We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royal Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royal Lagoon to your Saves list
Grand Royal Lagoon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Quetzal No. 8-A | Boulevard Kukulcán Km 7.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value and very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Was looking for a value hotel, stayed 6 nights and it was much better than I had even hoped for after reading the reviews. Nice size room, great towels, soft toilet paper, spacious shower, nice pool area. The on-site outdoor tiki hut restaurant was perfect...great food prepared on-site at low prices and overlooking the lagoon view. Hotel was well-kept, quiet, and very close to inexpensive market and excellent mexican food. Could walk to part zone and beach in 15 minutes, or take bus. Bed was firm/hard, but I much preferred that versus a saggy mattress...I slept just fine.
Purposely did not get breakfast included on room rate, after reading reviews, but instead had excellent choice of breakfast at the onsite tiki hut for ~$4. Besides their excellent mexican dishes, they had a killer wings/fries plate for $6.
I would definitely stay again, for the $50/night special rate I paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    67
    32
    8
    17
See reviews for
20
51
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Grand Royal Lagoon is a functional hotel, lacking character but acceptable for the price. The rooms are clean and bright and the beds are comfortable although the air con was very noisy! When we were there wifi only worked in the reception area, not in the bedroom which was frustrating. We told the manager so hope it is fixed asap. Worth checking before you book if wifi is important to you.

The outside area is small but nicely laid out with a small swimming pool and a garden overlooking the lagoon (with crocodiles!). Breakfast was served in the garden but closed at 3 which is a shame as it would be nice to have a couple of beers and snacks available at the breakfast bar in the evening.

The Grand Royal is located in the 'hotel zone' of Cancun as opposed to downtown which is about a ten minute taxi ride away. If you want to go to the beach you will need to buy a day pass to one of the hotels as most (if not all) the hotels which face the beach are all inclusives so non residents do not have automatic access. This also has implications for drinks, food and entertainment in the evening. There are restaurants and some bars next to the busy main road, but again without a pass you will not be able to have a drink or eat in any of the hotels. We got a day pass one day to Le Blanc (from 7am to 11pm) which was lovely and good value considering it's one of Cancun's top hotels and the other days we went to downtown Cancun. We found a couple of decent restaurants and bars in the centre of Cancun but weren't bowled over by the choice to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

First, the location is off on TA. If you have a map application, type in the address, not the name of the hotel. The road is right at the edge of the golf course and less than a block off Kulkulcan road...easy to walk.
Second, I'm not sure why there is such disparity in the reviews. Our room on the ground floor facing the pool was very clean, the pool was fabulous, the grounds were well maintained and lovely, and other than the last night when a group of young adults came in late and were very loud, it was quiet and felt safe and secure. Juan at the front desk, while not greatly outgoing, spoke great English and was very polite and helpful. They are working on upgrading and sprucing up the rooms.We requested a refrigerator and there is a nice size grocery store a 10 minute or less walk. No microwave or coffee maker available though.
Third, the continental breakfast, for us, was not really worth the money added on to the room charge. It consisted of a small plate of fresh fruit, 2 pieces of toast, orange juice and coffee. If that is all you want, maybe it is worth it. They do have a very nice breakfast menu and Esperanza, Sandra and the rest of the crew were lovely!
Fourth, while not on the beach, there are two public beaches about 15 minute walking distance as well as the ferry terminal for Isla Mujeres and Corucan shopping center
We would come back here, definately.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We took your advice trip advisor peeps and were ok with a so called 3 star hotel because we never spend time in the hotels other than to sleep and change clothes when traveling. Appearently all the hustling of cancun reached tripadvisor forums also because the good reviews this hotel got were 100% off.
Got greeted by a rude man, what evs, i speak Spanish as i am Mexican, so i knew how to communicate with the staff. We get to our room...ummm, not to good but again we r not picky about hotels just want and need the necessities as we rather spend our money on the tour trips and adventures. Our tv didnt work, i mean it didnt even turn on, our bed sheet had blood on it, that was the point i had to go ask for a new sheet and added that the tv didnt work either not that that was a big issue but the sheet with blood, come on. The man a different rude man from the first mentioned seemed annoyed and mumbled " ugh, chicanas" basically trying to insult that i was. Mexican from the u.s and i guess asking for to much. I responded with an excuse me? and he just acted as if he didnt say anything. Two hours later no one came to our room so i sent my husband over because I was upset. He finally came and brought the sheet but didnt fix the tv. Ok who cares.
Next day toilet didnt work. We had to again ask for assistance. Boy what a hassle that was. They again waited til we went back twice to come fix it then got mad at us for putting toilet paper in the toilet. They said dont put the toilet paper in the toilet!
continental breakfast was hard toast, thin sliced melon and papaya and coffee with a nasty tang orange juice.
we also put up the dont disturb sign for no clean up while we are away and they came in anyway.
we ran out of towels and i went to the front to ask for some, again i was made to feel uncomfortable so i just became rude and that seemed to make me feel a lil better but wow. Our room also had little tiny ant bugs of some sort in the bathroom sink area at all times, we ignored that. safe in the room had a blown out lock so no safe at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall it's fine, rooms are very old but clean and it is cheap.
It faces the laguna, so you won't have access to the nice Caribbean beaches.
So if you're just looking for a cheap decent place for your excursions, it will work very well, but if you're looking for the real Cancun experience it's not the right place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in Cancún, it was cheap and convenient. Walking distance to clubs in the hotel zone, which is what we wanted. It was clean. Our room was next to the main entrance to the rooms at the ground floor. It wasn't a problem as we only stayed one night and came back very late. We typed a note that it was our honeymoon on our booking, which wasn't acknowledged in our stay. We had continental breakfast included, which was a waste of money: toast was hard, juice seemed to be 2 days old. Overall you can't expect much for such a low price hotel in that area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had no idea what to expect. a positive review around 84% was good enough for me. the location was perfect. no all inclusive hotels too close, yet party central was close as was shopping. there were also small eateries that scored a 10 in my book for both pizza and shrimp/fish tacos. they were right on the main drag just 100 metros from the hotel. the pool was wonderful, breakfast in the mornings was spectacular...outside under the new morning sun with the two local iguanas roaming the lawn. overall a totally friendly atmosphere. All guests greeted each other with a warm "hola" regardless of your origin. would i recommend this hotel?? without a doubt yes i would. one night isn't enough to pass judgement, but after a week, you will be sold.

Room Tip: i took what the offered me. i was happy with 10 steps to the pool. i didn't need more than tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.9 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#88 of 178 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#52 of 178 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Imperial Las Perlas Cancun Condos
4.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Lagoon

Address: Calle Quetzal No. 8-A | Boulevard Kukulcán Km 7.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Royal Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Royal Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Lagoon Cancun
Grand Royal Lagoon Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royal Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.