We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It,s not all good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Greenville, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It,s not all good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We,ve been going to this resort for 18 yrs. During that time our maintenance fee has increased
2 1/2 times. The food prices have tripled and the menu has not changed. I would rate the
food 1 star out of five. They no longer offer free amenities as they used to. If you are
looking for a quiet resort with beautiful grounds, this is the place. Expect them to try and
sell you a time share and also a credit card which no one knows how much that
will cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    266
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
456
272
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henrico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was the second time in six years that my husband and I stayed at the Royal Cancun (originally Club International). We actually bought a timeshare here last year. (We also own at Las Haciendas.) This resort is thirty-six years old, but you would never know it. The rooms are well decorated and sparkling clean. The folks at the front desk feel like family - I have rarely found such helpful, friendly personnel. This time around the food was a little less than we expected, as as far as the buffet. Food selected from the menu was well-cooked and delicious. One of the things we like about this Royal Resort is its proximity to activities and great restaurants. This week was truly one of the best vacations we have ever had.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the pool if you value view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Overall, this was a wonderful short vacation. I love this hotel. I have stayed in other all inclusives
, but this is the best. The food was great, the place the beautiful,and the entertainment was good. I went for a friends wedding. I wished I would have stayed more than 4 nights...It was delightful.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the top floors overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Every thing at this Resort is almost perfect.
Great Grounds,Nice Villas,Amazing Staff,Tranquil Atmosphere and that where it stops!
The inability of Senior Management ,mainly in the F&B sector to plan,execute and present a decent,changed Menu seems impossible.The Menu at the Palapa has not changed in 10 years or more.Other than the View of the Gulf and Isla Mujeres its very dull.
The only positive ,
the Executive staff changes the staff uniform yearly,how very useless .The addition of cheap strawhats for the Bar personnel is silly and stupid!
Since the Royal group has quite a few other Properties and Culinary outlets with better food selections ,the Palapa menu remains a Stepchild! No wonder that regular guest go off property to enjoy different selections.
Knowing its a waste of time to write this up every year,I am giving it another shot in the hopes that somebody within the Executive ranks is smart enough to realize the shortcomings!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I have owned a time-share at the Royal Cancun for 15 years. We started with B-Villa and upgraded about five years ago to a C-Villa. The room and view are always fabulous, the maid the last couple of years has actually been below average. The Maintenance fees have tripled since we bought, and the prices on food in the resturants in the past two years has more than doubled. I do not see how a family of four or more would benefit from staying in the Royals unless they cook and eat in their rooms most of the time. We were SHOCKED at how much the price of food cost! A steak dinner (average) was $32-36! Way to much! Chicken dinner $26. To much for us. We are putting our townhouse on the market for week 18 at the Royal Cancun. One thing I can say is our location is excellent. We overlook the pool and the Palpa Bar as well as the ocean. It's just beautiful. The weather that week also couldn't be any better. We've never had rain and the temps are just perfect.

Room Tip: Overlook either of the pools or ocean side of a beauitful site to wake up to in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

We would like to start by thanking you for your loyalty and for vacationing with us for more than 15 years. We appreciate your feedback; it is very important to us and we are sorry that you feel that there has been a decline in the maid service in your villa. We are investigating and will take steps to remedy this.
With regard to your comments about the annual Club Service Fee at The Royal Cancun, we would like to point out that while fees have risen during the last 15 years, Management has worked hard to keep increases to the minimum. Increases have been in line with the inflation rate in Mexico and Royal Resorts Club Service Fees continue to be lower than the vacation ownership industry average.
Royal Resorts strives to maintain standards and make improvements to enhance your vacation experience and at the same time it is always looking for ways to reduce expenditure and control operating costs in order to keep Club Service Fee increases as low as possible.
Each year, Management reviews the expenses and the improvements needed in the resort and makes budgeting decisions, taking into account exchange rate and economic forecasts. It will continue to budget conservatively to control expenses.
You also mentioned restaurant price increases; we would like to point out that rising food prices, inflation and a fluctuating exchange rate have had an impact on restaurants in Cancun, not just at the resort. Furthermore, transport costs have risen and as most foodstuffs are grown elsewhere and shipped long distances to the Mexican Caribbean, this has also played a role.
Many of the ingredients used in your resort restaurant, including meat products, are imported or come from other parts of Mexico, and prices have risen in the last couple of years. Nevertheless, the Restaurant Management Team is working hard to improve food quality and value for money, offer new options, and make the dining experience even more enjoyable.
Once again, we thank you for your comments; they will be helpful as we work to improve services at your resort.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Overall, my experience with the Royal Cancun is mostly positive (with some minor disappointments / cautionary notes), but let's break it down a bit. This was my families first time going to Cancun (with 2 kids - 10 & 8) and so I really tried to way amenities, location, kids programming, food costs vs all inclusive, and beach. After much research and reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to go with The Royal Cancun. Although we were a bit hesitant in our choice (because it was identified as a timeshare hotel), 1) the reviews indicated that little pressure was applied and so people had very positive experiences, 2) it was located on the top of the seven (so the waters would be quiet), 3) we liked the smaller more quaint design of the accommodations, 4) we definitely got more for our money (2 bedroom villa for about the same amount as any really basic 2 double bed accommodation anywhere else), 5) the service was seen to be better than it's sister hotels, 6) the beach looked fantastic, and 7) we had planned to do a lot of excursions, so we thought paying extra for an all inclusive did not make much sense.

When I called to make the reservations, the service was very warm and welcoming and very accommodating. Was absolutely thrilled with my first impressions. Could not have been better! Upon arriving at the resort, again we were thrilled with what we saw. Beautiful grounds, welcoming staff, nice accommodations, FANTASTIC beach. We had arranged for a villa in section B- beach front, and while the villa was a bit dated and dark, WOW the location could not have been more perfect! We walked right out onto the sand. It will be hard to beat that experience again. Great because we could just send the kids back to the villa to get whatever they wanted without us having to move an inch. I tell you, the sand is like sugar.

We settled into our holiday and was encouraged to meet with our concierge to review aspects about the villa and our holiday to see how he could help. This is where I am left feeling a bit disappointed. While very welcoming and informative about how to get around (really helped), the information session quickly turned into an "invitation" to attend a "membership" presentation. Should we agree to the presentation, he would return the favor by finding us a deal on some our excursions. We kindly said no, as our time was limited and we would rather spend the money to do what we wanted rather than lose time at a presentation. This turned into calls left on our room voice mail and notes left at our villa door requesting that we attend the presentation (as his position was dependent on it). We eventually agreed to it (with the concept that we would be saved some money). In all fairness, we went, had a great lunch for free, saw some nice accommodations, and was not overly pressured at this stage to buy into the timeshare, but lost a whole 1/2 day for the presentation. Our poor kids were so bored!!! Once all was said and done, we did not see a big enough kick back/discount on an excursion to have made that lost time worth it. Very disappointed.

Aside from that, other observations...1) the water is very shallow here (great for kids-never worried, even on the windier days), 2) some people reference the grass in the water, not a problem in front of the B villas (unless you want to go out deeper to actually swim), 3) the service at the onsite restaurant was ok (we found better service at the Royal Sands the couple of times that we went there - faster, happier), 4) be prepared for the food to be EXPENSIVE anywhere in Cancun, unless you get off the main strip (rarely were we able to feed our family for less than $80 US per meal-yikes), and 5) the resort was really quiet/relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden, co
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is a diamond in the rough. If you want to avoid all the noisy hotels and bar scene in Cancun, this is the place to come relax and unwind. VCI or Royal Cancun is located on the northern part of the island closer to downtown, it's a smaller resort that has impeccable landscaping.
It has two pools, a restaurant, activites include learning how to sail, free bike rental, free snorkel gear. Getting around Cancun from here is easy using the bus system, very convenient! The food and drinks are much more reasonable than other resorts and they have a 4 hour happy hour every day. Service here is what they are known for and they take really good care of their guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun an All Suites Resort All Inclusive stands elegantly along a sheltered beach with kid-friendly surf and views of Isla Mujeres. Step back in time, into the relaxed atmosphere of Old Mexico and its revered family traditions. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Cancun is a 10-minute drive from the Hotel Zone's major shopping malls, nightclubs and golf courses, 10 minutes from Downtown Cancun and a 25-minute drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.