We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice vacation, depending what you are looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan KM 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“nice vacation, depending what you are looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

went to this hotel with ideas of wanting total relaxation and luxury experience.
hotel was fairly quiet, not many people there, which was nice.. no long waits for service at restaurants or for poolside service. food was very good but not 5 star. service was excellent and hotel staff was very attentive. we had a suite which was really beautiful.
whats left to be desired - more activities during day and night.. the evenings were pretty quiet at the hotel, a little boring to be honest...not much going on at all, but this may be appealing to some. also, there were few activities for kids, would have been great if kids club was bigger and more organized.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, we appreciate you to take the time to provide us with your feedback.

All of your comments are very valuable for us, we appreciate your suggestions and we will take them into consideration in order to improve our service. Please accept my apologies if we couldn’t reach to your expectation on this stay.

We will be grateful if we have the opportunity to show you our improvements and make you next stay a real Luxury Experience.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    824
    238
    92
    32
    22
See reviews for
274
628
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

i stayed with my wife in this hotel and was pleasently surprised by this small boutique hotel. We loved every moment of it. We needed really a time out of our hectic life and where mainly driven by good comentaries on expedia and trip.

Rooms are spacious and have a beautifull view over the caribbean sea. What a dream to wake up and open your curtains and be dazzled by this fantastic view.

The restaurants are just great ! Very nice decorated in modern style and the presentation of the food deserves a medal. Everyday they have a different theme; like for exemple on friday we had thai a la carte lunch in the Zango restaurant. I believe that all restaurants are a la carte.
Also on friday the hotel direction invited us at the lobby bar with live jazz / boss nova style music and Moet Chandon champagn and canapés. What a treat.

I like the way to pampered us as guest and we really totally relaxed. It´s a small hotel in the hotelzone of Cancun and that was one of the reasons that whe choose this hotel because we really have had it with huge AI resorts where we have to line up at the buffet and fight for a place at the pool or beach and for me particular i dont like huge crowded places. Makes me nervous.

One of the thing i liked the most was the pool area and the spa ! Also the staff was very friendly. Special thinks to Karmen at the lobby and Jesus in the Zango ! Really nice people.

Overall a really nice treat for a few days to get away from it all and just enjoy relaxing and great food !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your Luxury Experience at Sandos Cancún, we believe that this comments will be helpful for our further guests as they were for you.

We are very glad to know that in addition of our Total Gourmet Experience you truly enjoyed of our modern décor and furniture at Zango. Here at Sandos Cancún all the Managers we love to share and know our guests experiences at the Resort, so we can ensure your satisfaction, therefore we have a Champagne Party with live music, our best selection of appetizers, raffles, prizes and the most important, personal contact with the guests.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future for another pampered, relaxing and excellent vacation experience at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

i spent a week at sandos with my husband and 2 children over spring break. we had a wonderful time. our room was large, comfortable and very clean. the food was much better than any other all-inclusives we have ever stayed at. be prepared to be very tempted by the selection of sweets and cookies at breakfast.

most of all, the staff was extremely kind and helpful. every morning at breakfast Irving treated us like we were family. he had our drink orders ready and greeted us with a warm welcome and a huge smile. his good mood was contagious and it was a perfect way to start the day.

the meal at the japanese restaurant was exceptional. and our kids enjoyed the show.

The pools were lovely. The staff around the pool and beach were very accessible and helpful. There were daily fun games of beach and pool volleyball that my kids loved.

The Spa is incredible with wonderful, reasonably priced spa treatments.

Overall, the experience was great and i would highly recommend the hotel for a a nice Cancun vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your recent stay at Sandos Cancún.

We are delighted to know that you and your family could enjoy of a comfortable stay and funny vacation. We also appreciate your kind words and gratitude to our staff that attended you and made you live a Luxury Experience during your stay.

It is an honor to have your recommendation, hoping to welcome you back for another memorable vacation at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Not being very familiar with the Sandos brand, I was not completely sure what to expect. After visiting it, all I can say is WOW!!!!! First, the location is prime for the Cancun hotel zone. With the layout of the resort, the rooms really have a fantastic view, whether a view of the ocean or the lagoon. With a nice, quiet atmosphere, the resort is in fact family-friendly but it definitely does not cater to children. The beach was beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, and even the entry level rooms are very large. The spa is outstanding. The food was delicious- I am not a huge fan of any buffets. But their breakfast buffet was presented beautifully and just looked so appealing! All in all, you will likely not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún. We are very glad to know that we were good ambassadors of Sandos Hotels & Resorts.

All of our rooms have partial view to the beautiful sunrises in the Caribbean Sea and stunning sunsets over the Lagoon that makes you rest more comfortable enjoying these views.

We hope to welcome you again for another great vacation at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 40th anniversary, and our kids found this amazing hotel for us because they wanted us to have time with each other without having to worry about anything else. Of course we thought that they were paying us back for being overly protective of them, but "WOW"!!! I never expected a place like this, with this amazing staff: talented, genuinely friendly, and without exception proud of their jobs and their facility. We were not only taken care of with great service - we were made comfortable in a way that made us feel at home. Except that home doesn't have such great food, great beach and pools, and great views from our bedroom balcony!

And don't miss the gourmet fusion cuisine at their Seasons restaurant!

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are available. Get a room with a balcony if you can-every one has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sandos Cancún. We are very glad that your kids picked us to host you and pamper you on your Anniversary and to know that we could honor their choice making you feel like home.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome you again for your 41st. Anniversary to celebrate with your family in your home in Cancún, Sandos.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros: Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids ages 11,13,15) spent 8 days at Sandos Cancun in March. Absolutely beautiful resort! We had a Caribe suite and the view was stunning! The pools were fabulous and the beach was well kept. The staff and entertainment team were top notch. A special thanks to Alfonso, Ricardo, and Maricio for keeping the days busy. We enjoyed the water aerobics, yoga, darts, and volleyball. You will have to catch "minute to win it" in the evening. Every day we had a special cooking instruction and sampling. The pizza making was fun. St. Trop staff, Reyes, Cassanova and Ivan were the best! We never had any trouble with chairs at the beach or pool. We also ate at the tepenyaki two times because the food was so good. As for breakfast at Zango, the buffet was tremendous and the staff, Karina, Mario and Oscar, had gotten to know us so well that they knew exactly what we preferred for seating and drinks. In the evening, Jesus and Arturo made Zango enjoyable. The food was never a disappointment..We enjoyed hanging out at Bar one in the early evening where Victor and Samuel took good care of us. You will have to ask Victor to do his special coffee drink at the Seasons restaurant. Alfredo in the lobby was very friendly and took good care of us. We did take a tour of Isla Muerjas through Juan with AquaWorld and had a good time (food and drink on island not good). The workers on the boat were very funny and they had good music. Cons: tennis courts under construction, misunderstanding with front desk reservation-they resolved, shadow over pool after 3pm- just move to beach, a few nights of some construction sounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of Sandos Cancún, allow me to thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our entertainment activities on the poll and beach area as well as our night entertainment with a different variety every night.

All of your nice words for our staff are truly appreciated as these kinds of comments are very helpful and motivational.

We will be more than glad to welcome you with your family on your next vacation.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

my wife and i just came back from a 5 day stay at the sandos. OVERALL it was an excellent experience. Everything was great and i would give 5 stars to everything but the value (because it was expensive to stay) and the service (due to the large amounts of guests on the beach/pool they really couldnt service everyone frequently unless they doubled their staff). But the service from the bellhop and to the waiters (especially victor in the seasons restaurant- the most professional waiter ive met on vacation) and to the front desk i thought was excellent (besides the previous sentence). My wife enjoyed the zumba and yoga classes and spa. If you are a partaaaa-ier then this is not the best place to stay, if you are looking for rest peace and relaxation and then is the place for you. PLEASE NOTE: the japanese restaurant is hibachi and requires a couples hrs of notification. there is a monopoly on cabs there and as SOON as you leave the baggage area you WILL be hounded by 20 different ppl that work at the same company ($16/person one way, you get 50% off on your way back so we paid 32 + 16=48 total). if you can get a better deal before landing i would suggest doing that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sandos Cancún, it has been a pleasure to welcome you and your wife.

We are delighted to know that you could enjoy of a peaceful and relaxing vacation taking advantage of our yoga and zumba classes available for all of our guests as well as indulging at Spa del Mar.

We hope to see you back for another Luxury Experience at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan KM 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.