We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Amazing, and a Little Crazy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Oklahoma City
1 review
“Perfect, Amazing, and a Little Crazy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff is amazing! Alejandro and Alonso and the Entertainment Team at Moon Grand were crazy. Karaoke with a live band if you can imagine that! They consistently remember names and will do anything to insure you have a great time.

Room Tip: Moon Grand if you want large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6,402
    2,162
    760
    439
    315
See reviews for
3607
2948
42
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,779)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

It's our second day here and it's not at all what we hoped for. We were promised a relaxing week. What we have is a resort in the middle of a serious amount of building work, and a large resort which seems to be full of the South American branch of Herbalife who are on an all-expenses-paid jaunt. The resort is totally focused on giving these guys a good time, and the rest of us who have worked all year for this expensive holiday relegated to the sidelines trying to find a quiet corner where we aren't sold Herbalife products or having to listen to people from Argentina yelling down microphones. We are trying to get ourselves moved from this horrible place. Not sure I'd recommend it even after all the building work is finished.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I know that the Moon Palace Resort is ALL INCLUSIVE. Sometimes people believe that the staff's efforts are also and taken for granted. I want to mention a list of folks who worked over at the MOON GRANDE who are defintiely 5 star people and hopefully Moon Palace can appreciate them in someway. Here we go:
Building 86 Conceirge
SILVINA, thank you so much for all the nice touches during our stay

Moon Grande Pool Entertain ment staff:
Alonso, Alex and Alfredo, also the newer member, a young lady are 5*s
GYM STAFF
Jonathan and Hugo, very good classes and great equipment
Swim Up Bar Moon Grande Olympic
Waldo,Issac and waiter Luis: What a fun place with exceptional service
Golf COurse
Adrian: warm and friendly right there to assist you to get off early and move folks along nicely.
Resturants
Diego at breakfast and Omar at momo... 2 great guys.
that's it. If you run into these folks tell all Gary and Vicki said they are GREAT!!!!

Room Tip: One minus was confusion with resort credits and the legal folks and member services; that wanted mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I wanted to take a moment to thank all of the staff at the Moon Palace Grand Olympic pool for a wonderful week last week (Nov 10 - 17). You all made our trip a wonderful experience. I especially want to thank Sara Borroso for waiting on us each day. You did a great job along with Aleandro, Isabel, Luis, and especially Alfredo.

I want to thank Adrian, waiter at the Cabana above the Caribeno, for taking care of us each evening. It was great talking to you and learning more about the local culture.

And finally I want to thank Kenny, bartender at the Nizuc pool and Orlando, waiter at the Brazilian restaurant at Nizuc, for serving us once again. It is great to see that with all of the changes at Moon Palace they recognize good employees and insure they are treated well for taking such great care of their guests. We look forward to seeing you both when we return in February!

Thanks again for all you do!

Joe

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just returned after spending 10 nights with two friends at the Moon Palace. As others have said this is a big resort but not too big that you can't easily get around. We stayed in the Grand Section and it only took a stroll of 20 mins to reach the Sunrise section using the path along the beach area. The shuttle bus between the lobbies was frequent and easy to use. There was a bus over to the Golf Club where the spa and the Italian restaurant were situated.

We used our Resort Credits up to 400 dollars for spa treatments and this was really good value two massages for my partner and a luxury hot stone pedicure for me. Paying the 11% tax meant the total bill was a round 37 dollars.

We had a great room in the Grand Section really, really big with a very large balcony on which there were two padded chairs and a large double padded sunbed. Fridge stocked well with optics for spirits. There were also complimentary snacks of crisps etc. The large bathroom had twin sinks and a very large walk in shower.There were also 3 swimming pools in this section. The service round the pools was excellent.

All the staff in the hotel were extremely good infact this having been our 5th time to Mexico I would say these were the best staff we have had overall. There is a wide range of choice for food no restaurants having to be booked apart from the one at the golf club where we ate twice.
There is also a cake and sweet area in the Sunrise that was too tempting.

The Nizuc Lobby and restaurants had reopened just before we arrived. Some building work still going on but nothing to spoil the holiday.

As stated many times the sea and beach are not of the best because there is a lot of seaweed, but there are plenty of pools in each area so not a problem. We did take the compimentary bus to the Beach Palace where the sea is turquoise. We asked about the turtle releasing into the sea and we did this at about 17.20 at the Grand Section beach but they also do it over at the Sunrise. It was lovely experience.

I e mailed the hotel before we left to request the rooms in the Grand Section and we got exactly what we asked for.

We usually do adult only but even though there were children about the pools we used at the Grand Section were usually very quiet especially the one near the Tacos Snack bar. It depends what you want but there is a lot of choice so enough to suit everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Grand were very, very large with very large well furnished balconies. Bathrooms lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We went to moon palace golf and spa on 09/11/13, it was the first time in cancum, and I have to say it will not be the last. It was a fantastic holiday, the staff could not do enough for us always polite and very helpful. The rooms were lovely too with a great big jacuzzi in there which we used every day! We even indulged in a day at the spa, went in the wet rooms then had a couples aromatherapy full body massage, followed by a chocolate wrap and a mini facial, then to top it off a full body moisturise, heaven wasn't the word, my partner is now wanting to go again he enjoyed it that much.
We also did a few trips which were great, we stayed in the Sunrise section and was not disappointed, we visited the Nizuc and the Grand both were lovely but we loved the Sunrise, the pool was fantastic, huge! And the waitress kept out drinks topped up, we'll worth the money, so well done to Moon Palace and thanks for making our holiday out of this world. We are now planning our next holiday there in May, and I just cannot wait.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a concierge room before we travelled, I would recommend doing this when you arrive as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I have been back to this location numerous times.. This is the first time we brought our 3 year old, it has enough space for children so that adults are not bothered with noise, the spacious spa in the bedroom makes it easy to put her to sleep, room service in the early morning for her special breakfast was wonderful. They have a great huge playroom and the staff is always friendly. It is right at the beach, so we love it .
My husband likes to play soccer on the beach. There is enough entertainment, and he loves to use the Spa with all the different massages that are being offered. Many restaurants are available. It is all inclusive and that was the first reason we chose to come here. It is great to have a completely lazy vacation in the sun with the pool and the beach

Room Tip: I love the moon grand , it is a little bit further away from the main track and most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Amex and Otel so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.