We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador

El Conquistador
Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 649 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best "steaks" in Cancun. I've eaten there many times while staying @ the Royal Sands.
Atomshere, service & food is outstanding. It's a pleasure to dine there. Would highly recommend , if you like a great steak.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    42
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Connecticut
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
“WILL BE MISSED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

During our Cancun stay, we were looking for a very nice dining experiance. We found this at the El Conquesador. Great wait staff and great food. We understand that the hotel will be sold and the restaurant closed or moved to the Royal Islander. I hope it is the latter. Please keep your well trained staff in the new location. It would be a shame to loose such Professionals.
Jerry The K in Ct.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We love this place, and we will miss it dearly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been an owner at the Royal Caribbean for over 20 years. El Conquistador is located in the Royal Mayan, the sister timeshare ownership resort, which is right next door. The resort will be sold this year. My husband & I have enjoyed dinners here every time we are in Cancun. Thank you to the maitre d', Jesus, for many years of class & elegance, and to the chef & the service staff for wonderful food & service on each occasion. Thanks to Duran, the wonderful acoustic guitar player with whom they have had an arrangement for many years. Love your Mayan coffee, love everything about the place! We hope that El Conquistador will relocate to another one of the Royal Resorts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great night in cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Elegant restaurant with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Everything was so delicious - Try their seafood pastas! After few disappointments with touristy, expensive restaurants, we found this place and we went back every night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“El Conquistador Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Located in the Royal Mayan this restaurant is a fantastic place to have a celebration. Although the ambience is not really conducive to a romantic evening (tables are too close) the lighting and food make it so. It is a little pricey and the service could be improved(an ordered drink never received) the food is superb!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Conquistador also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Conquistador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.