We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Oasis Mariscos

El Oasis Mariscos
Yaxchilan Avenue,Super Manzana 17 | Across from Costco, Cancun, Mexico
+52 998 884 4106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 622 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: En Oasis Cancun y Playa nuestra orientacion al servicio, variedad, calidad y frescura de los pescados y mariscos es unica. Lo mejor del Caribe Mexicano.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything we have ordered has been fresh and delicious, very traditional menu with the best shrimp ceviche and seafood tacos. Good service and really pleasant decor.
wish they were open later then 7 PM.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best seafood we found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Every year we spend 2 weeks in Cancun, I typically eat seafood at least 10 times. This year we tried something different instead of asking the concierge where we should go for seafood we asked our beach waitress where her favorite place was. She told us about this spot and we ended up eating there twice with different groups of friends. The menu is all in Spanish, but the waiter helped us to understand what things were and no-one was disappointed. In fact most agreed that this was the best seafood they had found and at about half the price of the better seafood places in the hotel zone. I hesitate to review this place because I am afraid that too many of us tourists showing up will ruin the local flavor. Keep in mind that El Oasis Mariscos is not a late night stop, they stop serving at 7:00 p.m. We brought home a menu to translate so we can try something different next year.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have been there twice this trip, and both times the food has been excellent! Don't go there expecting to order beef or chicken because it is only seafood. The atmosphere is charming with brightly painted tables and chairs, and the faucet in the washroom is made out of a conch shell! That being said, the food was great, and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place! Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The food is absolutely great, but the service is superb! Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“a great option in Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I could easy say it is by far my favorite restaurant in Cancun
This seafood restaurant has a thatch palapa with a huge sail boat as bar in the middle. You always have a warm welcome when coming in.
They have tons of options from whole fish to the stuffed catch of the day, and from cocktails to ceviche and some other fish and shrimp specialties and also some great soups. Don`t miss the shrimp tacos, really amazing, to start of your meal.
If you like beer, try the way Mexicans drink it, with sauces, ask for an Ojo Rojo, just waht you need for Cancun's hot weather.
The service is impecable, there is always someone taking care of you, without being so pushy. They do receive Credit cards here, so just come hungry!
You can also find this restaurant in Playa del Carmen, but I have not visit them there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Oasis Mariscos also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Oasis Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Oasis Mariscos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.