We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 13-27th October. Fantastic hotel, we were really pleased with our choice. The staff are just brilliant, can't do enough for you and made us feel very welcome. They work incredibly hard for apparently very little money. Fortunately I think many people tip them which I'm sure makes a huge difference to them. We tipped everyone, not because we had to but because we felt they deserved it. Of course, we had our favourites who
always went the extra mile for us namely Diego - best barman ever! - who was just amazing behind the bar, incredible to watch him work. He was very friendly and we had many laughs with him, it was a pleasure to see him and his lovely smile every night. Also have to mention Salvador in the buffet restaurant at night, he looked after us very well, again always with a smile, nothing too much trouble.

The hotel itself is very clean, staff always busy maintaining the high standard. Food was good and they catered well for vegetarians, salad and veg always very fresh, which kept me happy! We visited all the speciality restaurants (I gave the steakhouse a miss but hubby says it was ok) the Japanese was definitely the best - we went back there for a second visit. Mexican was ok. Krystal was lovely but I have to say lacking in imagination for their vege option. I don't consider a bowl of vegetables covered in melted cheese to be 'fine dining'!

The one thing we weren't impressed with, which I suppose is not within the control of the hotel, was the way some of the American guests treated the staff. Very hard to hear the waiting staff, who work so hard, being spoken to like they were something they'd scraped off the bottom of their shoe really upset me. There is no excuse for bad manners. Arrogance taken to a new level.

We didn't do many trips while we were there, but would highly recommend the one we did do which was the platinum dolphin swim at Xel-Ha. Fantastic day at an amazing place. We would go back as we didn't get to see all of it due to the time spent with the dolphins. We swam with them a few years ago at discovery cove in Florida but that wasn't a patch on this place. It was the perfect way to end our stay. We also did a couple of trips to the shops at La Isla using public transport - 10 pesos seems to get you anywhere!

If you're travelling with Thomsons don't be conned into booking the VIP lounge at the airport - complete waste of money. Food was either biscuits or cheese and ham sandwiches - not much use if you're vegetarian, was told to pick the meat off! And only a limited selection of drinks available. Toilets were disgusting. Wasn't even a board to check for your flight.

All in all a great holiday. We will definitely go back and wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    505
    156
    54
    56
See reviews for
440
1,097
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our 1st time out of the country and to an all inclusive resort. The travel went as expected. Customs into Mexico was smooth. Finding our shuttle was easy after fighting our way through the airport vendors. Note, don't stop to talk to anyone! Find your shuttle service. Once in the shuttle it was about a 20 min ride to Riu. Very nicely placed in a safe area. Upon check in a bell boy put our bags to the side as we proceed to check in. We were given non-alcoholic beverage at check in. Quite tasty. Come to then find out, our room was not ready. And it was after 3 pm. They did not offer us an type of honeymoon upgrade. Didn't seem to care much that we were there to celebrate our special moment in life. Quite disappointing. So they told us it would be 30 min before our Villa was ready. Gave us our wrist bands and sent us to the bar. Service at the lobby bar was my least favorite of them all. He seemed to serve others 1st even after taking our drink order. We even tipped him $10 that went unnoticed our whole wk there. So finally we got to our Villa. This is a spectacular room and if you can afford it UPGRADE! We had the cheapest Junior Suite (hoping for our honeymoon upgrade). The room does have a smell because they keep a toilet wand brush full of cleaning fluid in the room. We kept our deck open to help with that. So we finally get settled in and check out the place. It is amazing, clean, full of friendly people. The pool bar gets rowdy, to be expected. The Villas have a VIP beach bar and pool if you want alone time. VERY nice, GREAT service ovre there. Each day there is entertainment at the main pool. It is quite fun! The servers nrver expected a tip but a coupls bicks do sem to get noticed which is fine. They play the same music over and over again at all the bars. Annoying after 2 days! The WIFI is aval but I found it hard to get on with your 1st try. It took about 4 times. Once on, speed was fine. The food was decent. The Italian restaurant was our 2 favorite to visit often. Note, they do not allow female swimsuits, but my husband had no prob getting in with his shorts. It is worth the quick change because the buffet is a buffet. Good and always something to munch on. But without a reservation this is the place to go. As for reservations, they do fill up. We were only able to make 3 out of the 6 nights we were there. Villa VIP restaurant was THE BEST hands down. Amazing service and food! Japanese was so so, and steak house served over cooked lobster. Both with slow service. Expect only one drink of you are not sharing a bottle of wine. One last honeymoon thing...we were expecting a bottle of champagne as a welcome gift according to their posting. Nope, didn't get it. Had to pretty much beg for it. It showed up the night of our 2nd stay. I also inquired about our "honeymoon room upgrade". After cking 4 days in a row they finally did put us in the King Villa for our last 2 nights. Amazing room and service. So all in all I would never go back for a honeymoon but for a typical vacation, yes. Very clean!! New!! Decent food!! Beautiful textured beachs. Go there while it is new! Oh also expect USA customs to take much longer. Kinda sad. Hope I was of help!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

the resort property very well kept and the food is very good.great swimming pools and had super gem the services is the top of the line, the price was great and you get more than you paid i think if i will go to cancun again i will
stay there

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

staff were very friendly and helpful. When we had an issue in the bathroom, We could have a nicer room right away and also had a better view.
Food were great and my parents were so happy about staying.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hi All Trip Advisor Fans!

We just returned from our 11 day 10 night trip to Riu Palace. We have been to Cancun every year for the past 12 years....Tried many resorts....some once (Avalon Grand) some twice (Grand Oasis) and some three times (Crown Paradise Club)....many others as well in the Playa/Riviera Maya area....I think we can provide an accurate review of the RIU based on our previous trips so I will try to do this quickly, although I never seem to do so...There is always so much to tell you so you can make you reservations and decisions on your own!

Booking: We book through Cheapcaribbean.com and have used them for all 12 years...Love the attentiveness they provide and you get the trip, airfare, transfers , room upgrades and even excursions ahead of time on line...Sun protection guarantee...Makes it easy to book and the price is amazing. The downfall is the connecting flights with CC but for the most part we were there within 4 hours to check in...longer going back. 3100.00 USD for 11 Days and 10 nights from Washington DC for the both of us! We actually spent more on this vacation because we had a BD and anniversary...Well worth it!

Airport: Just remember to walk straight through and NEVER STOP in the airport for ANYTHING...get out and look for your transfer ...Do Not buy excursions at the airport! Keep walking and get your transfer to the resort! If you choose not to do a transfer...be careful of catching a taxi...you should never pay more than 20.00 USD ....your resort is only 20 minutes from the airport....Now, on your way back, don't forget to spend some money at the duty free...Better deals than the resorts...Save your shopping for there if it is for Vanilla, or Coffee or little gifts...The Markets in town are great but way annoying....

Check in....We arrived at about 1:30pm and had a regular and very easy check in and the room we asked for was already waiting for us and we didn't have to wait till 3pm....We chose the tower over the villa's and glad we did....we got the superior ocean view room and asked for 6th floor or above (Tower is 17 floors)...they upgraded us to the same room but on the 11th floor...perfect...not too high or too low...The floor just above the big open square...which made it alot quieter! The villas have only 3 floors and no elevator...and they were going to charge us 49.00 more per night.... many people who stayed there with us looked at our room and immediately went to the desk for a room change which was agreed upon and they loved that change...Not all the villas face the pool (actually facing another building with no view of the ocean or pool)...the choice for the extra cost for the villa is not worth the pool or the restaurant...You can get into the Kulinarium and not stay in the Villas...we did twice!

Room: Super King bed or two beds depending on what you decide...Very comfortable bed(s) with pillows...ask for a few more...they are ok but add extra is better....Great air conditioning as long as you remember to leave one of your cards in the room holder so it stays cold...The ceiling fan is amazing as well....We went Oct. 14-24 and it was so hot in Cancun...It was great to sit out at any time on the balcony....excellent view and a great breeze! Room was amazing with plenty closet space, a super shower with rain forest head and a big tub off to the side! A liquor dispenser with Bacardi light rum, Don Julio Tequila, Smirnoff Vodka and Presidente Brandy....The fridge had Dos Equix can beer, water, sparkling water, 7up and Pepsi regular and Pepsi Light....Mark is a Coke Man but had not one issue...Just lovely...we also had Champagne for our special days as well! Can't ask for more! AMAZING! The bar and dispenser was filled daily...we left a tip in the refridg for the bar man and a tip for the maid daily...I will say we worried about who took what...We extra tipped the lady who cleaned our room cause it was pristine every day and had towel animals...we had to track her down cause we knew she did it so beautifully~!

Meals....I will just say the buffet wasn't the best we have been to...The al a carte restaurants were very good...the appetizers in the ala cartes at the Japanese, the Mexican and the Steakhouse were great...Krystal and Kulinarium had terrible appetizers...Don 't be afraid to say you don't like the appetizer and ask for a salad instead for the appetizer! The Filet Mignon at the steak house and the Kulinarium is the bomb! Excellent! We loved the sushi at the Japanese...I loved the fish at several of the restaurants....Sea Bass, Grouper, Red Snapper...can't go wrong! Desserts are not the best here...But they have a great coffee bar with milkshakes, irish coffees etc...

Entertainment: The pool people try really hard to entertain you and do a very good job! I loved Omar...he was very partalicious! He was so friendly and they didn't really bother you if you didn't want that type of join in thing! All drinks delivered to your seat on the pool or beach...just lovely! Music was better than every resort I have been to....lots of american and mexican music...not the usual Michael Jackson crap! The main lobby plays piano music in the evenings...The shows in the eve are pretty good.... they have a great large theatre that does music first from 9-10 then the show and then music again till midnight...it is worth the watching cause it is all outside and they have the best outside seating and bar area ! Well worth it to sit outside with the breeze and checking in with all the friends you meet!

Sports Bar~Well, we are American's and we love our Sports...World Series Baseball going on as well as Football...This sports bar was great for us as well as Mexican's enjoying their soccer as well....Much fun there! Mark and I so so enjoyed our bar tenders....Tony, Jostin and Max! They treated us like god! No better place to be after 10pm....Plenty of wide screen TV's...My husband takes over the remote...No Nascar, No Golf....We try to be kind and make sure everyone has something to see but boy....did we have a blast watching the BB series and football....I will say...us American's are louder than I would actually like but it was pretty cool! GO BOSTON and REDSKINS....will they put up our Jersey on the wall? I guess we will see next year! Drinks are amazing and not watered down at all....They are open 24/7...the food is bad....Fruit, pastries, Hamburgers/Hot Dogs and Nachos....But...lots of peeps eat that and like it!

Pools and Ocean.....Amazing...Gorgeous calm water that you can see to your feet...We brought a raft that we blew up for the pool and ocean, and passed it on when we left and it was wonderful! Great places for pictures and spa massages....Lovely...You could walk in the ocean or pool without a chill at all....The cleaners make sure that there is little to no sea grass on the property....They are building a dock on the property in between the Riu Palace and the Riu Caribe....gonna be great if you wanna stick a fishin pole out in Cancun...that is unheard of....first and best!

Drinks: Never watered down...If anything, a bit strong....Champagne Mimosa's and Bloody Mary's or Bloody Caesar's for breakfast....Just ask what you want for the rest of the day! You will not be dissapointed between pool/ocean service and what ever you want at night! All top shelf! And in AM or PM...the coffee bar...just right!

Excursions....A crap shoot....You can get from your trip company when you book or at the resort (we used Olympus) but you can also go off resort and go to the Aqua World or Walmart and they are fairly priced....remember, I told you NOT to get anything from the airport) . The Jungle Tour and the Isla Mujheres trips are great...the marina is two minutes down the beach...You can also do a fishing excursion as well for a great price! Barter with them~

I have already discussed the pros!

Cons:

Bathrooms....Only 2 sets over the whole resort....One by the pool and beach under the buffet or by the sports bar....that was a major issue.....

Some guests like outside cooking daily....this has none.....They don't want the birds bothering people....

Some guests like vendors out in the lobby at night with souveniers....None here.....

OVERALL...Delightful upclass resort where I never heard NO....I love that....Tipping is a plus...you are treated like royalty....I suggest trying this resort!

Please let me know if you want more information...Am absolutely willing to tell you more!

Michele Fenter
chelfenter@comcast.net

Room Tip: Superior Ocean View Suite 11th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me & my boyfriend went here 25th September for a week! This hotel is fantastic! The good thing about this all inclusive hotel is you can have anything even room service is free :) ! Staff are fantastic can't do enough for you! Your finished a drink and you have another ready for you!!! Everything about this hotel is just amazing!!!!! Will definitely come back here :) Coco Bongos is a must !!!!! Also The City was great nightlife is amazing in the town :) ---While we were there we called into Riu Caribe next door & Riu Cancun & Riu Las Americas about a 20 min walk away none are anywhere near the standard of this place!!!!!

Room Tip: 11th floor had a great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I hadn't been to Cancun in 15 years and was a bit concerned about going back. I chose Cancun this year due to the new Riu Palace there......I was overly surprised....The resort is spectacular, the service and food wonderful, the people extremely friendly and it's proximity to activities great. I would definitely add this resort as one of my top favorites. Absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: The Villas - ground floor, pool front......Cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.