We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Royal Cancun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Royal Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Royal Cancun Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Kukulkan Km 10 Lote 13b | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Newark, De
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had to write and say how wonderful some of the employees are. Marisol,Jona and Edgar were great. They were so helpful and so friendly. They are really an asset to the Royal Sunset. We all had a great time. The spa could use more tread mills. Peole tend to stay on them too long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, it is great to hear that our staff contributed to yet another wonderful vacation. All of the staff members mentioned will receive a special participation during our monthly celebration of quality service. We have taken your comments about the Gym into consideration. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    492
    191
    90
    157
See reviews for
498
423
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carle Place, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is our 12th year at the Sunset Royal. From the minute we step out of the van from the airport to the minute we board the van to the airport the staff of this resort go above and beyond to make us feel welcome and happy,
Felix at the front desk, Jesus on bell service, Samuel and Marisol on activities. The best waiter on the pool deck is Dario, with Heidie a close second. The new cook at the pool bar Vite, is fantastic. He has a smile on his face all day long and make the best burgers and garlic sauce ever. Rosa on breakfast duty is great. She know your order before you can tell her.
The entertainment staff in the lobby is great 3 nights out of the week. Oscar, Patty and Enrique are so talented, they play to the crowd and have everyone up dancing. The lobby is packed the nites they play. I wish I could say they same for rest of the week. The singer is usually singing to himself. He is not enjoyable. But I guess it is cheaper to pay one person than a 3 piece band.
The food in all the ala carte restraunts has improved this year. We had no problem getting reservations every night. The service in all the restraunts was great as usual.
Looking foward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a wonderful review, we sincerely appreciate your business as well as your valuable feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff and thank you on their behalf. All staff members mentioned on this forum receive a special participation during our monthly celebration of quality service. We have taken your suggestions into consideration and are all looking forward to your next year’s visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

In all my life, I have NEVER stayed in such a dump. The staff was so incredibly rude and unhelpful, after being attacked to become a member, which is a JOKE, they want literally nothing to do with you! The concierge is not a concierge, it is a bunch of non English speaking people begging you to become a "member"! The front desk is SO RUDE, after paying for wifi and not having any way of access it, it took 4 days to get the front desk to call me back and help which they still couldn't do. The food is so inconsistent and is nothing but garbage. The cleanlieness of the hotel is a DISGRACE. There are bugs everywhere and at one point they had the audacity to exterminate while we were in the room, with no warning or anything. The beach is beautiful, but you are separated by a rope, like you are a farm animal, from the "members" and left with just chairs and filthy disgusting ripped up towels, not even an umbrella. They make it well and known that if you are not a "member", they are not there to help or serve you. The drinks at the pool are REPULSIVE, they are GROSS, and you will wait and wait and wait for a incredibly rude person make your drink! The gym is EXTREMELY tiny. On top of everything else the hotel is EXTREMELY NOISY at night! If you are facing the front of the hotel, you will have the displeasure of listening to not only the sounds from the pathetic theatre entertainment in the front but also the horrific music from the downstairs restaurant that blares though the open floors in the hotel! After the music is over at 10:30PM you will have the displeasure of then hearing plates clatter for about 2 hours! Also, just so everyone is aware, what they call a "Deluxe Ocean View Room with Balcony", is not deluxe, has a view of a parking lot, the balcony is the only truth in the statement! Please do not listen to any other review on this site or any other site, if I could partake in having this hotels service license revoked, I would! The people who own this hotel should be embarrassed to have this type of staff and to even have this hotel open for business! I work in customer service, and in this place they don't even know what those words mean! Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, we regret hearing Sunset Royal did not fulfill your expectations, nevertheless we appreciate all feedback. Please rest assured all of your comments have been carefully reviewed in order to improve our services. Our guest’s satisfaction is of the upmost importance to us and the service you describe in your review is certainly not the treatment we wish to provide our guests. We rely on repeat visitors and have become known for providing memorable vacation experiences throughout the years. It is thanks to feedback like yours that we can maintain the quality service we strive for. We do hope you will give us another chance so you can see the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus grove, ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just got home from our trip to the Sunset Royal in Cancun. Exceptional service people all over the resort. We have been members there since before the building was even built so I feel I can attest to this resort much better than many. It is a great place as long as you can put up with the time share sales pitch-over and over and over they try-not unlike many in Cancun however. Since this resort is not all that big I cannot help but wander where all the people they run through can possibly stay if they buy into this resort. After 20+ years of seeing this it just amazes me that it can continue to this day. Again, the resort has a great staff and they are extremely helpful and friendly. Now let's talk about the all-inclusive feature. I have been to many all inclusive resorts and this is probably one of the worst for the money I have ever seen. Over and over the same thing and the food quality is average at best. Unless you drink constantly and overeat everything there is no way on God's green earth you can ever justify doing the all-inclusive feature here, it is just too cost prohibitive for what you get. The beach is by far the best feature of the resort but beware that in some years the beach is different-hurricanes do affect the beach and how it appears from time to time. One of the nice features of the resort is the free shuttle service to the sister resorts both on a bus and on a boat. In conclusion, go and have a good time, avoid the time share people and enjoy the great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest; thank you for your lovely comments about Sunset Royal’s privileged location, definitely it is one of its main features for beach and also the downtown hotel zone location close to many entertainment and shopping venues. We are happy to know you are a repeat customer and value your feedback, please rest assured that all of your suggestions and opportunities for improvement have been taken into consideration. We are looking forward to seeing you back soon so you can see the changes to our service for yourself. Please be sure to visit the members website for updated resort and destination information as well as our live webcam that looks onto the beach. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The property was nice and clean, great view of the ocean and the beach was great, the breakfast seemed limited it was the same buffet everyday, and the dinners were alright. It was nice to have them themed but the flavors seemed similar each evening. HOWEVER the service was impeccable. On the first day we met Heidy. This your woman is wise beyond and courageous beyond her years. She was hard working and have the biggest smile on her face. She knew what we wanted by the second day and we followed her wherever she was serving. When she came on shift one day she came down the stairs for the first time with our drink order before she even talked to us. We would return just to see Heidy!

Room Tip: The rooms are kind of noisy because of the restaurant in the middle of the hotel. Get on one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunset Royal during your recent vacation in Cancun.

We are happy to hear about our staff, especially Heidy. We will share your kind compliments with her and we thank you on her behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please stay in touch with us on Facebook to be well informed about the latest on Sunset Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is my 15th time to this resort. Yes, I am an owner. This January the service that I received was exceptional especially from Jesus on bell service, Dario on snack service, Guadalupe and Alberto on breakfast service, Sergio and Felix on the front desk, Ricardo on room service (and also wait staff), and Samuel and Marisol on the entertainment team.
However two people went way over and above my expectations. Rosa the breakfast chef is the friendliest non-English speaking person I have met in the resort and her omelets and special treats are impeccable. For the first time in all the years I have been coming to this resort the chef at the outdoor grill, Vite, is personable, knowledgeable, funny, a damn good chef and quite frankly the best thing that has ever happened to the outdoor grill.

About 2 years ago I wrote a rather scathing letter regarding my disappointment at the deterioration of some of the services. Thankfully most of my issues have been addressed. I am again thoroughly enjoying my week at Royal Sunset. It was also really nice to have a crossing guard when we wanted to cross Kukulcan Blvd to take the boat to the Sunset Lagoon.

Room Tip: Above the 1st floor - ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We feel very honored to have you as an owner for such a long time.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a memorable vacation experience at your home resort, your comments reflect our commitment to quality service we have been providing throughout the past years. Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the good issues, such as bellboy service,activities and good food.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I recently traveled to the Sunset Royal with another couple and we were all very pleased with our experience. The service we received was very good overall, but Heidy was definitely the best. She took care of us everyday, whether it was by the pool or on the beach. She did such a great job, that we sat wherever she was working that day. I would highly recommend finding Heidy on your first day there, and she will take excellent care of you. Jorge and Jose also did a great job.

The food and drinks were as good as other all-inclusive destinations that we have visited. Buffet breakfasts and the a la carte dinners were both good, but the poolside food was the best. We set up our dinner reservations on the first day so we didn't have to worry about it, and it worked out great. Our room was clean and the ocean view can't be beat. We really enjoyed the boat rides to the Lagoon Resort, but the exceptional service and the great beach at the Royal made our vacation. We would all highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor.

It is very satisfying to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We will share your kind compliments with Heidy and we thank you on her behalf.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Royal Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Cancun Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulkan Km 10 Lote 13b | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Royal Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Royal Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.