We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quiet, and relaxing hotel in the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Rey Del Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel el Rey Del Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel el Rey Del Caribe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Uxmal 24 SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 | SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 Cancun Q. Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Charming, quiet, and relaxing hotel in the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A very charming spot in the centre of Cancun. Well furnished rooms with small kitchenette including a hot plate and refrigerator. The bathrooms were spotless and had plenty of hot water. Internet is available via a laptop in the lobby for those of us who still don’t carry one. The small pool in the garden is well shaded and provides an ideal spot to relax and read. Breakfast is served in a small restaurant in the shaded courtyard. Its hard to believe you are in the middle of the city at this hotel. Very close to the ADO terminal and to a Mega grocery store, as well as several restauants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We love to have families like you in the Eco hotel, your comments help us to do our best to continue growing.
Thank you for your visit.
MANAGER
ING. EDUARDO RODROGUEZ HERNANDEZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    161
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
183
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days at this hotel prior to a trip to Cozumel. I was not interested in staying in the hotel zone so we searched for a place in downtown Cancun. The Hotel el Rey Del Caribe is a gem. It was perfect from the very start with our airport pickup from Eduardo, to the spacious rooms, free breakfast and absolutely beautiful grounds. If you are looking for an authentic experience away from the Vegas like atmosphere of the hotel zone then you have found the place. We were 2 blocks from the Commercial Mexicano market which had everything we could want as well as ATM machines. We walked many miles through the downtown area and never felt unsafe. The sidewalks are full of holes and tripping hazards so be aware that you have to keep an eye out. We visited several local restaurants and the hotel staff was always available to help give recommendations. One of my favorite spots was just relaxing in the hammocks near the pool. The free breakfast in the beautiful palapa was delicious and the service was fantastic. I wish we had spent a few more days here before continuing on to Cozumel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Eco hotel El Rey del Caribe in downtown Cancun thanks your visit and comments, we try to keep a natural environmental to make fell people relax and calm. We are located in a very safe area near all services of good quality. We have a nice spa with relax massages, next time try one, you will love it.
See you soon again.
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hrenández
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were a family of eleven that included 4 children ranging in age from1 to 7. We were on the receiving end of nothing but the best of treatment and were welcomed from the beginning to the end of our 3 day stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful with anything we needed or wanted to know. We were given 3 rooms together on the bottom floor at the back of the building and they were perfect for our large group. The children loved the pool and the cute little playhouse next to it. The on-site sweet little restaurant for breakfast was perfect with the tropical lushness all around us. We all wandered in at different times and the service as well as the food was excellent. We loved the downtown location, so close to restaurants, easy to take a cab and the proximity to the ADO bus station was good for us as we travelled to Tulum using that service. Thank-you for everything. Maritza! I especially love the all night-clerk from Valladolid. He was funny and kind as was the beautiful woman during the day, (sorry cannot remember her name!) Also the tall man with the soft kind voice that helped us with so many things. We shall return and can't wait to do so.

Room Tip: They are all nice as the hotel is not real large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We fell very happy to know that you like our hotel, our local staff, most of them mayan, are part of the Mexican hospitality. We like families, and we hope you can come to visit us again soon. the airport hotel transportation ( extra price) is always available to our guests.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Tx
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were impressed with the lush tropical gardens and quiet rooms. Mary at the front desk was very friendly and Abel was eager to lug our bags up the 2 flights of stairs to our large well-appointed room. The bed and bedding was comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Martha was a delight in the restaurant and served us a very nice breakfast with great caffe con leche and fresh fruit juices. We will definitely stay there again. We made arrangements for Eduardo to pick us up from the airport and take us to Playa Del Carmen the next morning for the ferry trip to Cozumel (very reasonable prices).

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room and they will give you one on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments, I can see you remember all our names this means that we could do a good connection. Human relationships are the best part of a travel. Hope we can have you again soon. Try our relax massages next time they are awesome.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nealab
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, however we had an early departure, and the night clerk(sorry I don't remember your name) arranged our cab, had the kitchen staff make us an early coffee, and they cheerily made us croissants to send us on our way. I am not a Cancun fan, but this hotel made it tolerable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many people that come to visit the archeological places in Yucatan stay with us and have a good time, we are small but with all the services any one can need to be comfortable, thank for your comments and visit. Hope we can have you here again soon. Next time try our relax massage they are very good
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the el Rey Del Caribe after arriving to Cancun, and I would stay there again. It is, indeed an oasis right int he center of the commercial zone. Four walls surround tropical garden and a small pool. The owner's house is right in a middle of the garden and it lends even more of a colonial feel. Rooms are simple, but spacious, on several levels. Saw one traveler doing yoga on one of the balcony-like levels. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are very happy to know you enjoy your stay in El Rey del Caribe. Our space invites people to relax , the gardens help a lot with this, we aprecciate your comments and invite you to come any time you want, we would like to share the Mexican hospitality with you again. Thanks for you visit
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The place was great. The staff told you every thing. The courtyard was spectacular with green plants everywhere and a refreshing pool. The complimentary breakfast was stupendous. wonderful tranquil retreat in convenient central location. Perfecto!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments, we appreciate you enjoy your stay with us this is our goal everyday with all our guests. See you next time, and tray if you can a relax massage they are wonderful and very cheap. thank you for your visit
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel el Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Rey Del Caribe

Address: Av. Uxmal 24 SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 | SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 Cancun Q. Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel el Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.