We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Northborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a private club - a timeshare. It was the first one authorized and built in Cancun in the 1970s, and is still the best. You would never know it is 35 years old; it looks new except for the amazing gardens and plantings that have matured over time. The maintenance is incredible. This is one of the few places that remained opened and unscathed by the hurricanes in the past.
Because this is a private club, it is NOT a hotel. Many owners come for 3-5 weeks. About half the units are privately owned, with the many of the rest rented by owners of other Royal Resorts or members that wish to be there longer than their time shares. As a result it is a family friendly place where many of the owners know each other from the past 30 plus years and greet new visitors warmly to their secret vacation spot.
Because of the way it is built it seems much smaller and cozier than its actual size. There are two pools - one especially for kids that toddlers can walk around in a large part of. The beach is on the protected North side of Cancun so does not have big waves and has a shallow slope that is great for kids.
B units have two bedrooms, kitchen, living area, deck and one bathroom. C units have two floors with a second bathroom and second balcony.
It is changing to all inclusive for renters in April or May. Owners are not thrilled about this as the units have their own kitchens and most of us enjoy the great restaurants in downtown Cancun. The addition of all inclusive to the other Royal Resorts has been met with mixed reviews so far.
This place is a close walk to the ferry to Isla Mujers - a quaint island just off the coast and is closer to the downtown than other Hotel Zone hotels. Local bus service is less than $1 and goes everywhere.
Be careful of high pressure sales pitches if you rent. The Royal Resorts' new finance staff (there are several time share properties in Cancun and Playa del Carmen) is all about sales and boasts of its knowledge of the hotel business. Unfortunately, the Director of Sales seems to know nothing about this club (Royal Cancun, aka Club Internationale and VCI or Vacation Club International) and has been caught in lies to the owners. If you are not interested in buying but just want an amazing vacation that you will not forget, tell them up front that you are not buying. If you are interested in buying (I encourage it if you want a fantastic vacation with friends every year), talk to some owners first. They will be honest with you and know the properties so much better than the short term sales people. The concierge are worthless - few have been there more than a few months. If you want information about the area, the resort or restaurants, just ask any owners sitting around the pool or beach. The Thomas Moore desk is great for trips to various local attractions. Just don't waste your time with the concierge staff EXCEPT Gaby, who will ensure dinner reservations for you; she sits just inside the concierge office by the small store.

Room Tip: Room locations don't matter much. C units have two bathrooms which is nice. Lagoon units overs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    266
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
456
273
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabattus, Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

my wife and i just returned from cancun where we stayed at the royal,the resort is older but its a nice ,quiet location .we enjoyed the room it was very good for what we needed..the maid service was awesome,the front desk people were extremely helpful,the entire staff does a great job making your stay at the royal very nice,on the down side we usually do the time share tour which we did the the royal sands was nice,the sales person heidi we were given was very nice but the austrailian fellow heidis boss on the other hand was rude, obnoxious, pushy and condesending ,i dont knoew how they get such high marks they claim they get from their customers,overall it was a fun place to stay and the staff at the royal are awesome.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was such a great hotel. They were very accommodating to our multiple guests. The staff was friendly and very helpful when we wanted to make reservations at restaurants, and the rooms were clean and beautiful. My only complaint would be that the ocean is very shallow and filled with seaweed. The beach is nice but small, and the guests mostly range in the senior category. But young families seem to enjoy it. With frequent shuttles to their other locations, we got to experience other beaches and facilities which was wonderful. I would recommend for a more quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very pleasant stay at the the Royal Cancun. We had the two bedroom condo. It was well stocked with dishes, silverware, pans,etc. The condo was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The grounds and beach are very well kept.The staff is very friendly and helpful. The resort is located in the northern area of the hotel zone which is a bit more quieter area. About the only complaint I would have is that they are constantly bugging you to attend a timeshare presentation. The food and drinks are a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have been doing an annual girls trip to Mexico for 10 years. This was our 2nd time at The Royal Cancun. We love the laid back feel of this resort. The pools and the beach can't be beat! The staff is great. Always helpful! The beds are the best we have had in Mexico, so comfortable. The restaurant is wonderful and has lots of good choices. Easy to catch a bus or taxi. They have a free shuttle to other Royal resorts which is a nice service. We hope to be able to come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My parents have been coming here for 18+ years and own a space with two other families. I have stayed here twice (two other times at other Royal resorts) and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The staff knows us and as a young, single woman I would have no problem staying here by myself because I know they would take care of me and watch out for me. The resort is small so the vibe is more comfortable and intimate. You can go and visit the Royal Sands during the day for the energy and the ocean view and then come back to the lagoon side for more tranquility. We also are very adamant on eating local foods and trying out all the top restaurants here on TripAdvisor but when we just can't seem to pry ourselves from our beach chair we are rarely disappointed in the food! I could live off the chicken lime soup and ceviche every day for the rest of my life! (Maybe a burger and some pineapple chicken salad though, just to mix it up!) The Royal Cancun is my definition of paradise and home and I can hardly wait until I am back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had only visited the Royal Cancun for lunch in previous years and never considered staying there until this year when we rented an extra week and availability was at the Royal Cancun. We were pleasantly surprised at how intimate the resort feels. The workers are so so friendly and fun while the closeness to the beautiful beach made it extremely convenient. Food excellent. If you are looking for quiet, this is the answer.

Room Tip: Our villa had two bedrooms and one bath which worked for us but the villas with two baths might be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun an All Suites Resort All Inclusive stands elegantly along a sheltered beach with kid-friendly surf and views of Isla Mujeres. Step back in time, into the relaxed atmosphere of Old Mexico and its revered family traditions. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Cancun is a 10-minute drive from the Hotel Zone's major shopping malls, nightclubs and golf courses, 10 minutes from Downtown Cancun and a 25-minute drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.