We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel downtown Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Rey Del Caribe

Save Saved
You added Hotel el Rey Del Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel el Rey Del Caribe
Av. Uxmal 24 SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 | SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 Cancun Q. Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 172 hotels in Cancun
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice hotel downtown Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before and after a fishing trip to Xcalak. The place is very friendly and clean. It is a little bit of an oasis in the downtown area of Cancun. There is an inner courtyard that is very quiet and has a nice pool and hammocks. The staff is very friendly and gives good recommendations for restaurants. There is a large supermarket just around the corner, so very convenient for purchasing of forgotten last minute items. There booking engine on the internet is easy to navigate. They reply immediately with confirmations and are very helpful with special requests etc. It is a cheap and cheerful place that served all our purposes. I would certainly consider this hotel again if I need a place in the downtown Cancun area.

Room Tip: A room on the main floor is handy if you have a lot of luggage as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest: thank you for your comments and description of our Eco hotel, it is very important for most of our guest to know that we are very well located to catch buses, taxis , because we are in downtown near of all kind of services. we appreciate you visit and we hope we can have you next time with us, this is a good way to have friends all over the world. By the way Xcalak is the paradise to fishing. good choice!!
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    143
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
168
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a tropical garden/oasis in the midst of the downtown bustle of Cancun.
The hotel is three stories connected by stairs some covered by a thatched roof giving each room a private feel since you can't see many of the other rooms. It definitely is not cookie cutter style with rooms line up in rows. The small pool is well maintained and surrounded by the breakfast area which has a thatched roof with beautiful tropical hardwood floors.

Included is a large mexican breakfast or as they say comida forte which means strong meal. The lady serving is most helpful and cheerful and she taught us a few words in Mayan. Don't forget to tip the server even if the meal is included.

Rooms include cooking and Armando was most helpful getting us extra cooking utensils. Our
room was very clean,quiet and beds were great.

The location of this hotel is great. The bus station, supermarket,parks, restaurants and local buses to places such as the Isla de Las Mujeres port are all very close. The hotel also provides pickup at the airport for $35

This hotel is a great place to start and end your trip in the Yucatan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We appreciate you comments about our hotel, we try to do our best to give good service to our guest. Our Mexican style let our guest to be in touch with mayan people, most of our workers are from this area, thanks you for you visit and hope you can come to be with us again soon.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

El Rey del Caribe is in El Centro de Cancun, which we preferred over the more touristy zona hotelera. The restaurants in this area offer better food at better prices and there was a lot of good nightlife nearby. The hotel's grounds are BEAUTIFUL--very tropical and lush with plenty of places to relax. The complimentary breakfast was far better than what we had been offered in the other hotels we had stayed in, plus you get to eat under a palapa surrounded by palm trees and plant life.

As much as we loved the place, I cannot leave out the one big draw back--I was bitten all over my ankles and shoulder by what I am pretty sure were bed bugs. I think we were in room 224. I woke up with the bites but did not realize what they were because I had never encountered bed bugs before. After reading descriptions online, I gotta say that my case totally fits the bill. The hotel seemed clean overall and also well-managed so I'm confident they will handle this. I would probably skip Cancun in any future Yucatan Peninsula trips but if I find myself there again, I would still choose this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
El Rey del Caribe in downtown is definitively a good choice if you want to avoid the crowd tourist zone. Our place is a good one to relax, we agree. Thanks for you comments about the breakfast and the tropical gardens, we are rescuing the native plants specially palms. We hope we can have to you here again to serve you they way you deserve. . Thank you for your visit. We are trying to figure out what happened in the bed, be sure that if there is something we will correct it immediately
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cancun-- the modern Cancun-- has moon in common with Las Vegas or Disneyland than it does authentic Mexico. That's not a bad thing if you're a fugitive from cold weather or a withering relationship, but mega-hotels now dominate a coastline that was once populated by mangrove swamps and gentle people. Today, the typical Cancun hotel is just another global all-inclusive, high-wattage corporate investment property.

However, if you're planning to travel to a few different cities in Mexico courtesy of the ADO bus system, consider spending a lay-over night at Hotel el Rey Del Carib. It's only a short walk from the Cancun ADO bus terminal and it's a funky old-time non-chain hotel that is a terrific respite from corporate American or Abu Dhabi. The rooms are fairly spartan (but clean and quite). The interior courtyard, however, is filled with trees, birds and a fabulous breakfast enclosure. Add to that wonderful staff and you feel like you're really on a Mexico vacation rather than an occupancy statistic on a Wall Street quarterly report.

Room Tip: Non street-facing is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Your comments are very important for us, thanks for your words, we area a Mexican hotel, with Mexican workers,, we agree that if you come to Mexico is important to be in touch with Mexican flavor. We appreciate your opinions and we will work very hard to continue giving a good service in a nice Mexican ambiance.
Manager
Ing Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A well located hotel with a difference in downtown Cancun. Avoid the resort saturated coast and stay in the city centre if you want to see a bit more of the Mexican way instead of the generic international resort way.
An ecologically and socially conscious option that doesn't detract from the fact that it is a well priced and cozy hotel. How it manages to exclude the outside hustle and bustle from the relaxing and serene inner courtyard and pool is amazing, yet it is still close to the main Avenue in Cancun.

Not a 5 star option but should be considered even by the 5 star traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest: Your comments are very important for our staff, we are doing a very important effort to protect environmental, we know that all of this new ideas can give a good service, save energy and being in a nice ambience near nature that makes people fell peace. We really work hard for 5 star traveler. a good way to say it. Thanks a lot.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. It is near the supermarket, the main street Tulum where buses leave every 3 minutes to go to the beaches, the bus station, shopping, and restaurants. The rooms are build around a jungle -like courtyard with hammocks and a swimming pool. The room was large, clean, had air-conditioning, a good sized bathroom, a comfortable bed, a refrigerator, sink, and a safe. Breakfast is included with the room price and is excellent. The staff are all very helpful. They also offer reasonably priced massages which we tried and enjoyed. There is no other hotel in Cancun that we would stay at - and we have tried about half a dozen.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room that was in the back (off of the street) so it was quiet and also felt safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Than you very much for your comments, They motivate us to do better things to serve you the way you deserve. The Mayan Archeological sites are so grate, we recommend everyone to visit them. El Rey del Caribe Eco-Hotel is the door to the Mayan sites.
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernández
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this lovely small hotel twice during October 12, and it was very conveniently located in central Cancun, near shops and the bus station. The rooms were spacious with air and fan, breakfast was nice, and the staff were extremely helpful. It was really nice being small and is an oasis in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We thanks your opinion, we know that in Australia the hotel's standards are very high y knowing that you like Eco Hotel El Rey del Caribe motivate us to continue working in order to have higher standards in the environmental issues, cleaning, service etc. We invite you next time you visit us to enjoy in our spa of a relax massage with very good prices, highly recommended after a long trip.
Ing. Eduardo Rodrñiguez Hernández
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel el Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Rey Del Caribe

Address: Av. Uxmal 24 SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 | SM 2-A MZ 3 L 18 Cancun Q. Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel el Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Rey Del Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.