We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tankah

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tankah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tankah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tankah 69 y 70 SM 24 Mz 3, Cancun 7750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth staying ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Next to the market 28. Walking distance to the main bus station (though you will need directions)
Took the bus to the hotel zone for 75 cents which was well worth not spending tons of money for all inclusive .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
6
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Booked through hostelbookers and it came up to 180 pesos for 2 people. The official rate posted behind the reception desk is 500 pesos though. There's no way I'd pay that much but then again hostels and hotels in Cancun are way overpriced -and I know what I'm talking about as Ive travelled all over the country. Room had a musty smell as we walked in but went away once the (noisy) aircon was turned on. Room was spacious and had a tv although we didn't really use it. Hot water took a bit too long to come through so you have to leave the water running for several minutes, which is a waste. Daily housekeeping. Overall had a good experience and for 180 pesos cannot go wrong! You also get a complimentary local phone call.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a much better choice than staying in a dorm. I booked thru hostel bookers incl basic breakfast for unbeatable 230 Pesos for 2 people. We got a big room, a/c, free water and good wifi is everywhere. The official price at reception is much higher but they still agreed on the same rate when we returned back to Cancun. Don't expect a luxury room, but its clean and ok. Would go there again. Taxi from ADO Busstation is 40 Pesos. Take a taxi when with luggage, otherwise walking is fine. Area is safe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Tankah from October 26 to November 5, 2013 and had a very pleasent stay. At the rate offered the hotel has very good amenties to match such as A/C, Hot water, bottled water, TV (only Spanish) and telephone. Housekeeping is very prompt so you will have clean sheets and clean room everyday unlike other hotels who do housekeeping every 3rd day. I am happy to report that there were no bed bugs. Staff is very friendly especially Marie (please leave her a good tip for all the hard work she does). There is reasonably inexpensive food around and at Mercado 28. You can walk or take a taxi to the ADO bus station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were in Cancun during the rain period and Hotal Tankah has all necessery for us, clima, big rooms with equipment according to price and good services with them together position in the center near the ADO and market Mercado 28, close from pub and restaurants. Best deal for private tourists and private fiesta... explore it.

Room Tip: It is not necessery to have good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am a local guide in Belize. I recently visited Cancun and did Stayed here at Hotel Tankah. Low Budget but WELL-WORTHED. 15 minutes away (walking) from the Bus Terminal. Not in the hotel zone. The Rooms Was Clean. the Receptionist was courteous and did answered my questions as to how I can move around. I recommend this hotel. but it does not accept any credit card payments. on a side note, right infront of this hotel there is a local market where u can get reason prizes for souvenirs, and can get great deals on tours. and if u happen to be by the little market, ( el Mercado 38 ) look our for Ceasar, the local tour agent to give you better deal as oppose to booking a tour at the hotel zone, where the prizes would be much higher, for the same tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corporativo H, Manager at Hotel Tankah, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! As a Budget hotel trying to offer clean loding at reasonable prices it is always good to read words like yours. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a very basic hotel catering to Mexican travelers. It is far from margaritaville, but very inexpensive, very clean, and serves breakfast in the courtyard. If you are not going to Cancun to stay on the beach, are en route elsewhere or want to see more of the real city than the tourist version, this is an excellent value. The rooms have air conditioning. There is a good taqueria nearby, and a market across the street, but no nightlife in the area. Keep in mind that when you book through a service, you are booking a reservation, and must pay when you arrive - it will not be charged to your card. Their credit card machine was broken, so we had to pay cash.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tankah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tankah

Address: Avenida Tankah 69 y 70 SM 24 Mz 3, Cancun 7750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#114 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tankah 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tankah is located a few steps away from the Market 28, one of the largest handcraft markets in the city. We offer rooms that are clean and basic. The ideal location for the independent traveller or business man who is looking for a place for a hot shower and a clean bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Tankah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankah Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tankah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.