We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing, can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am a Honeymoon and Destination Wedding specialist who was atending a 5 days event touring properties all over the Cancun, Riviera Maya and Tulum. We visited at least 12 different properties. I was truly impressed with this property. I spoke with a young couple as I was passing by and asked them about their stay at this resort and how they liked it. They said they had traveled a lot and this was the best property they had ever stayed at. This a modern style property for adults only situated right in the heart of Cancun. They offer unlimited all-inclusive luxury, with breath-taking views of the Caribbean Sea. This property has free wi-fi for their guests, no matter what category you book. No wrist bands, 24 hour room service, several ala cart restaurants to choose from, wine tastings from their amazing wine selection. I had the opportunity to have lunch at the resort and it was very good. I don't normally eat chocolate, but they had this amazing chocolate dessert with berries that was to die for. I made the mistake of just trying it, but I couldn't seem to put my fork down. The energy at this property was high and everyone seemed to be really enjoying themselves. The wedding displays were also amazing. This would be a great location for a destination wedding. Secrets is always a winner in my eyes. Each property has it's own personality, no two are the same, that is why it is good to talk to a professional when booking, to match your own style. They always provide great service and a good product. I will definitely return to this property in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms above 21st floor are all preferred club. So, if you want a higher floor you will need to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,942
    696
    216
    75
    47
See reviews for
227
2,680
88
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weeks stay at this fabulous resort. We have stayed at Secrets Capri several times and Secrets Maroma once. We traveled with 2 other couples who had never stayed at an adults only resort and they loved it.
The entire staff was extremely gracious. Always made sure you had what every you needed, if they didn't have it right on the spot they would get it and bring it to you.
RESTAURANTS: The food was wonderful. We at at the Bluewater Grill twice. The steaks had wonderful flavor and were cooked to perfection. We also had the Tuna cooked medium rare and one cooked rare, it was wonderful and also done to perfection. The baked potato, grilled asparagus, potato souffle as sides are also wonderful. The avocado Artichoke salad with hearts of palm is a must have.The dragons restaurant was wonderful as well, however there is one area of the restaurant that is very dark, but they may get that changed over time. We asked to be moved to a more well lite area and they accomodated us quickly. Seafood chop suey and miso soup was wonderful. Nebbiolo is the italian restaurant, the entire meal for all 6 of us was great. Be sure and go to the barefoot grill next to the sugar reef bar for lunch. Cesar and Antonio will grill you a hamburger, flank steak or fresh catch of the day. There is also a small buffet with guacamole, chips, rice, steak fajitas, etc. Be sure and be around the pool area between 12:30-1:00 as all of the chefs come out with a tray of hor dourves in each hand, they start on the "bridge" and then walk around the pool area and give everyone a sample. Fabulous touch that I have never seen at any of the other Secrets resorts. The Market Cafe is the only place for breakfast. You can either sit inside or outside on the deck and have a beautiful view of the Caribbean. There is a great variety of cold and hot foods. There is a chef that will make omelets or eggs to your liking. There is also a bloody Mary and Mimosa area. Sea Salt Grill was where we had surf and turf. We happen to go there on the night of the Chef's special, the steak was cooked to perfection and the lobster tail was wonderful. The chef came out to our table to make sure everything was OK.
ROOMS: We had 3 rooms on the 19th floor. Rooms are very nice with his and her sinks, glassed in shower with rain shower head in the ceiling and regular shower head in the wall, seperate glassed in water closet. There is a coffee maker, blow dryer, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. in the rooms. All rooms have a nice sized balcony with 2 or 3 wicker chairs with cushions and a small table. The standard rooms do not have tubs and for those of you that like a full length mirror, they do not have those either. The rooms that we had faced the pool area. There are 3 pools, a lap pool, a bigger pool for water sports and another pool for the preferred area, we did not talk to anybody that was in that area but the pool is very nice. We did have a short amount of time one morning when we did not have any water in the rooms, we called the front desk and that was fixed in approx. one hour. The WIFI worked great in the rooms and the market cafe. We did not try it in the other restaurants, so not sure how it would work anywhere else. I had read reviews before we left of complaints about the elevators dinging and people could hear it in the rooms. It appears as this problem has been taken care of because there is no more dinging elevators.
SPA: 3 out of the 6 of us visited the spa on the 12th floor. There is a steam room, sauna, hot tub, cool water area and very nice showers. The massage rooms were very relaxing. There is a very nice relaxing area with approximately 8 two person chairs for relaxing before and after your treatments.
BEACH: There is wonderful service by the staff on the beach. The bartenders and wait staff rotate between the beach and the pool on a daily basis. They will get you chairs, umbrellas, food, drinks, etc. They are all wonderful, so if you see Charlie, Pita, Diago, Freddy, Erica, Jaime please let them know how much you apprciate their hard work.
ENTERTAINMENT STAFF: Sandy, Alan, Victor, Winnie, Beth. All are very personable and fun. If you want to do water aerobics, beach volleyball, Texas hole em, dance lessons, Spanish lessons, guessing game etc. they will be the ones that get you going. What we really enjoy about all of the Secrets resorts entertainment staff is the fact that they ask you and if you do not want to join in they do not continue to bother you like some of the other resorts that we have stayed at.
SPORTS BAR: There is a pool table and several flat screen TV's throughout the bar. Alfredo will probably be your bartender there, and of course like the rest of the staff at the resort he will take exceptional care of you.
I also, want to mention Zulecia and Huerberto the two concierge's that we know from being at Secrets Capri. They both met us in the lobby right after we got our champagne from the staff to "Welcome us Home" it was great to see them both again.
This resort had only been open for a month when we arrived, yes I will say there are a few minor things that need to be addressed, such as needing new beach chairs, getting furniture on all of the balcony's etc., keep in mind they have only been open for a month and the extreme friendliness of the staff and the perfection of the food far outweigh a beach chair. We all feel that but for the promotional rate that we paid for this resort, all in all I have to say it was fabulous. Please feel free to email me with any questions you may have before traveling to this beautiful property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Unfortunately, The Vine resort has made our honeymoon anything but special. Of course we are enjoying the pool and sun, but the customer service has been an unbelievable let down.

First, we were scheduled to arrive on Monday the 24th, however I had an emergency that kepy us in our home town for a day. We made sure to call BOOKIT.com who we booked through, and let them know we needed to change our stay from the 25th through the 30th. Same length of time, just different dates. They told us they spoke with the resort The Vine and everything was settled just fine.

We arrived Tuesday around noon. Of course, there was an issue with check in. The Vine claims to never have spoken to our recieved any confirmation of us changing our dates, so they claimed we were "no shows" on Monday and planned to charge us for our no show date. We then spent an hour and half on the phone with bookit, who placed us on hold to call The Vine. Basically it turned into an hour and a half of fingers pointing at whose fault it was. It was ridiculous.

Finally, we were given our correct dates and proceeded to the room. Upon entering, there was nothing that we had been promised as far as the honeymoon package. Also, the throw pillows and bedding was folded on the chair, this room had not been prepared. In addition, we had one lounge chair on the deck, as I peeked to the other balcony's, which all had 2. It is the little things that make the difference.

After dinner, we returned to the room around 9:30pm to find NO TURN DOWN SERVICE. We had asked for this to be done down at the front check in desk which they assured us would be done between 6-8 I believe... well no one showed up for us.

We asked for our honeymoon package again, and over 24 hours later, it is STILL NOT HERE! There was a "happy anniversary" sign on the door when we arrived this morning after the gym and breakfast. Sorry, but this is not that difficult to figure out. We thought, "maybe they finally delivered the goods" and upon entering the door, NOTHING was here. Very strange in our opinion. We had walked in when the sign was hanging to find 3 of the staff in our room folding a robe, so we told them we would come back later as we thought they were making our room all nice with the honeymoon package. Upon returning probably 30 minutes later, nothing was there! They had draped a robe over my luggage - strange. What could they have done and why were they in our room?? This was NOT maid service as we had already met the woman earlier who changed the sheets, etc.

We have spoken with over 7 people at the front desk and concierge and nothing has changed. We asked for an upgrade for the troubles and none was offered or given. We then called the front desk later on Tuesday and the woman replied she would call us back in regards to discussing an upgrade - that call never came.

Also, you can hear everything in the halls while sleeping, and the fire alarm also went off our first night. They never made an announcement to say if it was a true fire or not, so many people stood around on our hall wondering what to do.

The resort is clean, comfortable, and the beach is just fine.

The bottom line is each person has made excuses and no one has offered solutions. Anyone who has been in the service industry (both my husband and I years ago) know that the 'customer is always right'. It looks very poor on Secrets that their staff has been so neglegent of agitated guests. We are extremely dissappointed in the level of customer service and resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, E-Concierge at Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for allowing us to host this important celebration, on behalf of our Secrets The Vine Staff, We are sad to hear our services do not meet your expectations and apologize for these.

We acknowledge receipt of your comments related to your stay at our resort and we would like to review your experience personally. We would like to kindly ask you if you could contact us at your convenience at info.sevcu@secrestresorts.com or if you prefer at extension 3118.

Hoping you to have a pleasant stay,

Zuleica Ávila
Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great staff. Great pools. The best food we have ever had in the caribbean. Not the prettiest Secrets as far as landscaping, but Cancun is not the most tropical looking place compared to Riviera Maya or Tulum or Dominican or any of the Islands. Except for the ocean, the landscaping is pretty much like a hotel in Florida. Entertainment staff is great. (love Winnie Pooh and Beth), but they are all wonderful. As far as bars, Isreal in the Piano bar is great, (and has Crown Royal, and Grey Goose but you have to ask as it is not sitting out). Shhhh Also, Jesus is a riot! Very fun! All in all, EXCELLENT vacation! And as always, Secrets dominates for the 1st class experience. We would probably not stay at THIS resort because we like the more tropical sites that Cancun just doesn't have. We will stay at one of the others Secrets that we have been to for this reason.

Room Tip: Any room is good, we dont feel its worth "upgrading" for the price. Most of the time you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the week of the 15th and were blown away as soon as we arrived. The staff greets you with champagne as soon as you walk in. Most of the time after that your just one of the guests, not in this hotel. They make you feel like you are the ONLY guest.. with such amazing personal attention to details.. such as remembering your name at the pool/beach, fixing your towels/chairs if they have sand on them, asking if you are ok with the vendors on the beach trying to sell their items, placing slippers by your bed at night. Usually on a trip by the end it's nice to go home and get back in your normal routine. Not this time.. I was almost in tears knowing I wouldn't be waking up to a delicious breakfast and laying by such a beautiful relaxing pool.
The only setback my husband had was some of the restaurants do not allow shorts. Not even khaki shorts with a dress shirt, nothing. Pants, jeans are required and they will have you go back to your room and change. (Jeans worn with sandals was ok)
Drinks were strong, food was not the normal all inclusive type. Salmon, sushi, steak.. you name it, they had it. If you go to a restaurant and do not like something, they will make anything, always trying to make you happy no matter what.
I spoke with solo travelers, couples my age (around 30), older couples and honeymooners who all agreed this was the best resort they have ever been to, especially in Cancun.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of ocean and lagoon from balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, fantastic saff, fantastic food, some teething problems which I know will iron themselves out. Love this place and would recommend it to anyone. If there were to be any down sides these would be the noise in the corridors ( which is not so much the fault of the hotel but that of the inconsiderate guests that shout their way back to their room ). Another thing I found was the indoor restaurant areas were too cold to eat in. I didn't bring any long sleeved clothing and found that to enjoy a meal I needed To eat outside or freeze. The staff were great, Sebastian in the Vine lounge, Eric the Somallier and Krystal at concierge to name a few, were all brilliant. The beds are really comfy, the spa is well organised, but for members, UVC needs to sort itself out as communication is not good. Overall, an excellent hotel which I would definitely visit again, and advise others to do te same.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am very surprised to see all of the “AWESOME” and “Best EVER” notes, perhaps they are employees of Secrets or don’t travel much? Secrets the Vine was nice, but nowhere near “Awesome” or “Best EVER”.

A few good things: Most of the people are extremely nice and very helpful. The décor was nice and clean (however being a new hotel this one is kind of a gimmie). Great comfortable bed, awesome shower, you really can get a party of people in it if you want. Dinners were really good, loved the Italian place and the Grill. Leslie at the pool was AWESOME, best service of the trip by far. She was so sweet, we were ordering shots all day, and when a round of Chocolate Cake shots were ordered, she returned with 4 pieces of actual chocolate cake. It was adorable. She of course got us shots to go with our cake by the pool.

Now the not-so-good points:

VERY loose use of the term “Premium Liquors”. Tequila the best option was Cuervo 1800 (we bought a bottle of Patron at the Cancun Airport knowing the Tequila selection at Secrets was weak). The best option for Whisky was Crown Royal (and that was only available 2 of the days we were there). Vodka was Absolut or Stoli. The “house wine” was okay, but bottles of wine were on average $85-$100, so much for “All-Inclusive”.

Beach service was spotty at best. I recommend posting up at the ocean directly in front Baracuda (the beach bar for Secrets). It is much quicker to walk over and get your drinks than rely on Gustavo to bring them to you at the beach.

Breakfast at the restaurants is stopped at 11am. Not cool for the late night folks.

Blackout curtains do not blackout (light leaks in from both sides and from the floor, seemed like a poor design overall of the curtain setup), and coupled with white interior and floor in the guest rooms, the light gets in no matter what you do. The hallways are beautiful, but being all tile, the echo’s are SOOO loud. Bring ear plugs or be awaken by anyone walking by, doors closing, maids carts etc…

I hope this was an anomaly, but there was a extremely pungent stench of feces in our hallway on the 17th floor, (and in the Sports bar the night of Sept 10th), it was so bad I almost lost my dinner when we walked into the Sports Bar, no bueno. Again, hopefully this was an anomaly.

Lastly, a personal pet peeve, the hotel floor numbers go from Lobby to the 10th floor (which is actually the 2nd floor), so when you are on the 12th floor, you are really on the 4th floor. Come on Secrets, there is really no need to try and reinvent the numerical system.

Service was overall good, but with the term Unlimited Luxury Secrets throws around, I expected more.

Fun trip overall, but we will not be repeat guests

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5 Mza.13 Retorno del Rey Lote 38 & 38B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets The Vine Cancun will debut as the first Secrets Resort & Spa in Cancun. This brand new adults-only resort is situated along a powder-white beach with crystal-clear views of the Caribbean Sea. Offering an adults-only Unlimited-Luxury® experience with gourmet dining options, daily activities, nightly performances, elite services and superior amenities; Secrets The Vine features a massive Secrets Spa by Pevonia inspired by cave-like structures and the natural cenotes of the area. All of this and more is within reach and only 10 minutes from Cancun's International Airport.Each of the Secrets The Vine's 495 guest rooms provide a private and romantic retreat of beauty and splendor with deluxe appointments including Italian porcelain floors, the finest luxury linens and much more.The signature element of Secrets The Vine Cancun is the extensive selection of fine wines stored in an on-site Wine Cellar or "Enoteca" which provides wine tasting and pairings for the most exquisite of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.