We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It was our 3rd time at a Riu Palace, and again we found the service to be excellent. We had a few issues with the room which were quickly resolved.
We were able to check in early, and found the ocean view room to be very comfortable. We wished that the whirlpool tub was not right in the middle of the bedroom and that there was a place in the walk-in-shower to hang a robe. There was a nice shelf for toiletries, but no hook.
The pools were terrific! WE sat by the pool where the wonderful animation team entertained, but used the adjacent infinity pool. The bar service around the pool could not have been better.
The beach was not great - a little rocky, but another Riu property was nearby, and they had a great beach which we could use.
It is not in the middle of all the shopping and clubs. There are a couple of shops nearby, and the ferry to the Isle of Mujures is about a block away.
Great effort was put into the entertainment, both around the pool and in the evening. The band was especially great.
We went to book specialty restaurants as soon as we checked in. We were not able to book one for that night, but had no problem booking reservations for any other night. I would recommend going down to the desk when it opens at 8:00am. You can book for today and tomorrow.
It was a totally relaxing vacation. We were treated like friends by everyone, especially by Fernando, one of the managers in the restaurants.
We went by taxi to the shopping area, and our driver offered to wait for us! (no extra charge)
I have read reviews that say you should ask for a high floor. We were on 4, and it was fine - high enough.
I would encourage everyone to tip these people. They work so hard and so long. Your service will still be great if you don't, but you should. American dollars definitely accepted.
Stores take U.S. money, as do the taxis. I think unless you are going to take the bus which runs frequently, you won't need pesos. The bus is cheap and fast - a little scary fast- so unless you are nimble, take a taxi.
It was a great vacation. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    584
    181
    64
    63
See reviews for
507
1,264
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were moved here from the Riu palace in riveria maya and what good luckl, it is one the best hotels we have been to.Upgraded to a Villa style room and what a surprise it was. 24 hour wi-fi mini bar champagne everyday for the cost of a 100 peso tip to the waiter. pool area brilliant, service via the super Fernando was nothing short of excellant. Resteruant service was the same also so was all the bar services. superbly clean, and very friendly and helpful staff. Food was good, entertainment was also not bad. The entertainment staffs own productions were also good as well as very funny, better than i have seen elsewhere. Went to Coco Bongo's what a night, definitely worth the VIP table, also the trip to Coba brill. A place we shall go back to and reccomend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a perfectly relaxing week at the Palace Peninsula and this is definitely a hotel that we will go back to. Rather than repeat a description of the hotel and facilities, I think Calltravelgal of Atlanta, Georgia, said it all in her review of May 9th. What is special about this hotel, and most Riu’s, is the service and the employees. They are extremely hard working, always with a smile, and nothing is too much trouble. From the gardeners putting in new flower beds, to the maids and bartenders, to management at the hotel, everyone is quick to flash a smile and a “buenas dias” or “hola”. We loved our room, the food (oh that ice cream!), the cappuccino bar, the mixed drinks and the quiet of the beach where all we heard was the sound of the sea, rather than some hotels where the music is so intrusive that you could be anywhere. The friendly iguanas added charm to an already beautiful property. All we need to do now is plan our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views (obviously). All views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Amazing! Accommodations beautiful! Very clean, food great, drinks excellent and staff incredible ! We cannot wait to return! If you are a wind drinker- like me, you are limited to Chilean wine. I had to drink Mojitos!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villas- great! Very quiet area. Actually whole resort kind of quiet... Doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

>>>Totally amazing resort.
At less than 1 year old, what was observed raises the bar for over the top service and experience.
We booked ten days (May7-17) in their Deluxe Villa Jacuzzi Suite. What a room! Our EXCPETIONAL maid service was provided by Carmen. You should be so lucky as to have her provide the service for your room. We had towel animals everyday and the room was always spotless. We left notes requesting extra soda and water and every request was completed. She provides the best service I have experienced in any hotel. Truly an exceptional employee. She made us feel like family.
>>>What a pool!
There is a large private infinity pool for exclusive use of the Villas guests. No crowd and fantastic service. Fernando was the host for that pool and we never wanted for drinks or towels. The service he provided was wonderful. Ask for the Iced Coffee with Bailey’s, truly the best poolside drink. We never made it to their other outstanding pools, spoiled right from the start.
>>>Food was exceptional...Everywhere!
First the Buffet was better than any Vegas buffet. The food is wonderful and variety amazing. Their large selection of cheeses was unexpected and wonderful.
>>>Breakfast is only served at the Buffet and if you not careful, you will not have room for lunch or dinner. Food was fresh and hot, with multiple items prepared for you by their chefs.
>>>Lunch locations are two choices.
Buffet - and again we were impressed with the selection and variety. Some items are the same from day to day while others change. Steak, chicken, fish, burgers, Mexican, finger food. More choices than you can shake a stick at.
The other choice, surprisingly, is in the Italian restaurant. We were delighted to find that we were offered a sizable buffet of appetizers, salads, etc along with lunch menu items prepared when you order for the main course choice.
>>>Dinner…Oh my
We tried each “reservation” restaurant. Krystal Fusion restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Mexican restaurant, a Grill and Steakhouse and the wonderful Villas restaurant Kulinarium. The Italian restaurant serves the same menu Lunch and dinner so we only had lunch there. We rated as follows. Kulinarium was the best (ask for Richard to be the server for you—he was the best waiter in the entire resort!!). Krystal was next followed by the Buffet, Grill and Steakhouse, and finally Mexican. I am sure you may find your likes differ, but this is a fair representation. Yes, the dinner buffet is so well presented and the food quality so high that we actually rated it above two other choices.
>>>Drinks
Top shelf and well poured. Never had a watery drink. Great bartenders provided top shelf service.
>>>Entertainment
Make sure to save energy for the evening shows. I have paid for seating at shows in Vegas that were not as much fun as what this resort provides for you.
>>Would we go again
In a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Riu Peninsula in Cancun last night, and I am not a person to really waste time and writing reviews but with this particular hotel it deserves the best rating. The quality and selection of food was by far astonishing, had delicious taste to everything you ate, freshness and hotel staff were 10 stars. Very accomodating, friendly, polite. We had an amazing view, unlimited drinking, when room service came everyday they made sure our fridge was re stocked with pepsi, 7-up, beer, water and canadian dry. They always made sure your 5 bottles of hard liquor in your room was full, and this hotel offered 24 hour room service. Me and my 4 other friends who joined me on this trip and all stayed in the Riu Peninsula saw how hard working these mexican employees were, they strived for perfection for everything. The hotel offers 6 restaurants in which you can make reservations and go eat there and it is included in your all inclusive package. The hotel offers great pool amentities and is right beside the beach. I cannot complain at all about the hotel, its staff, or service it was 10/10 stars. If you ever been to cancun or it is your first time try this hotel you will not be dissappointed it is worth every penny

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

just got back from the peninsular,excellent hotel only just over a year old.the best thing about this hotel has got to be the pool areas and the beach.we have been to quite a few places in mexico including the other riu palace las americas,we paid a visit to see the place again and the peninsular wins easy.this place has 5 pools,one for vip use only and 4 for the rest of us ...pool bar is really just a pool bar great fun if you can put up with over the top americans telling us in thier way that they are having a great time!!!.the beach is also good,not for you if you fancy long walks but great for swimming.there is a rocky side to the right but there has been steps built into the rocks, once in the water the sand underneath is superb the beach straight infront is also good ,you can walk straight into the water here.the grounds are huge no need to get up early to reserve your sun lounger!!!! one of my really bug bears!!! the food is generally good buffets are usually the same wherever you go,this one seems to be a bit better than the others i have tried. there are 5 a-la-carte restaurants.you have to book these in the lobby.from 8oclock in the morning,again not really a problem isit.the food and service can differ in these a-la-cartes,I,ll let you decide because it can and does change daily.entertainment .again the evenings at these type of hotels are generally the same wherever you go..the reps do a great job and the dancers do their best,the shows can be cheesy but so what .this hotel is not for you party animals because come 10.30 -11.00 the hotel becomes quiet if you like this come to this hotel.one thing i would like/change is that there should be a bbq during the day by the pool..they do sometimes have a paella on but really should have ..burgers/chicken/fish/fries etc available otherwise you have to cover yourself up to go eat in the buffet again this is just my thoughts and for some of you this does not matter.rooms ,all rooms have great sea views so dont worry.they are very clean and modern the bath situation could cause issues ....fun ones or embarrassing ones .go have a shower and all will be ok!!!! overall this hotel ticks all the right buttons if you look for problems you will find them but you can find problems wherever you are in the world so why bother go on your holiday relax have fun enjoy i wish i was still there especially why i look out my window and see this rubbish british weather we allways have!!! .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.