We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a beautiful resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that I'm a travel agent, and have been to many resorts in Cancun, and other places. Love the Riu chain.
This resort is by far probably the best we've stayed at in Cancun. Beautiful grounds, pools, lobby, resort itself. Everything is just gorgeous.
Not too much of a beach there, but you can walk over to Riu Caribe, and use theirs, it's only a few seconds walk. And we used Riu Caribe's facilities a lot, since I have booked a huge group of friends there as well.
The restaurants and the buffet at the resort are amazing (they serve lobster tail, caviar, etc... on daily basis).
We didn't go to night shows, so can't say anything about that.
Please ask me if you have any questions on this resort or any others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    619
    191
    67
    64
See reviews for
537
1,325
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that I have stayed at the majority of the RIU properties in the Caribbean along with a number of other chains. This hotel is huge which lends itself to way to many people in one place. It is ultra modern and very PURPLE. Very little beach for so many people and the pool layout is wierd with small pools everywhere like a jigsaw puzzle and sparse landscaping. You really do not feel like you are in the Caribbean.
The food was very good. Anyone who complains about variety on the buffet is way to hard to please. There is something for everyone. As is typical for the RIU properties you have to line up in the lobby for reservations for dining. When we arrived we could not get into the alacarte restaurants for the first three nights. They will not prebook restauants before you go so don't even bother trying. The steakhouse was excellent as was the Mexican and Italian.
The waiters at the pools were excellent. Great job Jesus. Very personable and prompt.
The location of this hotel is not within walking distance to anything so you must take a cab or bus. Very inconvenient. We stayed at the RIU Palace Las Americas in the past and found it to be much better with shopping on your doorstep. The Villa section is very nice but no extras for the upgrade other that a separate pool and quieter during the day. At night there is a bar close by on property by the villas that attracts the partiers so be aware it can get pretty noisy.
Rooms were spacious but double vanity was small. Not much counter space. Noise from halls comes right through into the rooms at night when you are trying to sleep.
The Capacino Cafe in the lobby is the best part of this resort. Right in the lobby but never very busy and they make excellent coffee, desserts and milkshakes.
The inside of the hotel is extremely nice but the outside landscaping by the pools leaves a lot to be desired. Not enough vegatation.
Personally we liked the RIU Caribe next door far better for outside space, pool, lanscaping and beach. Save your money and stay there as there were not enough pluses to justify the difference in cost.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be the same but the higher floors have magnificant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'm not one who normally writes reviews but have seen some recent ones and thought I would share my opinion I have just got back from a 2 week holiday in this amazing hotel.

Firstly the service from staff is fantastic all round, and a little tip goes a very long way.

Rooms were clean and very spacious . With a very very big king size bed both me n my husband could create star shape and still not touch! We had a room on the 17th floor and the views were amazing . Lifts were excellent never crowded and were quick to arrive .

The Restaurants are really nice especially the Krystal and Italian. The buffet restaurant also offers a great selection

As in recent reviews that have been written about being sick nobody in our party was ill nor spoke to anyone else who was. And I never cleaned by teeth with bottled water and i drank numerous ice cocktails e.g daiquiris and had a variety of food from salad, meat and seafood. Therefore if it was something in the food preparation we would have most certainly been ill but was NOT!

Overall this is an amazing hotel with good staff, rooms and food!!! Will certainly be returning . X x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at the Riu Palace Peninsula from April 11-16th. I had high hopes for this hotel after doing a lot of research. The trip was a birthday present for my boyfriend. I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to let them know that we were celebrating a birthday while we were there. I had seen other reviews from people that had great surprises and great customer service. To my disappointment they didn't even acknowledge my boyfriends birthday. They didn't greet us with any drinks when we arrived, and they didn't have a room ready for us. We spend the first night in a room with two small beds. Very disappointed with the customer service. This hotel is lacking organization and customer service.

The property is beautiful and very clean! The hotel workers are cleaning all the time. I loved the beach. I thought that the rocky part of the beach was the most beautiful part! The restaurant reservation system is a joke! The reservation times are horrible! Nice hotel, but not great.

Room Tip: There are bad rooms. Our first room was 504 and faced the lagoon and not the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The RIU Peninsula was great. We just came back from a 5 night stay, had a JR suite on the 17th floor, fantastic view. We are an older couple (early 60’s) but enjoyed what some complained about in the loud music at times around the pool. If you don’t like it, move further down closer to the beach. Speaking of the beach, it is small, but access via steps along the rocks was also great. Food, we arrived Thursday and that is the buffet special night, lobster tail, yum yum. We didn’t hit any of the specialty restaurants as we thought the buffet was very good, great selection at all three meals. Staff was very friendly always available refilling drinks, answering questions etc. Alessta, the Hospitality Manager went out of her way to address customer concerns and just being friendly. One would say that is her job; well, she was excellent!!!! Would we return, you bet ya.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but above the 10th floor is a better view of the pools etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The week started out great but there were a few minor hiccups - restaurant reservations were difficult to make and the desk to do so was always busy (you had to wait in line).
The drink selection is vast but all the drinks are made with syrups/mixes and were a little odd tasting (ie Don't expect your strawberry daquiri to taste like strawberries...).
The major issue we had was getting really, really sick. There were 3 couples on this trip and all 6 people got sick. Only 3 of us had projectile vomiting but everyone had horrific bathroom issues. We all only drank bottled water and even brushed our teeth with bottled water. We spoke with several other people who stayed there during the same time and they had sick family and/or friends also.
Hopefully they just have some kinks to work out in the kitchen/ water filtration systems.
If you decide to stay here, I would highly advise packing anti-nausea and anti-diarrhea medications.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

For older teens the Riu is a perfect place for them to meet other teens and young adults in a safe and secure environment. They could visit other Rius in the area but stayed away from clubs because of the cost. They had a great time feeling grown up while the parents were reassured of their safety.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.