We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon Palace- Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moon Palace- Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The most amazing place for vacation on earth. What separates the Moon Palace (Grand, Nuzuk & Sunrise) from the rest of the resorts in the world, is an Exceptional staff on site and their Exceptional service in all areas of the resort.
To name a few staff members who made me feel very special and like a part of their family;

Claudia - Concierge
Daniel - Front Desk
Blanca Palacios- Wet Bar
Felipe Canche- Wet Bar
Elana - Beach side bar
Marisol -Beach side bar
Luis - Beach side bar
Josefat- Lobby bar for sampling drinks

Last but not least, I like to mention EMILIA at the Poolside bar, whose smile and an outstanding service made my vacation an amazing one. She exceeded all expectations.

Thank you,
Sal
Room # 85-301
Duration of stay: 4/27/2013 to 5/4/2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,080 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6,402
    2,162
    762
    439
    315
See reviews for
3609
2948
42
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,781)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I have only just got round to writing this review, we stopped at The Moon Palace Grand, this is our second visit to The Moon Palace, the places just seems to get better, this we stayed at the grand part of Moon Palace it's more quieter ideal for couples, the rooms are out of this world I measure the size of the room it was 50 ft by 20 ft it sounds sad but I couldn't believe how large the rooms are, it had everything you could ever want a large spar bath, double shower massive bed very comfortable, coffee machine, optics on tap, beers, cans of pop & beers, juices all included, there is 16 different restaurants Italian, Chinese, Mexican,American, plus many others, our favourites were the Italian & Chinese, the staff in the hotel are second to none, nothing is too much trouble for them, I would like to mention 4 young ladies especially they all work in The Nizuk lobby bar they treat us like a king & queen they are Deysi, Karla, Elena, Rosa.i would like to thank you all very much, we had a rep called Rachael she was a scouse young lady with the gift of the gab, the best rep I have ever come across she works for Thomas Cook, anyone who can pick fault with the moon palace there must be something with them, because we couldn't fault anything we can't wait to go back again, Thank you very much from Dean & Carol Clarke Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Moon Palace in Cancun in February. Had a wonderful time. This was our second trip to the Moon Palace. Updates were a pleasant surprise. We had a wonderful time at the Sky Bar. Geovani, Cesar and Luis were so good to us. Also, want to mention Ana Martha- she was an excellent hostess. We remembered Timoteo Martinez from our trip in 2011. He is so nice and always went out of his way to make us feel at home (he makes some great popcorn). We love the Moon Palace and hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was here for a family member's wedding so I didn't have much choice in selecting the hotel, but I would have never booked this place. The initial signs were there when I made calls a couple months before the trip to get some additional info about the resort and to book a room. They hardly ever answered the phone. Considering the positive reviews and overwhelming positive reviews on Tripadvisor, I was shocked that the phone wasn't being answered. The third day I attempted calling, I was able to get in touch with someone who answered in Spanish and then had to transfer me to a English speaking CSR. This person was not all that professional or nice. Didn't seem like a place that catered to international tourists.

We stayed in the Nizuc area of the hotel and the place is very underwhelming. The buildings were old and the place looks very generic. I'm no architect, but I could have made a better looking place. One important thing to note is this place has multiple floors, but has no elevators. If you have kids (like we do) or have difficulty climbing up and down stairs this is something to note. Our first room was on the third floor and getting a stroller up and down was a serious pain. We asked to be switched to another room and the hotel was able to do this the following morning but not in an ocean view room like we requested. All of the rooms have this giant Jacuzzi in them which is smack dab in the middle of the room. A jacuzzi in the room might have been cool in the Miami Vice days, but its so dated now and takes up wayyy too much space. Very lame actually.

They claim free WI-FI throughout the resort, but the WI-FI is spotty at best. We have a baby so were in the room a lot while she slept and WI-FI was important to us to access the web/email. Unfortunately, most of the time it didn't work in our room. We called the front desk to complain, they transferred us to a third party company, spent an hour on the phone and person said someone would call me once it was resolved. It was never resolved and no one in the hotel cared to solve it.

This place is way overpriced. For a couple and an infant, we paid close to $400 a night for this 2 star place. I checked Westin, Ritz Carlton, and Intercontinental (international hotel resorts) for the same time period and those are all between $149 and $250 per night. Moon palace is all inclusive, but there was no way my family and I were consuming between $150 and $250 of food/drink per day to make up the difference. We would have spent less than this amount on food and drink at other non all inclusive hotels.

The resort is so big that you have to take shuttles everywhere. Never went to the SPA because the whole point of a massage is to relax, but if I have to travel on shuttles for about 1 hour roundtrip (including waiting for a shuttle), then its obviously defeating the purpose.

In summary:
Accommodations: Old and run down
Food: Average
Service: Average to below par
Pricing: Way overpriced

Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner flew out 22nd April for two weeks and everything start to finish was perfect!!
We stayed in the grand section and for what we were looking for this was in our opinion definitely the best of the three!!
The rooms are huge with jacuzzi bath, good size balcony, air con was good, and it was cleaned daily.
The pools at the grand section we preferred also as they were quieter but still had enough going on to keep u entertained, u didn't ever had to leave your sun lounger as the waiters/waitresses kept the food and drinks coming.
We had breakfast every morning at carabean restaurant which was a buffet style service, we loved the omelettes made freshly by leydi (Laura), and even though they seemed to have short supply they always went out of their way to find us English tea to drink.
We did a lot of on site activities and there really is enough to do that u never have to leave the resort, parasailing, jet ski, swim with dolphins, mini golf, palace bus into cancun, spa day.
A lot of people complain about how large the resort is but we always enjoyed walking along the beach, and for those lazy idol people that do complain there are always golf buggys available and a bus that goes from grand-nizuc-sunrise every 10minutes!!!
You could never get bored of the food as you could eat at a different place every night if u wish, our favourites were the Brazilian steakhouse at the nizuc section, los tacos at the grand, but the best one was barracuda where they do amazing steaks and the waiter Javier gave exceptional service even 2 the rude/loud American guests!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the most awesome resort we have been too and we have been too quiet a few . The service was exceptional and the staff were on top of their game 24/7. . The restaurants on site have exceptional food and the room service was awesome too the moon palace also takes all inclusive to a new level. i would like to mention a few names which made my stay all the better Felipe Canche & Amelia from grand pool bar service with a big smile ;>). Angel Uc from front desk for sorted a big problem out for me which could have spoiled my holiday a big thanks to him. Humberto from front desk for moving me as close as possible to the grand were the wedding party was staying i ended up closer to there lobby,pool bar and bus stop than them was perfect oh and last guy was my bell boy Jorge long story but hes a good man. 1 BIT OF ADVISE IS TO GO INTO TOWN TO BOOK TRIPS MUCH MUCH CHEAPER TRIED AND TESTED

Room Tip: THE GRAND section is quiet for relaxing then NIZUC is a little more lively and finally SUNRISE which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Moon Palace is located on an isolated sandy beach south of Cancun and south of the main hotel strip. No matter how many times you look at it beforehand on Google Earth, you still do not appreciate how large this complex is until you get there.

It occupies over a kilometre of beach front, with six or more swimming pools, three lobbies - Sunrise, Nizuc and Grand - and fourteen different restaurants to choose from. And a full sized golf course. And tennis courts.

We went in early May on a 10 day package deal, flying from Gatwick to Cancun non-stop on Virgin Atlantic. The deal was all-inclusive, and included $1000 dollars each to spend on resort activities - excursions, spa treatments, swimming with dolphins, chef special dinners etc. You have to pay the 11% purchase tax on any of these activities, but it's still a very good deal.

We have been on many all-inclusive holidays, but this was probably the best. The rooms are large, with a two person jacuzzi in the room, and a huge bed, and a well stocked mini bar including full sized bottles of whisky, rum, tequila and vodka on optic dispensers.

The whole complex is incredibly well maintained, with grounds, swimming pools, public areas, private rooms all cleaned daily. Clean towels are available at all pools. And the all-inclusive aspect means that you can have a drink - alcoholic or non-alcoholic - or a wide selection of well cooked and well presented food at almost any time of the day or night. Food and drink can be served in your room at no extra charge. And the numerous staff are unfailingly cheerful and very helpful.

Because the complex is so big there is a constant coach shuttle service between the three lobbies, or golf buggies - Cancun Limos - for shorter journeys. A separate minibus provides a shuttle service out to the golf course and spa.

The Palace organisation has two further hotels - the Beach Palace and the Sun Palace (adults only) - further north on the main hotel strip where your all-inclusive wrist band is still valid. There is a free courtesy bus twice a day to these if you need a change. We tried both - very nice hotels with good swimming pools and a superb beach - but they felt very limited after the variety of options and facilities available at the Moon Palace.

We were "invited" to a presentation on the hotel complex on the first day, which sounded interesting, but turned out to be a variant on a time share deal - pay money up front and future holidays at the various Palace locations are offered at reduced rates. So we said no, but were given a substantial "gift" for attending anyway.

The only other negatives were the slightly noisy air conditioning in our room - we turned ours off at night - and the entertainment which we found a bit naff, but that might be because we are old and crotchety and don't appreciate overloud boom boxes and over enthusiastic DJs any more. The pools south of the Grand Lobby were much more sedate with piped classical music when we needed to get away.

I don't normally recommend a holiday or hotel - but I would recommend this one to anybody. If you can find a similar deal, try it.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view of sorts. We paid £100 extra for a seafront room - it was probably worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Amex and Otel so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.