We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quiet, Lots of walking involved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Suites Golf & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Suites Golf & Spa
Save
You added Laguna Suites Golf & Spa to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Pok Ta Pok Lote 3, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean & Quiet, Lots of walking involved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I donated money towards a colleagues' nonprofit and got this 5 nite stay as a bonus for being one of the firsts to donate. I chose this hotel because of the bad ratings of its affiliate location Ocean Hotel nearby. The suite was above average, clean and in a nice quiet location which is what I wanted. However it's located in a vacation rental location so it's a good 15 minute walk up to the main street to take the local buses. But I am proud to say that we both lost weight at this location from all the walking and being on the European plan, we were constantly walking around looking for decent meals. BIG TURNOFF was the timeshare sales pitch, it was not 90 minutes, more like 3+ hours and they were pushy as hell, I WILL NEVER attend another one, the locations they pitched was beautiful but the money they were asking for makes no sense for a family of 2 with only 1 week of vacation each year and the sales manager was nasty and pushy.
There is a small Grocery Store nearby that you can buy bottle water, beer, snacks and etc from. I think I am one of those people that must bring their own tempur pedic pillow because I could not sleep on the hotel pillow.

We spent 1 whole day on the La Isla de las Mujeres, take the Yellow Trans ferry, it's a big boat and it was fast. The one we took was small and took 1 hour to and from. Spend the money about 500 pesos to rent one of the golf carts for about 5 hours to get around the island. The view from Sur Ponte was amazing, too bad it's too rocky to go down.
And driving along the shore line offered amazing views. We had lunch at restaurant near the Turtle Farm, do not recommend, fish special was not fresh and we were attacked by flies sitting near the beach. The coconut ice for $1US was amazing for the small cup.

Weather during January - about 2 - 3 hours of sunny 78 degree weather each day, then it turns windy and chilly for the rest of the day, so bring sweatshirts. Overall it was an OK trip, not thrilling or relaxing as I want.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    184
    68
    29
    39
See reviews for
256
210
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My friends and I stayed at Laguna Suites through a promotional deal, like most of the other reviews I've read. We were picked up from the airport by the shuttle, and waited about 15 minutes before the other passengers arrived and we left for the hotel. Cancun is shaped like a 7, with all the fancy hotels being on the long part of the 7 and the cheaper ones being on the top of the 7. Laguna Suites is on a small island/isthmus at the corner of the 7.

The pool was small, but it had a swim up bar, which was nice. The tiles were a little old, but a pool is a pool. Behind the bar and the pool is an outdoor eating area. The food was okay, but I got a little sick afterwards. We didn't eat there again, because it was pretty expensive if you were not all-inclusive. Also, birds kept flying through the area, so that was annoying. The golf course was nice to look at.

The staff was friendly and professional. We had to remind them to refresh our towels once, but the room was cleaned every day. The concierge does try to get you to do a presentation, but you just have to tell him you don't want to. However, one of them told us we could book the scuba diving excursion in the morning. DON'T do that. It's gonna sell out! So that was annoying.

But we did do Chichenitza excursion. Bring lots of food and lots of water. The bus was fine, nothing fancy, but it got us there. The tour guide was knowledgeable but kept trying to sell us things. DON'T BUY THINGS ON THE WAY to Chichenitza, because they will be WAY cheaper when you get there. Trust me on this.

The rooms at Laguna were fine, very plain and basic. The mattresses were hard though - ouch! We had a double sink and a couch. Get an upper floor room and you can have a balcony. The whole place was very quiet, at night and during the day. The kitchen area left a lot to be desired, there was a fridge that never got cold, and no microwave. So don't buy lots of food until you make sure you have a fridge.

The bathroom was European style - with a shower "area" that had a border around it. Just prepare yourself and don't put stuff on the floor, as it will probably get wet.

It was easy enough to get around, as the shuttles left every hour or sooner. You could easily get to one of the other three hotels, on the beach, or go to a bigger pool. You could walk from the Sunset Royal to shopping areas, or just take a taxi.

Other than that, if you need somewhere quiet to stay, come here. If you want more action, try looking on the long side of the 7.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

After reading some of the reviews, my expectation was low, but after spending 5 nights there, it exceeded all my expectation. It was a quiet and peaceful atmoshere. September is their slow month so the place was about 25% full. Which was great for us. The main lobby,pool,restaurant, and spa were a few second from your front door. The stafff were outstanding and food was excellent. We had a free lobster dinner that was delicious. It was a 4 course meal and they cooked the lobster in front of us. The menu was limited and the price is on the high end. So if you like fine dining,drinking, and all the extras, I suggest you do the all-inclusive. We didn't do it, because we aren't drinkers.
We bought our package from Sam's Club also for $150. It was for 4 nights and they offer an extra night for free. We didn't want to go to the timeshare presentation, but the freebie they offer were hard to resist. Which included the lobster dinner and free breakfast for 5 days plus 2 for 1 tickets to Xcaret, (an all day water park). All the concierges were nice, especially Jonathan. He hook us up big time . The elderly shuttle driver on the morning shift was outstanding, he was friendly, helpful with all our questions. He even drop us off by the bus stop so we didn't have to walk. If you like crowds,water activites, being closer to the beach,and closer to nighlife, please don't stay here, stay at one of their sister resort the Ocean Spa Resort. but if you like peace and quiet, wonderful service, friendly staffs,excellent food, and maybe even a few harmless stray cats, then don't hestiant to stay here. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

For starters, this Hotel/Resort is directly in the middle of a residential neighborhood. The staff was friendly, but the language barrier was a huge problem for a resort that expects English speaking patrons. You could only talk to the one or two individuals who did speak some English, when they were available. The food was good, but overpriced and the service was slow. The room was the biggest problem. I am not a huge fan of marble floors, which required shoes or socks on all the time. The fridge was luke warm at best and did not keep anything cold. The shower had about a 1 inch lip from the shower floor up to the bathroom floor and with a clogged drain, the water from a 2 minute shower flowed from the shower into the bathroom and into the hallway; what a mess. When we did want to relax and watch a movie while waiting for the weather to cool off, when could only find one all English channel and had to either watch a movie or show spoken in English with Spanish subtitles (which you can't remove) or a movie spoken in Spanish (with no English subtitles) and tried to figure out what they were saying. It just seemed that this location did not attempt to cater to its guests.
One other issue we had was the difference in the exchange rate between U.S. dollar and the Peso. One U.S. dollar varied from 11.5 to 12.05 Pesos, why all the differentiation, you won't find that in the U.S.
What made this vacation a good one was the nightlife (clubs-Sweet, Slices and Roo) and sights and beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We came here through a Sam's Club promotion and really enjoyed our stay. The price was great, even after upgrading to all-inclusive, and we felt like we really got our money's worth. All of the food we had was delicious, the waitstaff was exceptional, and the quiet atmosphere was perfect for us. The room was spacious and ours was in a perfect location--right next to the pool/bar/restaurant! We'd definitely recommend this location over the sister hotels for the atmosphere, the food, and the waitstaff, but obviously you'll need to go to them if you want to go to the beach--which we did. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet resort with great wait staff, then you should come to Laguna Resorts. Our family (of six) enjoyed the restaurant, pool bar and pool since most of the time, it was just our family using the facilitieis during the day. The pool was too hot and small but not crowded. DO NOT get pressured in doing the "timeshare" tour, it WILL take you three hours and not worth your time unless you really want to purchase something. The other resorts (part of the marketing tour) were fun to use because of the access to the beach or other water activities. We ate at three of the resorts and found ourselves back at Laguna for the relaxed environment. The pool bar staff were incredible and made our holiday and ton of fun.
The rooms are bare, beds are uncomfortable, the daybed was dirty, made of foam and the shower ledge is just an inch higher than the floor - so we often would find water running out of the bathroom into the other rooms. The "living" area is separated from the bedroom but there is limited sitting and no TV in the "living" area. It was as if the rooms were set up in preparation for a drunken college spring break and they wanted to be sure that nothing gets damaged. We do not plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I am an animal lover as much as the next person.... BUT... stray cats are not apart of my idea of a vacation. My husband is allergic to cats... and began to itch and swell immediately. We were only checked in for ten minutes when a couple of cats met us at the lunch table. DISGUSTING~

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#85 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
1.5 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#69 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#43 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.3 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#66 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Suites Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Suites Golf & Spa

Address: Paseo Pok Ta Pok Lote 3, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Suites Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a privileged area, in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, inside the magnificent Pok Ta Pok Golf Club, Laguna Suites Golf + Spa shares the beautiful views of the golf course and unparalleled sunsets over Nichupte lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laguna Suites Golf + Hotel Cancun
Laguna Hotel Cancun
Laguna Suites Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Suites Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.