We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan KM 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Cancun
Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a great time at Sandos Cancun. The staff is the friendliest and most helpful in all my years of travel. There is a breakfast buffet that will spoil you -- nonstop champagne, lox, every fruit, pastries, Mexican options, custom omelet station, etc. The food is wonderful. All serving staff members were genuinely friendly. At the risk of omitting someone, I do have to mention Martin, Jesus, Jesus Apollo, Raul, and Oscar. Wish I could take them home! At Seasons restaurant be sure to ask for "Tony's coffee," elegantly served by Antonio himself. Plenty of pool towels and beach chairs, made more pleasant by Victor's friendly service. Our room did have 3 minor problems, but they were fixed in a timely manner. The two negatives I have are: the hot tub wasn't hot enough, and the ocean was too rough if you're not a strong swimmer (but this is true of every hotel on Cancun's beach). The spa massage was delightful. Go here before too many more people find out about it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you to share your feedback, it is really important for us to know our guest’s perception of our service.

All of our guests truly enjoy our breakfast buffet with a large variety of dishes and stations to satisfy any palate with chef’s at every station ensuring that everything be fresh and top notch.

We appreciate your kind comments for our staff, we are very pleased to know that the level of service was up to your standards.

Your suggestions are very appreciated and we will be working on it.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future for another awesome experience at Sandos Cancún.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    455
    193
    81
    56
See reviews for
421
999
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at Sandos Cancun. If you like luxury,being spoiled and treated like a VIP then Sandos Cancun is the place to go. Have to acknowledge the royal Elite team...Toni, Carlos and Luis your the best at what you do. From the moment we crossed the threshold into luxury there was no such thing as...I have a problem! You made sure everything was perfect. Carlos...the champagne was great and the red roses in our room was a nice added touch. Our room was spacious and very clean with a beautiful view of the ocean and swimming pools.
Although there were only 4 restaurants, there was never any waiting and the food was terrific. Make sure to go to the breakfast buffet....it was absolutely incredible. Hint...don't waste your time with toast.
A special Thank You to Ithiel. Even when we were unable to attend a special meal at Zangos Ithiel made arrangements for us to have the same meal at our convenience. Ithiel you must be proud of your staff. Our servers, Alberto and Orturo were the very best. At one point I thought they were our private waiters, our wine glasses never had a chance to get past half. Alberto your specialty coffee was quite flamboyant.
We spent most of our time at St Trop restaurant by the pool and the ocean. The food was very good with lots of variety. To the boys Ivan, Engel and Caesor you are all # 1. We were never without a drink or something to eat even when we were way down by the ocean and we didn't even have to order....the service was the best. Engel thank you for the carved pineapple drinks...loretta loved them...(they are on facebook)
Martina Rodriguez (director).You must have a great job. I cant imagine too many complaints coming across your desk. Your staff are excellent and so helpful, always taking care of every little detail, it has to be the cleanest resort we have ever been to. i would also like to thank you for allowing Riccardo to take us into the market 28....it was good. Your entertainment team...Alphonso Riccardo and Mauricio are the best... always planning activities and keeping us entertained. Loretta really misses them...(I'm still waiting for my horseshoe trophy).
Also Samuel and Monolo.....great Superbowl party.
We hated to leave and cant wait to return.
Thank you so much!
Samuel and Loretta

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, Director General at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Samuel and Loretta,

Thank you so much for staying at Sandos Cancún and sharing your Luxury Experience at the Resort.

We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay, enjoying the facilities, service and our Total Gourmet Experience specially at St. Trop our snack bar by the pool that offers a large variety of gourmet snacks and cocktails with service all over the pool and beach area for your better comfort.

It is a true pleasure to know that the personalized and detailed attention from our staff made your stay special, I take pride for my staff as I know that they have a true vocation to service and work hard to make feel like home to all of our guests.

Do not hesitate to come back to Sandos Cancún to enjoy again our distinguished service for a great vacation.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensboro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment that I walked in the door I was treated like royalty...champagne and a rose..
After getting into our room it was everything that I had remembered...my husband and I have stayed at this hotel for the past 10 yrs and was a little uncertain about the buy out but since we loved it so much we wanted to go back and see what all had changed..It was also our first time at an all inclusive...lets say Sandos didn't disappoint.
Each morning at Zango we had an amazing breakfast...everything you could possibly imagine and the service was great...thanks to Alexandry, Irving, and Jonthan..these guys were amazing catering to our every need or want.
Each evening was just as great...the service at Seasons went above and beyond thanks to Luis...the food was wonderful and if you go make sure you order the steak!
I loved this hotel and look forward to my next visit...and I'm sold on the all inclusive!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sandos Cancún. We are delighted to know that we could live up to your standards and your first All Inclusive turned into a Luxury Experience.

Here at Sandos Cancún our guests are our royalty, the treatment for each of you is detailed and personalized.

Wit will be our true pleasure to welcome you again at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family stayed at the Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort during the week of Thanksgiving, 2012. Definitely the best all-inclusive hotel we've been to in the Cancun area. Everyone that worked there was extremely friendly (as were the other guests), the food was awesome, and the beach activities were non-stop. Volleyball and water aerobics were quite popular at this resort. The breakfast buffet at Zango's was to-die for, and the Japanese Restaurant was amazing! There were two other restaurants (including the one adjacent the pool and beach). They had a very nice spa, and the gym was more than adequate. There also was a nice Kids Club that our son enjoyed. The location in Cancun is perfect! We still talk about this vacation, and our 6-year old son wants to go back so he can play volleyball with the big boys again! We would definitely return to this hotel, and I rarely say that about any hotel.

Danny from Leesburg, VA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, it is a true pleasure to know that you had a memorable Thanksgiving at the Resort.

The ambiance at the hotel is for relaxing and chilling but we have an entertainment team making activities during the daytime such as beach football, volleyball, water exercise, water volleyball, cooking classes to keep fun and entertained our guests.

It will be an honor to have you back at Sandos Cancún for another great family vacation.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at Sandos Cancun this month.
We had a wonderful stay. We have been visiting this location for 10 years;
this was our first stay since the change from Le Meridien to Sandos.

The location is wonderful.
The property and our room were luxurious and comfortable.
The beach is the best that we have ever seen.

The restaurants served us wonderful food.
So, why the title "Choosing excellence"?

In short, the staff.
The staff had opportunities every day to be either very good, or excellent.
Every time, they chose to be excellent.

While the breakfast buffet was truly wonderful, it was the staff that made it a memorable experience (When was the last time that you had a breakfast that was a memorable experience?).
Each morning, the manager, Monserrat C. met us with a warm and friendly smile.
At breakfast, we were served by a truly wonderful trio:
Alexandry "El Guapo",
Irving "El Gigante",
and Jonathan "El Viejo".
These guys were just wonderful. They didn't just provide wonderful and attentive service, they went above and beyond and were gracious, warm, friendly (and very funny). They made us feel welcome and made us laugh every morning. Our glasses were never empty, our table was always spotless, and they made us feel welcome (and made us special breakfast coffee concoctions). Another gentleman we met at breakfast was Jesus ("el Abuelo"). He was wonderful as well (they all chose excellence).

On to the beach.
Victor at the beach was extremely attentive and considerate. He made sure that we had everything that we needed (towels, chairs, and umbellas). After doing everything imaginable for us (very good), he stayed and chatted, gave us useful tips, and would check back on us to be sure that everything was perfect (he chose exellence). The beach "entertainment staff" (two very nice young men) were very friendly and welcoming (I think that my wife thought that they were also very good-looking).

At lunch (and service on the beach), we were cared for by Santiago (and Erick). Both of these gentleman were professional, attentive, courteous, and pleasant. Another example of chosing excellence was that Santiago didn't just bring us water, he brought us bottled water in an ice bucket. In addition, he would come back at regular intervals to see if there was anything else that he could do for us.

For dinner, we had the wonderful experience of dining at "Seasons". Once for Mexican night, and 3 times for the "Avant Garde" cuisine. Luis was warm, friendly,professional, and attentive.
One night, he somehow guessed that we ordered something that we might not enjoy (Mexican night chicken mole) and brought us an extra plate of a shrimp salad. The amazing thing was that he did this without even it being requested. We had wonderful salads, awesome soups, and dinners that were among the best that we have ever had (Surf-and-Turf was delicious lobster tail and a perfect filet). Our filets were amazing (they were so good that I suspect that they were from Argentina, because we've never had steaks that good from the US).
Luis made us feel very welcome and did a terrific job as a waiter. One day that we dined at Seasons, (Feb 3), Luis was having a day off. The waiter that took care of us was also friendly and did a perfect job (I apolgise for not remembering his name). Every time that the dinner staff had the choice of being very good or excellent, they chose excellence.

OK, now the fitness center. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. I couldn't ask for more.

Our room. Probably because of the season, the hotel was not full, so they gave us an upgrade to a room with a balcony. Each morning, the housekeepers did an absolutely perfect job of cleaning and restocking the room. Our room was spotless and comfortable.
One day, I went back to the room while the housekeeper was there. He had moved the bed out and was cleaning under the bed. That is just above and beyond the call of duty. I would have never imagined that the staff was working so hard in the middle of what was a very short stay. Each evening, the housekeeping staff came by and cleaned the room again, turned down the bed, and restocked the towels. The houskeeping staff was not just very good, they were excellent.

Some of the reviews that we had read mentioned the concierge staff. We found them to be very pleasant and helpful. We did not feel even the slightest pressure to participate in anything that we did not desire.

We came to this resort with very high expectations, because Le Meridien was very, very nice.
What we experienced was that our expectations were exceded every step of the way.
I cannot imagine a better experience. The staff chose excellence every time (even when "very good" would have been easier).

We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún and for giving us the opportunity to attend you on your Holidays. Your feedback has been very motivational and touching for us.

We are more than pleased to know that we could exceed your expectations experiencing an excellent, personalized and distinguished service.

On behalf of all the staff of Sandos Cancún we want to thank you for your wonderful comments, this motivates and encourages us to keep choosing excellence and giving the best of ourselves four our guests to make a real Luxury Experience.

We will be more than glad to welcome you again to provide you another memorable stay at your home in Cancún, Sandos.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 days at the beginning of February, 2013. The front desk staff greeted us with glasses of champagne and a rose for me. They were very courteous and helpful, as were all staff we encountered. Our room was spacious and very clean, with a mini fridge that was stocked daily with soft drinks, water, beer, and M & M's. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed on the 4th floor and our balcony had a wonderful view of the pools and ocean. It wasn't ocean front, but was the next best thing! We especially enjoyed our waiters in the Zango restaurant: Alex, Jonathan, Irving, and Jesus. They were eager to make our dining experience a pleasant one and we enjoyed getting to know them . The food was excellent and beautifully presented in both the Zango restaurant and in the Seasons. These are not buffets - you must order from the menu for lunch and dinner. For breakfast, Zango's served a daily breakfast buffet that was fantastic. The restaurant by the pools was limited in food choices, but their cheeseburger was very good. Our only complaint is the hours of the three restaurants (2 inside and 1 outside) was limited, and the fourth restaurant was strictly Japanese cuisine and only open certain evenings. To be fair, we were able to order from room service whenever we wanted, and again, the food was very good. The beach and pool areas were clean and well maintained and we had our choice of beach beds or chairs with umbrellas, as the resort appeared only about 1/4 occupied during our stay. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, I am very glad to read that your stay with us from the beginning to the end was a real Luxury Experience.

Sandos Cancún is a beautiful property with first class facilities that provide the best comfort. All of our rooms have flat TV’s, mini fridge, safety box, slippers, bathrobes and bathroom amenities.

In our Total Gourmet Experience we have 3 a la carte restaurants and 1 show cooking, every dinner at the resort is a unique dining experience.

Please let us know before your arrival and we will be pleased to attend you for another great stay at Sandos Cancún.

KJind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is definately the best All Inclusive resort I have ever been to. Everything about ths hotel was brilliant including the staff, F & B, entertainment and facilities.

We stayed for 12 nights and we did not want to leave. We're still speaking about this trip yet. Can't wait to return.

Thank you to everyone at Sandos for making our holiday perfect!

Room Tip: Higher floored rooms offer a beautiful view of the many colours of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Sandos Cancún. We are very glad to know that you truly enjoyed of our facilities, Food & Beverages Selection.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in a near future for another perfect holiday at Sandos Cancún.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan KM 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.