We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good centrally located hotel on the strip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort to your Saves list
Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan KM 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good centrally located hotel on the strip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location, great staff and great beach. Property was small but nicely laid out. Right on the Cancun strip with easy access to other hotels and restaurants. The food was good and the room was nice. Great for the value.

Room Tip: Book your transfer and tours with Olympus Tours to avoid time shares and always book with a travel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference to Sandos Cancun, it has been a true pleasure for us to welcome you on your vacation.

All of our guests truly appreciate our location in Cancun’s main strip and privileged white sands and turquoise water beach.

We hope to see you back living another Luxury Experience at Sandos Cancun.

Kind regards,
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    493
    210
    87
    63
See reviews for
448
1,087
49
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just returned from a family vacation from Cancun. We were at Sandos from July 30-August 4, 2013, we had 2 rooms and there were 3 adults and 3 children traveling in our group. I have stayed at all inclusives all around the carribean, sometimes the food gets old and sometimes the entertainment is borning and cheesy but we did not experience that here. The food was pretty impresive, cocktails were top shelf (including shots) and the service was good. Our rooms had beautiful views of the ocean with balconies, the entire hotel in new so everything is very fresh and clean. We had cocktail service at the pool and on the beach which included lunch out there as well. They have volleyball nets, hammocks, music and motorized beach activities available. They do a great breakfast buffet and if you want a sit down lunch you can, each dinner is sit down and there are three restaurants to choose from (plenty of variety). One night a week they have a lobster and seafood buffet down at the pool (it is all light up with tiki torches) and one night they have a champagne party on the roof top with a DJ and dancing. They have a beautiful bar/lounge that is open til 2am and room service 24/7. Mini fridge in the rooms are always full. The staff inside the hotel are friendly and ready to help. The entire hotel is decorated beautiful!

With that said there are a couple things to point out.....YOU MUST TIP! it is an all inclusive and all but if you don't tip out by the pool you will not get service, especially down at the beach. We tipped but a few times I forgot my cash or ran out of small bills and I was snarled at big time or totally ignored. We tipped a few dollars a round and also left money at dinners. I travel through Mexico alot too and Cancun is definitely a place you must change your money over, before you get to your destination and bring alot of small bills. There is a huge language barrier with the pool and bar staff, keep it basic or brush up on your Spanish, seriously we had a hard time with ordering (even standard things on the menu were difficult) at times. Also, all non-motorized sports that the hotel provides in the all inclusive package are not in front of the resort, it is all set up down the street on the harbor side. You need to catch a taxi to get down there or the bus, TOTAL BUMMER!!! That part was not cool with our kids or us. They have poolside cabanas but they are reserved only for customers staying in the suites, so you can not get one ever (not even buy) unless you bump up to the big rooms.

We celebrated a birthday while we were there and the staff decorated our room, sent up a cake with a nice bottle of champagne and put rose petals everywhere. We felt safe and at NO time had a problem with anyone. Every night in the Summer large sea turtles come to shore to lay their eggs. We went out there til 1am on most nights with tourists and locals and felt like we were at home. Even with our kids, it was a safe environment. The locals there take care of their hometown and I loved that! I would go back to Sandos in a heart beat.

Room Tip: It appears that the rooms are all the same inside, some face East and some West all with ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancun for your summer vacation. We are glad to know that you could enjoy of a memorable stay with your family.

Our high end All Inlcusive features a full bar of premium international spirits, cocktails, wines and beer.

At Sandos Hotels & Resorts, we are committed with the environment and we take actions for its care. Therefore, we protect the Sea Turtle, helping them on the egg laying season, protecting their nests and releasing them to ocean when they are born. A truly amazing experience that we share with our guests.

On behalf of all of our staff, I would like to extend my sincere apologies if part of our staff made you live uncomfortable moments asking you for a gratuity, be sure that here at Sandos Cancun we do not promote this kind of behavior, we will take immediate actions to avoid these inconveniences with further guests.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome you back on your next family vacation.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is so boring place to stay especially at night time. The hotel is like a ghost town. Does not have enough amenities for the guest to enjoy.

The staff overall have a very poor customer service especially the concierge service. The front desk guy named Luis is so rude and arrogant. He got mad at us because we refused to attend to his presentation. One time that we approach him with our problems, he insulted us instead of helping us.

Overall, the package is not worth spending for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you to share with us your feedback about your recent stay at the Resort.

I would like to extend my deepest apologies for the uncomfortable moments lived at Sandos Cancun, as well to thank you for bring them to my attention, so we can take actions on this matter.

We hope we could have the opportunity to welcome you back to provide you the real Luxury Experience of Sandos Cancun.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My DW and I just returned from Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort (there from Sun 08-11-13 thru Thurs 08-15-13), celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and we were both BLOWN AWAY! As the word in the resort title says, the Sandos was true Luxury. The suite we had on the 8th floor was very well appointed in purples and greys and the bathroom as well as the 2 rooms(living and bedroom areas) had marble tile all throughout. The view we had from suite 801 was grand as we could see the pools and beach and Caribbean Sea to our left and the lagoon to our right. Now it is true that there are huge air conditioning units down below us that make ALOT of loud noise but usually it is lowered to a modest hum when the balcony doors are closed and the drapes are drawn for sleeping. After awhile, in the day, if you sat out on the balcony for a long time it would become irritating but with the beautiful view it was not horrible, and besides who comes to Cancun to sit on the balcony??? Since all food and drink was included, after a few drinks or glasses of wine, I hardly noticed anyway(LOL)...you can also ask for room on the side of the building closest to seaside.
From the moment we arrived we were treated well, from the greeting rose given to my DW to the glass of champagne we were handed along with warm towels, to clean us from the journey to the resort. EVERYONE we came in contact with from the Doorman to the Concierge, the wait staff, the bartenders, the servers, EVERYONE, ALWAYS HAD A WARM SMILE ON THEIR FACES AND A GREETING OF BUENOS DIAS-TARDES-NOCHES on their lips.
I'd like to mention Gilmer at the St Trop restaurant and bar service and ESPECIALLY, as many here have previously stated in their reviews, ERIKA and JORGE at the Seasons restaurant. Erika is a REAL SWEETHEART and so pleasant and smiling all the time. OUR last night there was my DW's and my anniversary and she really made it special with a warm greeting and rose pedals on our table and a goodbye and best wishes dessert with a special message written out in chocolate. Now I hate to disagree with a previous reviewer but Sandos did mention our anniversary in their daily news/activity letter(tho 2 days early...LOL), and housekeeping did, on 2 different nights, make lovely towel swans kissing and within a big towel heart with rose pedals all around it, and that was LOVELY!!!
Jorge was just wonderful too as he seemed to take great pride in the meals he was presenting, not just serving. He described everything in detail of what he was serving and on our last night they introduced Chef Francisco to us...a YOUNG man whom any popular restaurant in the world or on a cruise ship would love to employ. BTW, my DW and I have been on 26 cruises including 3 TRANSATLANTICS and we both say the food throughout the 4 days @ Sandos would generally rival anyone of them with the exception of lunch at St Trops which was a little lacking in choices and imagination but considering it was a poolside/beachside restaurant, was I guess appropos for lunch. The japanese restaurant with the "Benihana restaurant" like grilling show and presentation was TOP-NOTCH! and the buffet breakfast each morning was truly a pleasant surprise and delight serving both Mexican food and breakfast fare, including lox, all kinds or cereals(hot and cold) and meats and cheeses and breads and desserts! Even champagne and liquor with OJ for mimosas and tomatoe juice for bloody marys.
We generally will only sail in balcony cabins and this suite rivaled or exceeded them. The living area had a sink and refrigerator that was stocked with various beers and sodas. The main area of my disappointments did stem from housekeeping who tho i've read here comes in twice a day for servicing, seemed to have forgotten us. Several days I had to call or go to the front desk to complain that housekeeping never got to our room to clean or to turn down beds. THIS WAS MY MAJOR COMPLAINT but when we did call or go to the front desk they DID REMEDY the problem QUICKLY and someone was soon there to clean/turn down beds.
The only other disappointment I had was that the site I booked through said that my reservations included luxury lobster, a luxury spa package, a luxury cocktail party and more and we GOT NONE OF THEM!!! We stayed Sunday thru Thursday and was told all these things occurred either when the hotel was more full(it was at best it seemed 50% full) or on nights Thursday night(we left in the afternoon) or on Friday or Saturday night. THIS WAS MY ONLY OTHER DISAPPOINTMENT..that I didn't get what was promised through the booking website, but this did not detract the hotel's EXCELLENT in our opinion, rating.
In closing, thankfully, my DW and I have cruised the caribbean MANY times and we were getting tired of the usual Cozumel-Belize-St Thomas-Jamaica visits so we decided to try our first All-Inclusive stay and boy were we PLEASANTLY SURPRISED by not only with SANDOS and its staff but also by the GOOD PEOPLE OF CANCUN!! everyone was so pleasant and hospitable. We took buses to the different shopping areas and the buses ran OFTEN and CONTINUAL. er.. not ran..more LIKE FLEW, HOLY COW those bus drivers drive FAST!!! and they all did their best in our broken Spanish their broken English try to communicate. We saw no graffitti anywhere nor panhandlers or homeless or stray animals anywhere and ALWAYS felt SAFE! One down note tho. We had never flown into and out of Mexico before so we were SURPRISED by the LENGTH of time (over an HOUR and a HALF) to get through MEXICAN customs and Immigration INTO Mexico. I figured coming back into The STATES would be bad and IT WAS, but going INTO MEXICO..really??
A few other notes. We flew Spirit air for the first time, into Mexico and Home, and both flights left ON TIME and without a hitch. Also i shout out to CHEAPTICKETS.com thru whom i booked the entire vacation package thru and all turned out WONDERFULLY!!! The flight, resort, et al (except for not getting the luxury perks i was told would be included at Sandos.) and also KUDOS to the transportation company my DW booked to go from and back to the airport,
HAPPY SHUTTLES.com as They were waiting for us with our name sign in hand and van ready upon arrival to Cancun to a prompt pickup from Sandos to the airport all done by polite and friendly drivers!
Tho my DW and I LOVE TO CRUISE, with 2 more so far planned, we were PLEASANTLY and TOTALLY BLOWN AWAY by the PEOPLE of CANCUN and our stay at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort!!!
P.S.: don't worry about the lack of evening things to do at Sandos. Just do like I did. Drink a little too much (thanks bartenders) or have Jorge keep filling your wine glass at dinner and you'll be FAST ASLEEP by 10PM(LOL)
PSS.: another great thing about Sandos is that there is a Farmacia right across the street so if you need antibiotics as my DW did cuz she was a bit ill but was a trouper doing everything nonetheless, or you perhaps ran out of your Viagra, (LMFAO), there is HELP RIGHT NEARBY!!

Room Tip: Our Suite 801 was wonderful. rooms nearest the Sea would be quieter, I would imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would personally like to thank you for choosing Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort for your vacation in August 2013. It was a pleasure for me and my team to serve you throughout your stay and we hope you very much enjoyed all the new restaurants we had to offer. We have all worked hard over the past year to develop a unique gastronomical experience unparalleled to any other.

As the first hotel in a line of new concepts developed by Sandos, the RED line of Luxury Experience Resorts pioneered by Sandos Cancun offers the “ Total Gourmet Experience” where you can try different Gourmet food every day and night of the week in sophisticated and modern atmospheres.

We appreciate you to share with us your feedback and pointing some opportunity which be sure we will be working on in order to ensure our guest total satisfaction.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome you at Sandos Cancun and this next time exceed your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact me before your arrival for any assistance, you can write to the email: webrelations.cancun@sandos.com

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at Sandos (Aug 5th - 8th) We don't like to stay in All inclusives because it's not our type of thing, but we decided to give it a chance.

I'll start with the worse:

For a honeymooner, the details count. And in Sandos we didn't find any, even if they knew in what kind of trip we were. No flowers, no wine bottle, no sign in their daily announcements, no special cake in the Seasons restaurant. Nothing. Before staying in Sandos we stayed in Privilege Aluxes in Isla Mujeres and they did the whole thing for us (without extra charges), so it was disappointing, especially for me. If you're planning to go for your honeymoon and you care about these things, don't stay there.

The service in the pool area and beach is terrible. If you're going to tip them, they will have a good service. If not, they're going to forget your drinks. The last morning we stayed there a waiter took an order for another guest, and when I called him he said he was not allowed to serve drinks in that area. Two minutes later, he was receiving his tip from this other guest and getting him drinks... They can't say it was so crowded they couldn't handle all the work, the hotel was at 50% of its cappacity. (Look for Eder and Luis, they were the nicest people there)

The best:

If you're going for the food, do it. The food is excellent. I am not going to repeat what all travelers are saying, the 3 restaurants, Seasons, Gaijin, and Zango are excellent, the service in this last one is great We forgot a lot of the names, but Carolina, Jairo, the whole staff there is awesome. Outstanding service.

We got to have dinner at Gaijin, Miguel went the whole 9 yards in his show. All the waiters, nice and attentive. From Seasons, we remember Jorge and Erika, the hostess, they really know what their jobs are about.

The drinks in the Bar one are really good. We forgot the DJ's name who plays some music in the middle of one of the pools, he's nice too.

Sandos is going in the right direction, but they really need to improve the areas I mentioned. In a hotel that calls itself a Luxury resort, they're still a little far from that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We are just impresed of everything....The service,the rooms,the cleanleness....everything was great...We wanna say a big thank you to Viveros, Alejandro, Amilcar from pool and restaurant, great service guys...We'll gonna be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Sandos Cancun and for taking the time to share your Luxury Experience with us.

All of your kind words for our staff are very motivational and helpful for us, we truly appreciate your acknowledgement for our hard work.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome you back at your new home in Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed there 7/3/13 - 7/8/13. They have the best customer service, the food was amazing and the pool was perfect! We didn't get the king size bed or a balcony, but it's ok. I highly recommend the 80 minute couples massages before you leave. If you're looking to relax and slow down a bit from the hectic life back home, I would come here. This is not a hotel to party as the pools generally close early. The only issue we had was with the AquaWorld representatives by the pool.

Thank you Osiriz, Alejandro, Norma at the concierge! Thank you Cassanova and Lorenzo at St. Trop for always finding us the Grey Goose! Special thank you to our compa Mario in Zango for making breakfast every morning that much more entertaining and also looking out for us when we drank too much! Extra special thank you to Erick for setting up a beautiful breakfast by the beach on our last day (he called us his WestCoast LA friends). Hope to see you all in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, we also appreciate you to share with us your Luxury Experience in our Resort.

We are very pleased to know that your experience at Spa del Mar was indulgent and relaxing. The general atmosphere of the Resort invites to relaxation and to treat yourself surrounded by comfortable facilities and of course, the greatness of the Caribbean.

It’s an honor for us that you recommend our Resort, as this is the best reward to our service. We will be more than glad to welcome you again.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan KM 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.