We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tankah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tankah to your Saves list
Hotel Tankah
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tankah 69 y 70 SM 24 Mz 3, Cancun 7750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good price for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, stay someplace else. Cost per night is 200-400 more in neighboring hotels so this fit my buget. You better be fairly fluent in Spanish, not too much Enlish spoken.
I found the hotel location and staff are very good. I only slept there as I spent most of my time out and about.

The hotel is close to Parque de Palapas, always something going on there with good food served cheaply at the stands.Maercado 28 is a great tourist trap and virtually across the street. Expect to pay 60% of the starting price, max., if you decide to but anything. Great selection of handcraft and hats amid all the landfill...

Room Tip: No room service....sleep away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

i have stayed the hotel for 2 days to attend cardiology at cancun 2014 in Marriot Casamagna hotel and resort. this hotel has no lift but it is 4 storied building. wi fi condition is poor. front desk staffs are not well co-operaed. it is far away rom airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporativo H, General Manager at Hotel Tankah, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. There are hotel choices for every taste and budget. One of the things we do not offer is luxury. We did offer a very affordable rate at 33 USD per night for a room with private bathroom, air conditioning, double beds, wi fi access, parking and other small amenities. We are sorry that you found our hotel very bad, but other than not having the services you like we can not see in your review what was the problem with your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have stayed here two separate times, both for two nights. Once in December 2013 and again in February 2014. The online rates are amazing, especially for what you get. It is not the fanciest hotel around but you get more than what you need plus a little more. The rooms are comfortable with two large beds, a little sitting area and a nice bathroom. Water worked well and you had to wait a bit for the hot water but when it came it lasted as long as you needed. The wifi works great and there is hot/cold water dispensers available in the hallways on each floor which is nice. The hotel is not very centered in the city but this means it is very quiet which is a very nice bonus.

After three months in central America and Mexico we were glad to finally have a quiet place with all of our hotel needs met for a good price. Book online and you won't regret the stay you have here.

Room Tip: We stayed on both the second and third floors and they were both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Next to the market 28. Walking distance to the main bus station (though you will need directions)
Took the bus to the hotel zone for 75 cents which was well worth not spending tons of money for all inclusive .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Booked through hostelbookers and it came up to 180 pesos for 2 people. The official rate posted behind the reception desk is 500 pesos though. There's no way I'd pay that much but then again hostels and hotels in Cancun are way overpriced -and I know what I'm talking about as Ive travelled all over the country. Room had a musty smell as we walked in but went away once the (noisy) aircon was turned on. Room was spacious and had a tv although we didn't really use it. Hot water took a bit too long to come through so you have to leave the water running for several minutes, which is a waste. Daily housekeeping. Overall had a good experience and for 180 pesos cannot go wrong! You also get a complimentary local phone call.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a much better choice than staying in a dorm. I booked thru hostel bookers incl basic breakfast for unbeatable 230 Pesos for 2 people. We got a big room, a/c, free water and good wifi is everywhere. The official price at reception is much higher but they still agreed on the same rate when we returned back to Cancun. Don't expect a luxury room, but its clean and ok. Would go there again. Taxi from ADO Busstation is 40 Pesos. Take a taxi when with luggage, otherwise walking is fine. Area is safe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Tankah from October 26 to November 5, 2013 and had a very pleasent stay. At the rate offered the hotel has very good amenties to match such as A/C, Hot water, bottled water, TV (only Spanish) and telephone. Housekeeping is very prompt so you will have clean sheets and clean room everyday unlike other hotels who do housekeeping every 3rd day. I am happy to report that there were no bed bugs. Staff is very friendly especially Marie (please leave her a good tip for all the hard work she does). There is reasonably inexpensive food around and at Mercado 28. You can walk or take a taxi to the ADO bus station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tankah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tankah

Address: Avenida Tankah 69 y 70 SM 24 Mz 3, Cancun 7750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tankah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tankah is located a few steps away from the Market 28, one of the largest handcraft markets in the city. We offer rooms that are clean and basic. The ideal location for the independent traveller or business man who is looking for a place for a hot shower and a clean bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tankah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankah Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tankah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.