We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many improvements since our last visit:-)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Royal Cancun Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Royal Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Royal Cancun Resort
Boulevard Kukulkan Km 10 Lote 13b | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Reno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many improvements since our last visit:-)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have owned at Sunset since 2008 and I can honestly say that they are working hard to make this a better resort. The people who work at Sunset keep us coming back, more specifically VIP Concierge (Monica Herrera), wait staff (Axel Gil, Carlos Gonzalez, Jose, Fransisco, Samuel all in Capriccio), bellman (Jesus), housekeeping staff and the activities director.
Things we would like to see improved upon:
*The reservation process leaves something to be desired. We would like to know that we are getting the suite that we have requested and not have to argue about it upon arrival. We booked and paid for two studios and at arrival they tried to put four of us in one. It got corrected but made the arrival stressful.
*Transportation: At the time of booking we were offered free transportation and did end up with it, but I had to work for it. (I had to provide a copy of my emails and information on the person who authorized it which luckily I had printed and brought with and then transportation had to call and verify before it was taken care of.)
*We would love to see 24 hour room service, even with a limited menu after 10:00 p.m. (it is not possible to get a beverage after everything shuts down).
*We would love to see a 24 hour game room (pool tables, ping pong, games, snack and beverage bar. (This could solve the all-inclusive, 24 hour issue for those of us who like to stay up late and provide an activity for rainy days).
*We would like the mini bar to truly be all-inclusive. Two beers per day may be enough for some but not for others. (They use to stock it twice a day and provide what we requested).
*We would like more dining options. The food has improved, but we love the atmosphere in Capriccios and six nights of the same menu was hard to do.
*We would like the policies set by the resort to be followed by all. Specifically, dress codes should be enforced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    438
    162
    81
    143
See reviews for
433
383
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ever was amazing!!!! He is polite and very fast with the service. He has very good manner and I recommend him to anyone! His name is "ever" . He even went as far as to save a bed for my family and I on the beach because he knew we were coming, he is truly a great employee!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very proud to offer friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. It means a lot that you took the time to recognize Ever and we thank you on his behalf.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

LOVED this resort! We actually stayed at the Ocean spa Resort which is a sister resort. It is a nice resort and clean, but the beaches at Sunset Royale are the most beautiful ever!! The food was better at Sunset Royale as well. Servers, waiters, bartenders at BOTH resorts were GREAT and even though there was a language barrier between both of us, they tried really hard to understand and make us feel at home. We had a blast every day at the Sunset Royale. We had free shuttle from our resort to it and enjoyed the beaches at Sunset Royale!! We also had a massage here and it was great! They even do free demos at the pool. We loved our daily server Sahira!!!! She was so much fun!! GREAT service and great staff! They got to know us and knew what we needed every day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for this great review of your stay. It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay and a memorable experience visiting sister properties.

We strive to provide a high level of personalized service to guests and to receive feedback such as yours is very reassuring and motivating.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you when you are back in Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedras Negras, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The party was excellent, the animator, Samuel, allways ready for fun... the beach and the room was awesome.
only the service from the people in the pool area was not good. They look always mad (the bar tender and the guy with the food).

Room Tip: always pay for full service, pay the extra for premier suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortlandt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room was very comfortable; while it was a one-bedroom,the living area had a couch that was really more like a bed (not a sofa bed with springs, more of a platform bed). We had a fantastic view of the Caribbean from our room. But I don't think the view is too shabby on the Lagoon side, either. That's where the sun sets, and I for one was not awake to see the sunrise!

The pool was clean and deep enough for swimming, but not so deep that it would be scary for kids.

The staff was very helpful, and I would especially like to mention Angel Rivera, a waiter who never failed to keep our wine glasses full. Another waiter, Jose, was also very attentive (I don't know his last name) and friendly.

Room Tip: While the Caribbean side has the view you're imagining, the Lagoon side has larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled from Tres Rios resort to Sunset Royal Resort and we were greeted like long lost friends and we had lunch in the Italian restaurant. The meal and service were great as per usual. Our waiter was Francisco Che, and what a fantastic job he did. W have been coming to Cancun for the past 8 years and have yet to be disappointed. We normally stay at the Sunset Royal as it is a smaller hotel/resort and have always been assisted and treated exceptionally well. This year we tried Tres Rios down on the Riviera Maya and it is a more quiet resort than Sunset Royal and a larger resort. We will definitely be back to Cancun for our annual visit next year. Having travelled around the world this is the one place we will come back to each year. The Mexican people and the staff at the resorts have been nothing less than exceptional. A definite must go!

Room Tip: Try get a room on the upper floors as you get better sea views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The service was great, plenty of smiles, the beach is amazing and they will serve drinks if you're patient. A la carte servers were excellent especially Josi and Axel.

There was a mix up with our hotel reservation on the day we arrived and ended up staying at Lagoona Suites instead of Ocean Spa. To compensate on the mixup we were given all inclusive to the four sister locations. We spent most of our time at Sunset Royal as the beach was incomparable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Royal Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Cancun Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Km 10 Lote 13b | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Royal Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.