We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 175 hotels in Cancun
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quiet, Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been staying at this resort for the past six years. I enjoy it so much I bought a timeshare three years ago and annually take my son, his wife and two grandkids for an early spring break. Although one of the oldest resorts in Cancun, it recently received a multimillion dollar renovation. Now it's better than ever. It's a perfect place if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Spacious beachfront, seaside restaurant, grocery store, takeout counter, two pools, etc. The grandkids love it and my son and his wife say it's the most relaxing place they've been. Good pricing too.

Room Tip: The front of the building overlooks the downtown Cancun and the harbor. Lots of folks, especially t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    175
    52
    13
    10
See reviews for
321
202
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, KS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The resort is very well taken care, you would not know it is one of the oldest in cancun. The staff was great. Why a 4? This resort has some challenges. I know you can't do much about your neighbors.......but next door is one of the bargain end all inclusives. Their beach is very crowded(ant like) and the overflow seemed to come our way. The once private dock was not private anymore. Additionally the maid service seemed to always show up at the worst time(like superclean the kitchen over lunch). Perhaps they could ask guests when they check in what timeframe would be best for them.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has beautiful grounds and is well looked after. Our room was very nice. We had a king size bed, a pair of twin beds, and a murphy bed to fit all 5 of us. The kitchen was a good size and had everything we needed and more. This might seem like a small thing but the water pressure was great and showers felt so good after a day at the pool. Even my kids liked to take showers there and that never happens at home;-) The pools were fun with colored lights at night and bridges to swim under. My 8 year old especially liked the depth of the kiddie pool because it was not too shallow or too deep for her. After taking the free shuttle to Royal Sands for a day of swimming we were more than happy to come back to our hotel. While the Royal Sands was impressive (large lobby, even larger pool) we got to like the coziness of our hotel. It is not a massive hotel but everything is there.
One reason we chose this hotel was the location on the ocean. We have small kids (10, 8, 5) and wanted them to have the calmer waters that this beach offered. It felt more like a large lake because there really weren't any waves to jump in. At the Royal Sands the beach was great with rolling waves as well as a public beach we went to (Playa Delfines). A bit more dangerous for sure but also more fun. I would probably pick Royal Cancun again but would expect to go to a different beach for a more ocean feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

it's a quite and calm hotel, perfect for family. The location is good enough to go anywhere. The apartment is very confortable and the staff make you feel home. The beach is nice and the sea calm. Excellent for children but not so good for the teenagers. As one of the first's hotels in Cancun, it does not have so many floors, what is perfect to feel cozy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was very nice stay in Royal Cancun, the Villas were very is nice and clean. The maid service was very helpful. The beach and pool was very good. we have to say about staff is excellent nice service. One thing I liked ( we did not make use of this of other activities) is even though you stay at Royal Cancun you can use/goto other Royal properties like royal sands, island, etc ..and participate in the events.
For the kids they have separate activities like paining, pool activities etc.. this is very nice and they have some of the things like small boat and snorkeling instrument free and even some classes also free.

One thing I feel for improvement is more Vegetarian options in their restaurant ( I tried dinner )

Room Tip: if you have time try their free classes and visiting other Royal properties. Their all inclusive ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a harrowing first day in Cancun, we finally found the Royal Cancun Club International after stops at two other similarly named resorts (one of which was adults-only), we were welcomed extremely graciously at this first class resort. We want to thank the staff, especially the concierges, for allowing us to forget our crazy initial experience and rest easy with attentive service and family-friendly atmosphere. I especially loved the freedom given to all the guests to design their vacation in the way they preferred without the pressure of purchasing events packages every 5 minutes. (You see that in other resorts). Extremely enjoyable and classy!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I own here at the royal cancun, bought here in 2007 this resort is well maintained,the staff top shelf. If you visit and get a chance to purchase a villa here do before they are all gone. Also own at the Sands another great resort. I do believe the sands lease runs out 37 years from now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort

Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Cancun Hotel
International Hotel Cancun
Club International
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect spot for a family vacation, The Royal Cancun (formerly Club Internacional de Cancun) nestles on a sheltered beach on Cancun's north shore and has breathtaking views out over the bay towards Isla Mujeres. Offering villa accommodation and a wide array of resort services, it is a longtime favorite for its lovely setting and ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Tingo, TravelClick, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.