We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Cancun Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
St. Valentine's Special!
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time Cancun Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family has traveled to the Riviera Maya many times and are owners at Sandos. We wanted to stay in Cancun this holiday season because we never have and the Royals had many properties to accommodate the group. We purchased a week at the Royal Cancun because of the many positives reviews on tripadvisor and because we were not able to trade. So we paid a pretty penny. For us, life is a comparison game at times and from our perspective, the Riviera Maya/Sandos beats Cancun/Royals hands down on many counts. Here's our opinion:

The Good: Clean units, conveniently located, small, manageable, on the bus route and close access to ferry to Isla Mujeres.

The Bad: Slow service, surely wait staff, mediocre housekeeping, very few room amenities, poor beach, long and unfriendly check in, long waits in restaurant and mediocre food.

The Ugly: Street noise from units with balcony facing the street (this was our unit and since we paid the owner so much - we expected more); lack of follow through from the concierge and lack of truthfulness from the concierge (ok we went on the timeshare presentation at their property on the Riveria Maya which was our bad to believe that it would be any different than any other. But, we were told that the presentation would take less time than it did (duh - we are gullible) and that we could use the property afterwards. The presentation was very long and we ended up only having two hours on the property. The beach at their Riviera Maya location was very nice and we finally had a little time at a good beach.

Our most upsetting memories: My 87 year old mother in-law sitting out on the loud unpleasant balcony for her first and most likely last Cancun experience.

My 68 year old, newly widowed Aunt feeling verbally attacked at her first and most likely last timeshare presentation.

Room Tip: Stay on the Riviera Maya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarieZanfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
STAMFORD
Level Contributor
274 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been staying at this resort for the past six years. I enjoy it so much I bought a timeshare three years ago and annually take my son, his wife and two grandkids for an early spring break. Although one of the oldest resorts in Cancun, it recently received a multimillion dollar renovation. Now it's better than ever. It's a perfect place if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Spacious beachfront, seaside restaurant, grocery store, takeout counter, two pools, etc. The grandkids love it and my son and his wife say it's the most relaxing place they've been. Good pricing too.

Room Tip: The front of the building overlooks the downtown Cancun and the harbor. Lots of folks, especially t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The resort is very well taken care, you would not know it is one of the oldest in cancun. The staff was great. Why a 4? This resort has some challenges. I know you can't do much about your neighbors.......but next door is one of the bargain end all inclusives. Their beach is very crowded(ant like) and the overflow seemed to come our way. The once private dock was not private anymore. Additionally the maid service seemed to always show up at the worst time(like superclean the kitchen over lunch). Perhaps they could ask guests when they check in what timeframe would be best for them.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairlypicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has beautiful grounds and is well looked after. Our room was very nice. We had a king size bed, a pair of twin beds, and a murphy bed to fit all 5 of us. The kitchen was a good size and had everything we needed and more. This might seem like a small thing but the water pressure was great and showers felt so good after a day at the pool. Even my kids liked to take showers there and that never happens at home;-) The pools were fun with colored lights at night and bridges to swim under. My 8 year old especially liked the depth of the kiddie pool because it was not too shallow or too deep for her. After taking the free shuttle to Royal Sands for a day of swimming we were more than happy to come back to our hotel. While the Royal Sands was impressive (large lobby, even larger pool) we got to like the coziness of our hotel. It is not a massive hotel but everything is there.
One reason we chose this hotel was the location on the ocean. We have small kids (10, 8, 5) and wanted them to have the calmer waters that this beach offered. It felt more like a large lake because there really weren't any waves to jump in. At the Royal Sands the beach was great with rolling waves as well as a public beach we went to (Playa Delfines). A bit more dangerous for sure but also more fun. I would probably pick Royal Cancun again but would expect to go to a different beach for a more ocean feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltime68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

it's a quite and calm hotel, perfect for family. The location is good enough to go anywhere. The apartment is very confortable and the staff make you feel home. The beach is nice and the sea calm. Excellent for children but not so good for the teenagers. As one of the first's hotels in Cancun, it does not have so many floors, what is perfect to feel cozy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Bergholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was very nice stay in Royal Cancun, the Villas were very is nice and clean. The maid service was very helpful. The beach and pool was very good. we have to say about staff is excellent nice service. One thing I liked ( we did not make use of this of other activities) is even though you stay at Royal Cancun you can use/goto other Royal properties like royal sands, island, etc ..and participate in the events.
For the kids they have separate activities like paining, pool activities etc.. this is very nice and they have some of the things like small boat and snorkeling instrument free and even some classes also free.

One thing I feel for improvement is more Vegetarian options in their restaurant ( I tried dinner )

Room Tip: if you have time try their free classes and visiting other Royal properties. Their all inclusive ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhampasagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a harrowing first day in Cancun, we finally found the Royal Cancun Club International after stops at two other similarly named resorts (one of which was adults-only), we were welcomed extremely graciously at this first class resort. We want to thank the staff, especially the concierges, for allowing us to forget our crazy initial experience and rest easy with attentive service and family-friendly atmosphere. I especially loved the freedom given to all the guests to design their vacation in the way they preferred without the pressure of purchasing events packages every 5 minutes. (You see that in other resorts). Extremely enjoyable and classy!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricWill102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
2.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.9 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 2,893 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) an All-Suites Resort Breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing