We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100US Resort Credit FREE
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

You can't go wrong with this all inclusive hotel. I have been in Cancun many times, this hotel was the best so far. Very CLEAN.
THE ROOM
Very nice rooms, they all have a balcony with an Ocean view. Beds are comfortable. They have elevators, but there are only two or three floors so you can easily walk up.
THE FOOD
Excellent quality, the buffet is very good, it gets monotonous after a week. There were a few flies around the bread. They have other restaurants which breaks the monotony. They have the best burgers at the barbecue area next to the pool.
THE POOL
There are a couple of swimming pools, one with a swim up bar and also day beds all around. If you get up early enough you can get one for the day, but usually by 9:00 AM they are all taken.
ENTERTAINMENT
They do some things by the pool during the day but there is no entertainment during evenings, which makes this hotel not as noisy as the others.
THE BEACH
Fantastic. They now have a wide sandy area where they have a volleyball court. There are waves, but not strong enough to stop you from going in.
SHOPS OUTSIDE THE HOTEL
There are many shops within walking distance and you can also take the bus to the market. The buses are quite new, very handy, and safe.

All in all, I was very impressed with this hotel and will go back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    247
    65
    18
    14
See reviews for
424
253
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had been coming to the Royal Cancun (nee VCI) for over 30 years - beginning in my late teens. I took over the timeshare 5 years ago and this year was my first chance to come down. It surpassed my expectations - which were always high. The place has been (always has been) kept up - not just kept up - IMPROVED! The villas are in top-notch shape. I invited 2 friends and they did not believe the place had been one of the flagship resorts - not one thing seemed dated or used. And the grounds are freaking gorgeous - they have a master gardener that has been there forever that keeps the place immaculate - tropical flora and fauna are botanical wonders. I spent a very peaceful, relaxing and charmed week there - first week of June 2012. Incredible service. You can lay low or take advantage of offers - some free - if you need more stimulation. The in-house travel agency, Tomas Moore, is very helpful and very reasonable. The resort staff are wonderful too. Genuine. This is a perfect place for everyone (though maybe not spring break types or party hearty folk). Cancun has grown but I saw many improvements and was impressed - I expected to have a few disappointments (memories not living up to reality) but that was not the case at all. The other (newer) Royal Resorts are very nice - but this is my favorite one. I had put my week in the rental pool for next year before I came down - but now plan to use it myself!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just returned from a week at this resort. We had traded our week at the Marriott Frenchman's cove. Let me tell you our week was simply amazing. Royal assigned us a personal concierge. named Dario ... who was so nice, kind and helpful. If you go, and have a choice, as for him. Really makes you feel special.
Their is a market on site with really decent prices. The food at the restaurant on property was delicious. They had different theme nights and you could eat there every night without getting bored of the choices. Thursday was Caribbean night .... dinner at a table on the sand and a band. Amazing romantic and fun!!!
Can't say enough about this place!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for pool side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I just spent last week at the Royal Cancun (VCI) and was impressed as usual. The resort always feels like Mexico, a place to sit, enjoy and relax. The beach is small and calm but sitting under the palm trees with the ocean breezes is something the other resorts can't offer. Sharon, one of the beach waiters remembered us from previous years and even asked about our friends that didn't make the trip with us this year. What more can you ask for being friendly. I have "C" unit with two stories and two bathrooms and the view up the coast at night is breathtaking. My only complaint is they only have one restaurant, La Palapa, so you have to shuttle to the other resorts or take a bus or taxi if you want something different. Other than that I would recommend the resort to everyone wanting to relax and enjoy the beautiful Mexico.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed a week from May 14 - 21. The hotel is situated on the North Hotel Zone 5-10 mins away from the main hotel zone and main touristy area. This is not a party hotel. If you are wanting a peaceful & relaxing vacation this place is ideal. You do not have to pay extra for internet which was great and the speed of it was pretty good.
The rooms were very nice and the bed comfortable. The on site restaurant serves great food with a different theme every night.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
The one thing I would change is to include the use of the weight room during your stay. It was an $8 USD a day to have access to the gym. I'd rather just have them include it in the cost of staying at the hotel.
Other than that, the hotel was great and I would recommend it to any of my friends if they plan on going to Cancun, unless they want a PARTY HOTEL!! Ha.

Thank you Royal Cancun for the great accommodations.

Jon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The wife and I vacationed in Cacun for the week, visted the Royal properties among others, and concluded we wanted to enjoy what the Royal Cancun offers each and evey year so we bought-in to an ocean-front villa. For us, the Royal Cancun offered the feel of Mexico (some resorts you can't distinguish if you are in Datona Beach or Mexico) with its red-tiled roofs, white stucko and black wrought iron. The resort is filled with tropical plants throughout creating a garden effect as you walk through the property, and is so close to the water that I could toss a stone into the ocean from our balcony. The La Palapa restaurant offers a menu similar to other Royal restaurants, yet what separates it is its open-airness, it is within 50 feet of the water and offers a post-card view as you sip coffee in the morning or enjoy a predinner cocktail in the evening. The staff is very personable,takes pride in the resort and makes you feel welcome. The resort offers the convenience of being only an 8-minute stroll to the marina and water ferry where you can catch a quick 20 minute ride on the Ultramar ferry to Isla Murjeres or even to Playa dell Carmen for the day. Ilsa Mujeres is directly across the water from the resort, and at night its lights dot the horizon and create a pleasant evening view from the Royal Cancun (as opposed to staring out into a dark open ocean). And with the marina so conveniently near, the daytime view from the resort is interesting as yatches cruise past or the pirate ships head out each evening around sunset. The Royal Cancun is relatively smaller than the other Royal resorts and does not have the mega-complex feel. It has 2 pools that change colors in the evening and a quaint swim-up bar under the roof of the La Palapa (staff also serve drinks on the beach). As the resort is so close to the water, it has less beach, but lets you step out from under your umbrella and be in the water after just 15 steps, There are no waves and the water is shallow and relaxing and ranges from crystal clear to various shades of blue as the sun gets higher (makes you want to just stare at it). I am in my 50's,and the features above offer value . Resort buses run like clockwork between all of the Royal resorts, so any time I want to use the facilites of the other resorts for a change of pace it is convenient to do so. You will enjoy the warmth of the resort personnel, and if you are fortunate enough to have Jagger as your concierge, Lucy as your hostest and Guillie serving you in La Palapa, you, too, might find the Royal Cancun offers much to make a vacation most enjoyable.

Room Tip: An ocean-front room, or a room with an ocean view or pool view offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Royal Cancun for my honeymoon, it was an amazing experience I haven't got a bad word to say about it.
Would recommended this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun an All Suites Resort All Inclusive stands elegantly along a sheltered beach with kid-friendly surf and views of Isla Mujeres. Step back in time, into the relaxed atmosphere of Old Mexico and its revered family traditions. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Cancun is a 10-minute drive from the Hotel Zone's major shopping malls, nightclubs and golf courses, 10 minutes from Downtown Cancun and a 25-minute drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Cancun, All Inclusive, All Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.