We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tacun

Tacun
Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
9985933638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 568 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Somers, New York
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate here one night while in Cancun to get a taste of some authentic Mexican food. This place was recommended to us by one of the locals, who worked a travel desk at our hotel. We weren't disappointed. Everything we tried was excellent. My favorite was the mole enchiladas. Price was very reasonable, ended up at about $20 per person including drinks & a good tip. Service was good, and outdoor seating suited us perfectly. Good place to visit for lunch or dinner if you have a chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    68
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This Place I Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great food at a great price. Something that is very hard to find in Cancun. Recently they have doubled in size and are still hitting it out of the park. Don't miss this small place near Margaritaville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I want more Garlic Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me, my husband and two kids visited this tiny little unassuming restaurant on our recent holiday in Cancun base on TA reviews. I must say that at first sight I wanted to turn around and walk away.
I am so glad I gave the place a chance, because the food at this little place was one of the best meals I had in Cancun ever. I ordered the Garlic shrimp and they where really large with amazing flavor. My husband had the grilled garlic fish and that was also very good... the portions are large and the price for four delicious meals with 2 beers was about $70us with the tip.
The staff was also very attentive and helpful with finding the right dish for my very picky 12 year old. This place is a must try when in Cancun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Accidental Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and my friend's spent a week in Cancun this past week and ate here several times. We were looking for something else, gave up, and ended up just stopping at this place we noticed on the side of the road. It was delicious, the staff was so nice, they danced with us, played the music we wanted to hear, made us the BEST strawberry daq's we've ever had (and added more alcohol when we told them we thought they were a little weak without any problems), definitely a must. I would say the sides are a little (just a little) pricey, but overall it is well worth the money (hints us going several times). There is no inside seating, so be prepared to be outside. However, it really wasn't that bad (and I am NOT an outdoors girl AT ALL).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to this place after shopping in Flamingo mall just across the street. The place is simply a street stand with a few tables. It is outdoor with no AC and minimum decoration.
We ordered tacos and a fruit plate. It turns out that the tacos are comparable to the ones we tried in down-town cancun, and the price is low compared to other restaurant in hotel zone. The fruit is very fresh and ice cold.

However, we think it would be better to go downtown for authentic tacos with lower prices, or go to restaurant in your hotel to enjoy the AC and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacun also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Tacun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.