We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet place to relax in Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Mar
Save
You added Coral Mar to your Saves list
Pok-Ta-Pok Avenue, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great quiet place to relax in Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great place. When you first drive down Pok Ta Pok to arrive you start wondering where you are going. Know that you are simply driving through a residential neighborhood. The resort is at the end. We loved that it is away from the loudness, business, and congestion of the Hotel Zone. We stayed in unit 71. Great spot with nice views. We rented a car so the 1 mile drive to the main street was no problem and easy access to everything. The restaurant on site is okay if you've been out and tired. Food is authentic but just okay. Others mentioned loud air conditioners. True, but not bad. Worth it.

Room Tip: Appears that all rooms have some view. No elevators for three story complex. We had a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    65
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose Coral Mar, despite some negative reviews. Once we were there, we realized the people who had problems did not have a vehicle. Without a car, it would be a problem. We rented a vehicle.
The place is very nice, Mexican style with lots of tile, etc. All the staff was very friendly, the pool well maintained and the whole place attractive. Some of our group used the little sandy beach and/or beach chairs; we had a dock to get picked up from to go diving, and all the appliances were in good shape. The beds were firm, which I really like. We would stay here again, if we return. It is a nice, quiet place for friends or family. If you want the bright lights, not so much.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, get a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place was just fine for us. A nice place to relax, everyone was friendly, and there were people around that were all ages. There were 2 happy hours a day at the open air bar. The food at the restaurant was good and it was not crowded as the units have kitchens. It was easy to take a cab. There is a on-site travel agency that offers daily tours that are reasonable. If you want to go to the beach, I recommend taking the ferry to Isla Mujeres for the day or Playa Tortuga. And yes, window unit air conditioners are noisy, but I left mine off as much as possible to stay acclimated. I would definitely return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Isle, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed the serenity of this place. It was cleaned every day and has a reasonably priced restaurant at the facility. For us seniors, we would have to take a cab to ocean but cab fair in the area was about $8 for 4 of us. We took advantage of the tours that we booked on premises. Only thing I wish we had avoided were the "body snatchers" at the airport who offered us a free breakfast for touring their resort. They also offered us 4 free tickets to the Isle of Women which ended up costing us $135 for two after they charged us for the port tax, bracelet for drinking on the boat, a buffet lunch (not great) and snorkeling. I would definitely go back as we would prefer being in a quiet area rather than where all the bustle was going on. Had a very nice pool. Found two or three great restaurants off the resort. All in all a good time.

Room Tip: Because we are seniors, we chose to stay on first floor which worked out great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had read the reviews prior to going and we were well aware that others said that this hotel was out of the way and slower...but wow were we surprised! It was a ghost town. There were days when we were the only guests in sight...all day. We may have seen 12 other guests there the entire 7 days. The resort is more like an small apartment complex with a very small pool.

The negatives:

1) The place is desolate
2) You must take a taxi to do anything. $10 to $15 to go to the hotel zone or downtown. Each way.
3) The manager of the on site restaurant is a rude joke. (His mother owns it)
4) There are so few guests that they simply cancel any planned activities.
5) The rooms while nice and clean...have very outdated appliances.
6) There are wall a/c units in each room...very loud.
7) They do not provide ice for coolers etc...you must buy bags from them
8) The water in the rooms is not safe to drink and they provide you 1 large bottle of water.
9) The beds were very hard...thin mattress.
10) The bartenders at the rest. while nice - make horrible drinks with hardly any alchohol

The positives:

1) The tour staff is awesome (Especially El Ghato - The cat)
2) They keep the grounds well maintained and very clean
3) Barbara at the front desk was very nice and helpful
4) You NEVER have to get up early to save a chair at the pool

We had a few weird things happen to us like I was just getting in the shower and I saw a maint. man sitting on a ladder right outside the bathroom window looking in. The window led to an enclosed square shaft inside the middle of the building...so what was he doing in there??? We asked the front desk to call a taxi for us and 1 minute later a taxi pulled up. As we were about to enter the taxi - the front desk lady came running out to tell us that we ere not allowed to take that taxi as it wasn't the one she called for. When her taxi pulled up...we noticed that the driver had the windows down and no a/c on. The original taxi had his windows rolled up and the a/c on. We told her that we would rather go in a taxi with a/c and she told us "you are not allowed as it is against the rules". I asked her whose rules and she gave us a disgusted look and just shrugged. By then the original taxi left and we had to sweat all the way to the hotel district. We were told that they normally have a Taco party on Monday nights but that they were cancelling it due to there being so few guests. They told us that they would still allow us to have all you can eat fajitas though...for $18 a person. So we barely ate that day and went to dinner there. We were then told that the manager doesn't allow all you can eat. We asked to speak to him but he is rarely there. We still ordered the fajitas as they really are pretty good. The manager arrived just as we got our food and sat at the bar 5 feet from us and proceeded to talk about us to the bartender in Spanish. He was basically saying things like "who do they think they are" and then he was laughing saying "just ignore them". After we were done eating...we went up to him and I explained that I understood what he was saying. He then attempted to blame everyone in the world but himself. He asked if we had a problem with the front desk. He asked if we had a problem with his bartender. My wife finally told him "No - our problem is with you". He was shocked. He tried to explain that he has been the manager there for a long time - like that allowed him to talk bad about the guests. After 5 minutes trying to get him to understand that HE was the problem...and failing...he smiled and said "no problem - I will give you 10% off". We declined his so generous offer and never ate there again.

Take the Isla Mujeres catamaran trip ($70). It is an awesome value. It is a long day though.

We "tagged along" with a Tulum tour on Thursday. The tour team dropped us off in Playa Del Carmen along the way to Tulum and picked us back up on their way back...like 8 hours later. They only charged us $25 roundtrip each which is much less than a taxi would have cost us. Playa Del Carmen is an awesome town. 1 mile of cobble stone streets with shopping, bars and restaraunts. And an awesome beach.

Some awesome restaraunts:

Lorenzillos: Pricey but amazing food. Lobster House. Very romantic
Destillerria: Get the strips of steak in a volcano rock bowl. Awesome!!!

We ordered Pappa Johns 1 night and paid $45 for 2 pizzas...be warned...lol

My advice - Pay the extra $$$ and go to a larger resort. We will not be back at Coral mar.

Room Tip: Building #5 is right at the pool. The view gets better the higher up you go. There are 4 floors I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, but it's end the end of the lagoon, so you have to take a cab to get to the ocean. The pool was nice and cleaned every day. This is more of a place for older people I would say. The food was also good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were well aware that The Coral Mar was away from the Hotel zone and this is what made it special for us. That and the staff and the other vacationers we met there.
If you don't want to walk to the bus, 1.25 miles, then jump in a taxi - there is usually one at the door. For 100 pesos each way, $8 or £5 you are on the strip where the bus passes. To be honest we felt that if we could afford to be in Cancun we could afford to take the taxi when we wanted to! But many vacationers walked - it is a pleasant and safe walk.
With 7 blocks, a view over the Lagoon, beautiful clean and sparkling pool with slide for children, sandy area overlooking the lagoon (can't swim in lagoon) with plenty of loungers and palm trees all around - we were in heaven. Garden is beautifully kept.
All the staff are friendly, helpful and smart - the food at the Palapa restaurant was excellent, Mexican, freshly cooked and VERY reasonable. With 2 happy hours twice a day - 12 - 2 and 5 - 7 the bar staff including Lalu and Silver looked after us very well. Many a happy hour was spent there - LOL.
The Taco night on the Monday, was like an old fashioned, fun party and we all joined in and got to know each other well. That set the tone for the rest of the week.
The room we had in block 7 had a great view of the lagoon, was spacious and although not 'modern and glitzy' like some places was more than adequate and very well equipped. It is the first time we have ever had a large bottle of water waiting for us on our arrival, anywhere we have travelled. Maid service - excellent.
We booked some trips before we went and some through Raul. They were great.
So, if you are looking for exciting night life on your doorstep - this is perhaps not the place for you. If you are looking for a quality experience, with amazing opportunities to relax and 'vacation' this could be the place for you. The guests were mainly over 50 although there were one or two families. We loved it and look forward to going back. A warm welcome from the reception staff on arrival and a cheery goodbye - what more could you want? I hope this is a fair and accurate account - I would be happy to answer any emails if anyone has questions about the Coral Mar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mar

Address: Pok-Ta-Pok Avenue, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#32 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Coral Mar Hotel Cancun
Coral Mar Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.