We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and cool oasis in city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Rey Del Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel el Rey Del Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel el Rey Del Caribe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Uxmal 24 SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 | SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 Cancun Q. Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surrey, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“quiet and cool oasis in city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

In April 2013 we stayed at the Rey del Caribe for one night when passing through Cancun so to be nearer the bus station and airport, and to try the restaurants in the old city. It is perfect and perhaps unique if you want some peace and quiet, and cool shade. The hotel grounds, the little pool and the view through the trees and plants are beautiful. The corner room we had was spotlessly clean, comfortable and attractive. Breakfast in the little restaurant under the palapa was great. The attention to detail is everywhere. Perfect for something different.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Friend: The most important thing for us is to have a comfortable place for our guests. Thanks for your visit, there are some guests that call El Rey del Caribe hotel as the spirit of Cancun, we agree with them. Nature always give life.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    173
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
64
207
41
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been to the Cancun area several times. Ive done the big resort style in the Hotel Zone. The problem with that is it is soooo commercial. When I travel, I enjoy the local flavor. That is what you will get here. The staff is so warm and welcoming and the courtyard is lovely and tranquil. You are only 2 blocks away from the main street Talum which provides bus stops to take you down to the hotel zone for less than a dollar (8 pesos). Easy to master and you really get a chance to enjoy your surroundings. The only negitive is having to eat out for lunch and dinner, but if you are doing it right, you are already out and about. No bar service and only breakfast is served, but very good. By the way, the room does get very chilly at night, you will need an extra blanket, which they do provide. Hard to complain about that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest. Thanks for you important comments, we are happy you enjoy your stay at the Eco Hotel El Rey del Caribe. Next time try to have a massage you will love it.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in 2 different rooms and had 2 different experiences. We stayed for 2 nights when we first arrived in Cancun. Our first room was far better than the 2nd. The room was small, but functional--tiny kitchenette and plenty of space for luggage. The beds were fairly comfortable. The water pressure was ok for Mexico. On the downside, the water doesn't get very warm for showers (common for Mexico), you can only use the AC while in the room (requires room key--so can't turn it on to cool down room while at supper, etc.), and the rooms smell musty when you first enter.

The 3rd night we stayed was prior to our departing flight the next morning. The 2nd room was also musty smelling, but the shower had very little water pressure, and the AC was so loud that it was difficult to sleep. The shower water took so long to change from cold to slightly warm, that it wasted quite a bit of water (probable re-used for plants or something--they have many water saving techniques). The floor was covered with a fine layer of sand. My Spanish is very poor so I had difficulty asking for the room to be swept. If we had to only base our experience on our first stay my opinion of the hotel would be better.

The gardens and pool are gorgeous and grounds are well maintained. Watch out for the bat droppings? at nightfall in the pool area.

The breakfast palapa was lovely and the breakfast was good. It can take a little while when they are busy with several guests at once. The servers are very nice and helpful.

The staff in general are very nice and helpful. The front desk staff speak quite a bit of English.

I did really respect and appreciate their big commitment to ecology. You should read their binder on all their water saving techniques.

Walking east to the center on town can be a bit of a challenge. Many areas do not have sidewalks and it is difficult to cross near the roundabouts.

For easy walking, you can walk straight across the street and continue a 1/2 block past the pharmacy, there was a nice little Italian restaurant called El Tigre y Torro? There are a few other restaurants close by that we didn't try.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many of our echo techniques to have as less impact to environmental are part of the effort to all hotel, staff and responsible tourism, we are happy you could enjoy the nature we have in the gardens and the company of our staff, all of them locals. We are in the transition of changing the air conditioning for new equipment to put high efficiency with inverter system (40%) energy savings and possibly you were in a room that did not have the system yet , we are sorry for that.
Cancun has a humidity environmental all the year more that 80% of the year, and we ventilate the rooms constantly to have a relative humidity as low as is possible. Your comments will help us to continue doing changes to make our guest be comfortable and happy. Thanks for your visit.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel near the bus station in Cancun. I flew into Cancun. Took the ADO bus to this Hotel and thought I was in heaven. Within walking distance to a great Japanese restaurant and Bisquites. I felt very safe here and it was so beautiful.

A quick taxi trip to the ADO bus station to anywhere else you want to go in the Yucatan. Lovely place and the staff was extremely helpful. I really liked it there and wish I were there now!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate them, it gives us support to continue working to give good services, I am going to make extensive your words to our staff.
Next time try our relax massage you will enjoy them very much.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASKATOON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 2 nights and were very satisfied. The room was spacious, quiet and beautiful. The kitchenette was a nice bonus. The room was very clean, nice bathroom, comfortable beds. It was an oasis in the middle of the city...so hard to believe that it is a l
block away from the bus station. The inner garden is amazing. The included breakfast was delicious. Very friendly staff. Wii definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It was an honor to have guest like you with us, thanks for your comments, we are happy you enjoy your stay in the Eco Hotel El Rey del Caribe. Come to visit us again and try our relax massages they are really very good .
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Every year my college roomie and I go to Mexico.....we stay here on the front and back side of our journey down the Mayan Riviera. It has a friendly staff that knows us by name and charming rooms surrounded by a Garden of Eden. The water fountain is peaceful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The AC is a MUST for us. The breakfast is included. I always head for the hammock under thetrees. It is close to shopping and retaurants and FAR AWAY from the touristy madness of Cancun proper. It is always an excellent choice and feels like our home away from home.

Room Tip: I always prefer the ground floor rooms so we don't need to handle luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are your home in Cancun, we are happy you enjoy your stay with us . We are going to continue giving the best services we can. Next time take a relax massage you will love it. See you soon.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I spent two days here in January 2013 and had selected this hotel based upon the reviews of Tripadvisor. We were very pleased with our selection, so thank you for all those who had previously recommended this charming hotel. Our room was clean and quite spacious. The huge shower was an unexpected surprise. The mattress was quite hard, but we prefer this over a soft one. As everyone has previously mentioned, the garden and pool area is beautiful. We loved the free breakfast that was supplied and a very special mention of the restaurant staff who were exceedingly friendly and polite.
If you’re looking for a 5-star Marriott type hotel, this hotel may disappoint you. However, if you are looking for a clean, affordable and somewhat quirky little hotel, you'll be very pleased.

On a side note, one half block away is a wonderful family restaurant named The Biscuit. Meals here were wonderful, inexpensive ($8.00 - $10.00 CAN) and very tasty. Try the Chicken Chocolate Mole’. Best I've ever had. They have both a Mexican and an English menu (same prices).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Your comments are very important for us, thanks very much for them.Because we are very well located you have plenty of choices of restaurants. We are happy you enjoy your stay with us. Next time we invite you to try our relax massages.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel el Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Rey Del Caribe

Address: Av. Uxmal 24 SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 | SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 Cancun Q. Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel el Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.