We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are very please about our vacation. Food was good, yoy have to try the Italian restaurant and the Japanese restaurant and we realy enjoy our spinning lessons with NELI every day. The employes are very polite and kind. The hostess Linda at the restaurants is the best. The fact that we can phone home directly from our room and get WiWi fot FREE is very pleasant. I've check everything of my office in the moorning and it was very important.
Thank's guy's.
Lise & J.P.

Room Tip: Take a room that is garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,509
    2,439
    889
    475
    361
See reviews for
4,229
3,371
54
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are going for a convention that doesn't cost you anything you will probably be satisfied, but if you are paying rack rate or don't do a lot of drinking you may want to reconsider. Staff is friendly if you can get past the language barrier. As others have noted, they really do hover in the restaurants so if you feel weird having your buffet plate carried to the table, be warned. Had the worst whiskey sour of my life - what was that mix?? All the buffets look and feel the same. Nearly everything was served with a sauce. Even the desserts got boring after 3 days. Vegetarians will have choices but the staff thinks that vegetarians eat chicken and fish. Never ate in the sit-down restaurants. As others have noted, the beach is small and not particulary attractive but the pools are gorgeous. Everything seems to resolve around the resort credits. I was only there for a weekend so I never tried to use them so I have no opinion on that debate. Liked the room but felt realy wasteful using the Jacuzzi when they get their water through desalination. Hallways are noisy, at least on the first floor, so you will hear lots of traffic and conversation. Wife tried room service - predictably cold for such a huge property.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room for less hallway noise. Rooms close to the Sunshine or Nizuc lobbies are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMFRET CENTER
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband, friends and I traveled to the Moon Palace in the 2 bedroom golf villas on Jan. 19 to the 26th. The golf villas were surrounded by the 27 hole golf courses and are about 1/2 mile from the rest of the resort. We enjoyed 2 bedrooms both with bathrooms, TV's, and two person hot tubs, an joining living room area and a outside sitting area. The golf club has, an amazing spa, a pool, a small restaurant/bar area and a Italian restaurant which is close by to the golf villas. We were also given a golf carts to get where ever we wanted to go which was fantastic and fun! The rest of the resort is in 3 sections Sunrise, Nizuc, and Grand which are all beach front. Every section has different restaurants and buffets also. Our favorite was MoMo a hibachi and the Brazilian to dine at, but we managed to try all of the many restaurants.
The staff was outstanding, always smiling and helpful. So many great employees at one resort, it was a great experience.
I really need to thank Isabel from the spa for transporting me to a new and wonderful place with a seaweed wrap, massage and facial! She is a fantastic massage therapists!
We enjoyed the Grand section to relax by the pool, it seemed the quietest, but all sections had somethings to do and places to relax.
Thank-you for a great trip Moon Palace, we will return one day!

Room Tip: Grand section is the newest and most updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 day stay at the Moon Palace. It was lovely! It's an enormous place, beautifully maintained from top to bottom. Our room was very nice, quite roomy and comfortable. High quality toiletries in the bathroom and a nicely stocked minibar. There were many restaurant options and the food was above average for these all inclusive types of resorts. The pools are beautiful and the service charming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fantastic huge resort with loads to do. High quality resort with many restaurants and tons of activities than can be accessed with their great value Resort Credit programme. The best thing about this place is its amazing staff. Their personnel are well trained and very helpful and courteous. The 'flow rider' and on-site dolphins are a wonderful addition and the upgrades to the resort are wonderful. I fully recommend this resort and noticed visitors from many places including South America and Europe.

Room Tip: Sunrise section is better for families and lively. Nizuc section is central with easy access to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We vacationed at Moon Palace, Sunrise section from Jan. 16th to 23rd, 2013. This was our fourth year vacationing there and this was our best trip yet!! We travelled with friends, our party was 4 adults and 4 children ages 17, 13. and two 11 year olds. I must say beyond the great service and food all around, the activities crew was the best!! Marco, Danny, Jose Luis, Caesar, Santiago and Ivan WERE THE BEST!!!! Whether it was hanging by the pool getting us involved in the guessing games, water vollyball or activity of the day, we had no problem joining in! We particularly enjoyed the mornings playing foot tennis (love the new permanent foot tennis court!) and the highlight of the afternoons was taking these guys on in beach soccer!. These guys can play some AWESOME beach soccer! These guys also worked so hard at night....they entertained and kept the crowd lively during the evening shows. At times I never laughed so hard! We will miss them!
We loved all the new additions. The Flowrider was exciting for all, some mastered it and others walked away laughing in defeat..., the new Dolphin Discovery was great to have on site as this use to be a full day excursion, but now can be done in an hour (and with resort credits)...loved the Dolphins! The adults loved the new Sky Lounge and the teens and 11 year olds (ok ...and the adults) loved the new Teen lounge.
Dining highlights included the new tappanyaki/hibachi at MOMO restaurant, it was a fun, family dining experience, the new outdoor grill /bar area near Flowrider, (we no longer had to change out of our swimsuits and go inside for lunch) and our new favorite, the Brazillian restaurant "Arrecifes" over at Nizuc. The beef was delicious and we cannot say enough about our waiter Juan Carlos, he was exceptional. We went back the next night and requested him again. He made sure the beef was cooked to our liking and was very attentive all around. He made the best Flaming Mayan coffees EVER!! What a show! When he asked if we had tried a Mexican coffee and we said "No", he made us those as well!! We also need to mention Francisco, our waiter over at the Carribean restaurant in Moon Grand, he went above and beyond as well.
The pool bar staff was tremendous, we never went without a drink in our hand be it a water, soda or a cocktail! Great service there as well.
All just sheer ....Paradise....perfect bliss for the soul....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family of four (ages 20, 22, and parents [50s]) went from January 11th through the 18th and stayed in Sunrise. It was a great week--the service was over-the-top excellent, the weather was more-or-less beautiful, and the environment was friendly.
The entertainment staff (Diana, Dany, Jose, Oscar, Antonio, and a few more) were always smiling, dancing, and encouraging others to join them in the festivities. We played fut tennis, water polo, water volleyball, beach soccer, and beach volleyball.
In our week there, we managed to try over half of the restaurants available, from Bugambilias to Los Tacos (all the way over in Moon Grand). They were all delicious. Our personal favorites were Arrecifes (the Brazilian steakhouse) and La Trattoria (fancy Italian). Arrecifes is just like Fogo de Chao (in downtown Minneapolis) where they bring you different kinds of meat until turn them away. La Trattoria is all the way out in their golf course club house but well worth the trip! We had a fantastic waiter named Gonzalo who was constantly ready to take our plates but never hovered or felt intrusive. He was funny, bright, had great english, and more than helpful. Because we were there on a quieter week, all of the restaurants had a lower work load and the waiters tend to our every need--even trying to carry our plates of food for us (at the buffets).
They also had gotten an enormous wave-generator called the Flowrider in November that was an absolute blast. You can surf on the wave or boogie board (I only surfed), and as easy as Miguel and Pedro make it look, I spent most of my time wiping out with the other guests over and over. Everybody is just laughing because once you try it, you quickly learn why everybody looks so foolish on it. Miguel is always up for helping new people try to learn, plus he is very encouraging and friendly!
Final notes:
-knowing Spanish can be extremely helpful (and humorous if no one else in your party does) because you can occasionally run into workers who don't speak English well
-carry a lot of bills on you because it is customary to give tips

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.