We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #14 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Chelsea, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a perfectly relaxing week at the Palace Peninsula and this is definitely a hotel that we will go back to. Rather than repeat a description of the hotel and facilities, I think Calltravelgal of Atlanta, Georgia, said it all in her review of May 9th. What is special about this hotel, and most Riu’s, is the service and the employees. They are extremely hard working, always with a smile, and nothing is too much trouble. From the gardeners putting in new flower beds, to the maids and bartenders, to management at the hotel, everyone is quick to flash a smile and a “buenas dias” or “hola”. We loved our room, the food (oh that ice cream!), the cappuccino bar, the mixed drinks and the quiet of the beach where all we heard was the sound of the sea, rather than some hotels where the music is so intrusive that you could be anywhere. The friendly iguanas added charm to an already beautiful property. All we need to do now is plan our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views (obviously). All views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,056
    415
    135
    49
    49
See reviews for
364
847
30
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Amazing! Accommodations beautiful! Very clean, food great, drinks excellent and staff incredible ! We cannot wait to return! If you are a wind drinker- like me, you are limited to Chilean wine. I had to drink Mojitos!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villas- great! Very quiet area. Actually whole resort kind of quiet... Doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

>>>Totally amazing resort.
At less than 1 year old, what was observed raises the bar for over the top service and experience.
We booked ten days (May7-17) in their Deluxe Villa Jacuzzi Suite. What a room! Our EXCPETIONAL maid service was provided by Carmen. You should be so lucky as to have her provide the service for your room. We had towel animals everyday and the room was always spotless. We left notes requesting extra soda and water and every request was completed. She provides the best service I have experienced in any hotel. Truly an exceptional employee. She made us feel like family.
>>>What a pool!
There is a large private infinity pool for exclusive use of the Villas guests. No crowd and fantastic service. Fernando was the host for that pool and we never wanted for drinks or towels. The service he provided was wonderful. Ask for the Iced Coffee with Bailey’s, truly the best poolside drink. We never made it to their other outstanding pools, spoiled right from the start.
>>>Food was exceptional...Everywhere!
First the Buffet was better than any Vegas buffet. The food is wonderful and variety amazing. Their large selection of cheeses was unexpected and wonderful.
>>>Breakfast is only served at the Buffet and if you not careful, you will not have room for lunch or dinner. Food was fresh and hot, with multiple items prepared for you by their chefs.
>>>Lunch locations are two choices.
Buffet - and again we were impressed with the selection and variety. Some items are the same from day to day while others change. Steak, chicken, fish, burgers, Mexican, finger food. More choices than you can shake a stick at.
The other choice, surprisingly, is in the Italian restaurant. We were delighted to find that we were offered a sizable buffet of appetizers, salads, etc along with lunch menu items prepared when you order for the main course choice.
>>>Dinner…Oh my
We tried each “reservation” restaurant. Krystal Fusion restaurant, a Japanese restaurant, a Mexican restaurant, a Grill and Steakhouse and the wonderful Villas restaurant Kulinarium. The Italian restaurant serves the same menu Lunch and dinner so we only had lunch there. We rated as follows. Kulinarium was the best (ask for Richard to be the server for you—he was the best waiter in the entire resort!!). Krystal was next followed by the Buffet, Grill and Steakhouse, and finally Mexican. I am sure you may find your likes differ, but this is a fair representation. Yes, the dinner buffet is so well presented and the food quality so high that we actually rated it above two other choices.
>>>Drinks
Top shelf and well poured. Never had a watery drink. Great bartenders provided top shelf service.
>>>Entertainment
Make sure to save energy for the evening shows. I have paid for seating at shows in Vegas that were not as much fun as what this resort provides for you.
>>Would we go again
In a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Riu Peninsula in Cancun last night, and I am not a person to really waste time and writing reviews but with this particular hotel it deserves the best rating. The quality and selection of food was by far astonishing, had delicious taste to everything you ate, freshness and hotel staff were 10 stars. Very accomodating, friendly, polite. We had an amazing view, unlimited drinking, when room service came everyday they made sure our fridge was re stocked with pepsi, 7-up, beer, water and canadian dry. They always made sure your 5 bottles of hard liquor in your room was full, and this hotel offered 24 hour room service. Me and my 4 other friends who joined me on this trip and all stayed in the Riu Peninsula saw how hard working these mexican employees were, they strived for perfection for everything. The hotel offers 6 restaurants in which you can make reservations and go eat there and it is included in your all inclusive package. The hotel offers great pool amentities and is right beside the beach. I cannot complain at all about the hotel, its staff, or service it was 10/10 stars. If you ever been to cancun or it is your first time try this hotel you will not be dissappointed it is worth every penny

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

just got back from the peninsular,excellent hotel only just over a year old.the best thing about this hotel has got to be the pool areas and the beach.we have been to quite a few places in mexico including the other riu palace las americas,we paid a visit to see the place again and the peninsular wins easy.this place has 5 pools,one for vip use only and 4 for the rest of us ...pool bar is really just a pool bar great fun if you can put up with over the top americans telling us in thier way that they are having a great time!!!.the beach is also good,not for you if you fancy long walks but great for swimming.there is a rocky side to the right but there has been steps built into the rocks, once in the water the sand underneath is superb the beach straight infront is also good ,you can walk straight into the water here.the grounds are huge no need to get up early to reserve your sun lounger!!!! one of my really bug bears!!! the food is generally good buffets are usually the same wherever you go,this one seems to be a bit better than the others i have tried. there are 5 a-la-carte restaurants.you have to book these in the lobby.from 8oclock in the morning,again not really a problem isit.the food and service can differ in these a-la-cartes,I,ll let you decide because it can and does change daily.entertainment .again the evenings at these type of hotels are generally the same wherever you go..the reps do a great job and the dancers do their best,the shows can be cheesy but so what .this hotel is not for you party animals because come 10.30 -11.00 the hotel becomes quiet if you like this come to this hotel.one thing i would like/change is that there should be a bbq during the day by the pool..they do sometimes have a paella on but really should have ..burgers/chicken/fish/fries etc available otherwise you have to cover yourself up to go eat in the buffet again this is just my thoughts and for some of you this does not matter.rooms ,all rooms have great sea views so dont worry.they are very clean and modern the bath situation could cause issues ....fun ones or embarrassing ones .go have a shower and all will be ok!!!! overall this hotel ticks all the right buttons if you look for problems you will find them but you can find problems wherever you are in the world so why bother go on your holiday relax have fun enjoy i wish i was still there especially why i look out my window and see this rubbish british weather we allways have!!! .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I took my Dad to Cancun to get him to relax a little, and chose the Riu Palace Peninsula mostly due to the location of the Hotel to all the attractions we were doing. It was a great place with great people. The Sports Bar had the best Bar Tender in the whole place named David! He kept your drinks full and far from watered down. He was there to make sure you had a great time. The only complaint I had was we booked a reservation to Krytal Fusion Restaurant for one night and was asked to leave as soon as we walked in with dress shorts with a very hateful attitude from the man at the door. We complained to management from the attitude of the fellow and it was corrected immediately, and offered a reservation at one of the other restaurants that did not require dress slacks. The people at this hotel made sure they provided the best service possible with the most friendly attitudes. I could not have been more happy with my stay here! I highly recommend this hotel along with the Riu Palace Las Americas also from a previous stay.

A few of the down sides which are few are the Buffet got a little old after two weeks of eating the food. The food was great the first few days but became a little old after the first week.

The beach was a little rocky on one side of it, but they had another Riu Resort next door with a perfect beach that was accessible if your interested.

The Bar Pool was great fun when we first arrived but after looking down on the pool and seen the haze from the massive amount of urine compared to the clarity of the other pools, kinda made you skeptical about returning to it.

On in all a greatly ran place with an excellent staff to cater to all your wants and needs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

i really really enjoyed this resort. i got back early this morning (23/5). The hotel is lovely, and they rooms are big and cleaned daily. The hotel is well maintained and all the staff are lovely and very well mannered. The buffets were good and there was a lot of food & a lot of choice. I went to two of the specialty restaurants, the Japanese and the steak house. The Japanese restaurant was amazing! the food was brilliant and they had the decor was great too. The steak house was not as good, it was situated in the buffet area where breakfast & lunch is served. so there was no special decor or a door for that matter. people from the dinner buffet service were right next to you. it wasn't very special.

i would suggest going, but just not to visit the steak 'house'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.