool. This was nice on the days that it was windy, and there was great service and less of a crowd, but the pool was cold (unlike the lower floor pools which are heated) and, of course, the 12th floor is quite a ways from the beach. As such, we rarely used this area.

The restaurants were pretty solid, especially for an all-inclusive, and offered a wide variety of options. There were some pretty glaring misses, though, DO NOT get the pad thai from Dragon. Stick with simpler entree options. The tuna was across-the-board excellent, and 24-hour free room service is a very nice feature (especially when the mini fridge is out of beer and the bars are closed). The coffee bar is awesome.

This place is definitely pretty coupley, and the entertainment is geared towards an older crowd. Unless you wanted to go see a magic show or watch some cheesy band, there was not a lot to offer accept copious amounts of alcohol. For the most part, this was perfectly fine with us, and we broke up the monotony by going downtown a couple nights. The entertainment staff are really helpful with recommending locations and organizing excursions for this purpose, but it is also pretty easy to do on your own (and the bus is only a buck).

Overall, the service was pretty excellent, the people were very friendly and helpful and just about everyone spoke fluent English. Sometimes it could be difficult to get a drink on the beach, but there are ample close bars, including one right on the beach. The concierge completely saved my butt on a traveling snafu; thank Runa! Janet at the front desk was terrible, she tried to charge my friend $350 for laundry (several items of which were lost). She also would not let me change out a $20 bill that was slightly torn. I had just gotten this bill from THEIR ATM machine, and was getting change to TIP THE STAFF!!

Overall, I thought Secrets the Vine was a great place, and superb value. Despite a couple minor issues, I definitely recommend it, particularly for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.