We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100US Resort Credit FREE
Ranked #10 of 174 hotels in Cancun
taos
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 2 weeks ago, and had a very pleasant time. We were never approached regarding a time share promotion while there. We spent the day in Isla Mujeres, and the ferry dock is just a short walk away from this place. Food was adequate, although Margaritas seemed watered or from a mix--which should be blasphemy in Mexico. Quiet and restful, and just what we needed. Moved on from there to Chichen Itza and it was very easy to drive through town to the Cuota. Recommended!

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be pretty quiet--beach front rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    595
    225
    57
    17
    12
See reviews for
398
235
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are timeshare members and traded our home resort for this week. The Royal Cancun was the first available. Property is one of the oldest in the area, but has recently been updated and is very nice. Villa was very clean and updated with all the comforts of home. Only problem, is that we were given their ""lagoon"" view. Beautiful view of the lagoon, however, this was on the main highway. We were up early every morning with traffic. I asked to be changed to a different room, but was told I had to call Interval. Of course, Interval was no help. This was a real disappointment to my family and me. Traveled with 4 twenty something children who found it irritating, definitely not tranquil as oringinally thought.

Staff was wonderful and friendly. Most guests are older and have been coming for years. Felt the staff catered to them, which is understandable.
Definitely away from the nightlife, so if you are looking for Fun, this is NOT the place to go. Far from Hotel Zone and spent mucho dinero on taxi's and buses. That however, was expected. Orignially had a car rented, but the insurance thing rose the price up considerably. Decided to use public transportation. Once we got the hang of the bus route, it was wonderful. I was glad we did not rent a car after all.

Restaurant had a wonderful breakfast buffet and reasonable. We had one dinner there and was okay, but it was what we were looking for that evening, just something light.

The beach was terrible. We took the shuttle bus to the Royal Sands for a wonderful blue water beach experience. Again, if you are looking for that at Royal Cancun, you will not find it here. Mostly for senior citizens. Just depends on what type of vacation you are looking for. I am certain in years to come we will be looking for a place like this, but we still want to enjoy being middle aged.

I would recommend Royal Cancun if you want a nice, quiet vacation and don't really care about sitting on the beach. The pools were very nice, but quiet.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lagoon view. This overlooks the main road with the lagoon on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed the Royal Cancun very much. We plan to return again in the future. We had a 2-bedroom beach front unit with full kitchen and "great room". Quite roomy for 2 people. Maid service excellent, she even washed or dried the dishes and put them away after we had run the dishwasher! Staff was very friendly (trained); even if they were busy when you walked by they would stop and greet you.
I had read the Trip Advisor reviews b4 we went, so I knew pretty much what to expect, except there were conflicting opinions about some things, so I'll address those:
We had no problem with our Concierge pestering us. We saw him for 5 minutes when we arrived, never needed to request any help from him; we're pretty independent travelers and had been to Cancun before. He wanted us to talk to a timeshare salesman, which we did for about 15 minutes, told him we weren't interested in buying, and weren't bothered again.
As to the little grocery store on site, we found the convenience outweighed the price differential. We made one bus trip to Walmart for groceries,and the prices we compared were about 30% lower at Walmart. Walmart has much more variety, of course, like 10 kinds of hot peppers and at least 50 kinds of fish. We only bought groceries for breakfasts and lunches, some adult beverages, but if you were going to cook dinners in your unit or feed a group, maybe then repeated Walmart excursions would be worth the trip.
As to the Palapa restaurant, we liked it. We had a meal at Royal Sands and Royal Islander, and had the rest of our dinners at the R. Cancun. It is a casual restaurant, a big grass-roofed structure with open sides, except when windy or cool when they dropped down plastic around the sides and then it was like a big tent. As to prices, you could have a number of dishes on the menu for under $10, such as fajitas, tacos, fish sandwich, generous helpings. They do have entrees in the $20-$30 range also. I had a $30 lobster one night which was excellent. My favorite meal was on Pasta/Seafood night, where they had a cooking station where you picked what seafood you wanted, whcih vegetables, pasta, and sauces, and they cooked it in front of you in about 4 minutes--wonderful--I went back for a second helping of a different mix of ingredients.
If you don't want to swim in the turtle grass, you could walk 50 yards down the beach (all beaches are public and owned by the government) and swim in front of that resort where there wasn't turtle grass. The two pools on property were warmer than the sea anyway and were never crowded at all.
We spent most of our time on the property, we did use their free 21-speed bicycles on the nice flat bike path that goes 4.5 kilometers each direction in front of the hotel, and we also found it an interesting diversion to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres. There are also tennis courts, and you can use their snorkel equipment for free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When in Cancun we normally stay at the Royal Haciendas and have an amazing time, but my husband true to form has a hard time ending his vacation on a saturday, so he hunts for a short stay and the Royal Cancun has an opening for 1 night, doing this also gave us a change to try out another great resort and they met our expectations. We traveled with our adult children and they also enjoyed their last night with a great dinner at the resorts resturant and relaxing by the pool. It was a wonderful end to our great vacation with the Royal Resorts...cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: any of the Royal Resort Properties are great, so give one of them a try
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've stayed at several timeshare resorts and the Royal Cancun is by far the best of all. Comfortable homelike villas with all the amenities one needs. Activities all day long, large crystal clear pools, and gorgeous landscaping, and a staff that is so helpful and welcoming. Also it is close to shopping and easy to get from here to there. We can't wait to vacation each year at the Royal Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Vacationed in Cancun in Jan 2013. Had such an amazing time. Hotel is clean, staff is very attentive and food is Delicious! I went with my husband, 4 year old and mother and hotel is very family friendly. We noticed kind of an older crowd, but that meant for a quieter hotel. Hotel is at the end of the main hotel strip and not so much in the middle of downtown Cancun, which can be the reason for the older crowd. Too easy to take a taxi to the clubs and what not. Had such an amazing time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to the Royal Hotel and it was an excellent experience. The rooms and food were wonderful. The staff was a great part of the experience. If you go to this hotel you need to look for a few of the staff that stands out and gives outstanding service. First starting with the restaurant you are greeted by a gentle woman with an outstanding smile Laura Morales, then you are looked after a warm hearted man Gerardo Rodriguz. Dont stop at the restaurant thought you need to continue to the coffee shop and meet Rulo then off to the bar and get to know Luis. Also if you cant enjoy your time at the bar with Emanuel than you need to loosten up and enjoy life more. He is warm and very entertaining as well as never having your glass empty.
Over all the hotel is the complete package and we look forward to our next vacation there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun an All Suites Resort All Inclusive stands elegantly along a sheltered beach with kid-friendly surf and views of Isla Mujeres. Step back in time, into the relaxed atmosphere of Old Mexico and its revered family traditions. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Cancun is a 10-minute drive from the Hotel Zone's major shopping malls, nightclubs and golf courses, 10 minutes from Downtown Cancun and a 25-minute drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.