We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Tambov, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is a part of the chain hotels. It is situated almost at the beginning of zona hotelera if you are coming from the center of Cancun.The lobby looks great, the hotel surroundings and the yard are very picturesque, there are 2 swimming pools which are great for kids,a nice restaurant, a tennis court. Everything is perfectly clean and is being taken a good care of. When we arrived due to the time difference with my country I was waking up very early and saw how hotel personnel were cutting the bushes, cleaning the pool area and the beach zone starting from 6-7 a.m. Everyone who works at the hotel are very friendly and attentive. Small presents from the concierge were very nice. Our concierge Terry invited us to take part in the evening ship trip. It was very funny!
I strongly recommend to use a free shuttle bus to go to other properties of the chain which are located at different spots in zona hotelera
The beach of the hotel is nice for sunbathing and beach games. The swimming is good only for kids,there's also quite a lot of sea grass in the water. So I'd recommend to go to another property of the chain for a swim.
The apartments can accommodate 7 people, the kitchen has everything to cook by yourself. There is a small grocery shop on the base of the hotel but still it is cheaper in Walmart though.
What I did not like about the hotel is that it is a timeshare and we found out about it while checking in. The front desk clerk told us that he will check us in but we will have to move the next day to another room. This is totally inconvenient for a family. This should be told beforehand while booking the property I think. Thankfully I managed to convince them to give us the room which we won't have to leave.All in all, this hotel is a nice place to stay for a holiday

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are better than those which are facing the garden. Although if you take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    175
    52
    14
    10
See reviews for
322
202
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The smallest of the Royals makes it a more private stay.Children are welcome,especially for this resort as it is the only Royal resort(original) with a calm beach because Isla Mujeras is right out in front(3 miles or so) blocking the waves.All the staff remembers you because it is smaller unlike the the larger ones.Some people complain about a "fishy" smell in the morning(early) and that is due to the seaweed coming on shore thru the night.But by 7am they are already cleaning it up and it turns pristine again.Food a little pricey still,but there is a Walmart or other places to go so you can cook in your villa.Anywhere in the resort is a short walk to the beach.It is not like a "hotel" atmosphere like the others as it is only a couple stories high.Beautiful gardens and pools abound.Its a slower pace than the others and thats why we like it.We have been owners for alot of years and its not a young single party atmosphere.So if your going there just to drink and whoop it up,DONT COME!

Room Tip: Go to "Lucky Lucianos" downtown for the best Italian food EVER!They renamed it Vivians but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We own two weeks here and we are just finishing up. The site is always spotlessly clean, the staff is incredibly friendly and the activities and ammenities are great. I love Cancun and The Royal Resorts are in the middle of things - great restaurants and shopping are nearby. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Most rooms look at the Caribbean. Rooms are handicapped accessible but being near an elevator will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have enjoyed this spot in Cancun for several years. If you wish a friendly beautiful resort with the very best staff who will treat you like the most important person in the world, this is the place. Located close to town where you can easily access many many wonderful and reasonable restaurants.Ferry to the island is close. Buses to anywhere are at the front door. Buses to the other Royal Resorts are free. Beautiful gardens, top notch service, and everything you need are at this wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Cook your own breakfasts, eat lunch on the beach and dinner in town. Great Spa at Royal Sands a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We own a week in this charming, homey resort in Cancun, and look forward to our visit every year. The staff is filled with warm, friendly, helpful folks who typically go the extra mile to ensure our vacation is restful and safe. The grounds are kept imaculate and the numerous flowering plants are a feast for the eyes - including an English rose garden that was developed and planted by one of the original ladies on the housekeeping staff. Because the buildings are only three or four stories and cleverly arranged between and around the two heated pools, we never get the feeling of being in a huge, clamorous resort, but in a neighborhood of fellow travelers. And the security staff are courteous and discreet, while maintaining a vigilant watch on the beach and throughout the resort.
In between the vibrant city of resorts in the Hotel Zone and the charming downtown area of Cancun itself, we are always a few minutes from whatever sort of entertainment we desire - great restaurants, night clubs, awesome beaches, scuba diving, shopping - you name it! Royal Resorts also provides a complimentary shuttle to their other four resorts in the Hotel Zone so we can experience their restaurants, pools shops, beaches, etc., and our charges will all be included in our bill at the end of the week so we don't need to carry much cash with us.
The Thomas More travel agent in the resort also has a wide variety of tours and excursions, all well priced. And if you happen to get "stuck" with purchasing a trip through a less-than-reputable salesperson at the airport or in town, the folks at Thomas More Travel will get a refund on your behalf, which is a GREAT benefit for those who can't resist the hawkers at the airport!
Oh, my goodness, I could go on and on about how wonderful it is to stay here! Try it - you'll love it!

Room Tip: The C units are two bedroom with two baths, and are two story with the master suite upstairs with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales, null, Turks and Caicos Islands
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I along with our five year old son have just returned from a eleven night stay at the royal cancun. My wife did extensive research on various properties, checking out all the reviews on various websites. We opted for the royal cancun because we wanted a separate bedroom for my son, as well as a kitchen, along with a sea view. In short we wanted a relaxing, peaceful beach holiday with plenty of sun. Luckily we were obliged with great weather but not much else
The sand is very clean and white but that it is with regards to the beach. I could not believe how close the boat lane came to the beach. The island ferry, speed boats, jet skis all whizz by twenty meters from the beach at reckless speeds. I was devastated to find that we had flown half way across the world but could not do anything else other than have a paddle in the sea! Both pools are nice and clean and my son enjoyed playing in them, but they are not a patch on the royal sands. Every day we caught the bus to the royal sands just so we could go for a swim in the sea, which is not ideal when you have a small child.
My wife and I are not big drinkers or massive eaters either, which is why we did not choose an all inclusive resort. Once the staff at the restaurant and pool bar realize that you are not going to be their biggest spenders they drop you like a stone. I would not say that they are unhelpful but they do not make you feel appreciated that's for sure. They only staff that my wife and I found to be really helpful we're the staff running the kids activities ( they were the only people that did not expect me to tip them heavily). After a few days my wife and I decided that we spend our daytimes at the royal sands, where the staff and the whole set up was completely different! We are not difficult or demanding people but my wife and I are in the hospitality business and have run the food and beverage for a couple of five star resorts in the carribean. We know how difficult things can be with staff in this region of the world. We also know that everything comes from the top down. If the management don't smile or show some sincerity then the staff won't. The royal sands we felt was a completely different experience. The staff all smiled, we're helpful and never made me feel like they not interested in us if we did not want a round of drinks every ten minutes.
Even at our check out the reception did not ask us if we had a good time or wish us a safe trip home. Paying our bill was just like doing a shop at tescos. Whatever the cost was I wish we had booked at the royal sands instead.. Shocking as this may sound, but whatever I felt about the set up at the royal cancun , that was not upset me the most about our stay!
As I previously mentioned the boat lane was right on top of the beach , only at night, once we had put our son to sleep did we realize the significance of this. Moored up to a pontoon to the left of our balcony facing the sea were two pirate/ disco boats. Every night for eleven nights the boats departed their moorings about nine thirty at night. The music cranked up to the max, the loudest blaring high tempo noise you can imagine. The boats sail around the bay in front of the beach having a mock battle firing canons at each other as well as plenty of tequila I guess, as the noise gets louder and louder. This goes on for about two hours, even with all the windows closed sleep is out of the question. It reminded me of the scene in the blues brothers when Elwood takes jake back to his hotel so they can get some rest only to find that it backs onto the Chicago metro!
The villa number we stayed in was 1532 avoid at all costs!
I am sorry that my feedback has not been positive like many other reviews, but I felt I had to tell it like I found it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from a week at The Royal Cancun. We've been going there for fourteen years in a row. As you first turn in the driveway, you are amazed at the gorgeous landscaping. Every plant is carefully cared for. The staff greets you with "Welcome Home" and they are so friendly. As we open the drapes in our villa, it takes our breath away. The colors of the Caribbean Sea makes you want to run right to the beach. We try many restaurants around town, but our favorite is right there at the La Palapa. You get spoiled eating by the water every day and the food is perfect. We danced there two nights when they brought in a small band. We love dancing to "La Bamba". Can't wait to return next year, we are counting the days already.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views of the pool and the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort

Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
The Royal Cancun Hotel
International Hotel Cancun
Club International
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect spot for a family vacation, The Royal Cancun (formerly Club Internacional de Cancun) nestles on a sheltered beach on Cancun's north shore and has breathtaking views out over the bay towards Isla Mujeres. Offering villa accommodation and a wide array of resort services, it is a longtime favorite for its lovely setting and ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, TravelClick, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Royal Cancun, an All Suites Resort to your Saves list