We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Moon Palace, will definitely return !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First visit to Moon Palace, will definitely return !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visited Moon Palace for 10 nights from November 3rd 2012 with my wife. We are both late 40's. I can honestly say our experience was as near perfect as could be. We had an Ocean View concierge level and every single aspect exceeded our expectations to the point whereby we are considering returning March 2013.
The Hotel is huge. Three seperate lobbys spread along the sea front all easily accesable and of equally high standards. Enough restaurants and pools that you can be somewhere different every day. The food and service is exceptional due to the large choices.
The staff are great and always willing to help, special mention to Mercedes Maria who kept me topped up with beer most days at the pool by Grand lobby.
Played a round of golf and my amateurish attempts were made to feel welcome and would receommend if only for a glimpse of the crocodiles on the tees !
Although the hotel is very large it is certainly not cramped and no high rise design. The carribean Sea was only feet away from our door and the quality and attention to detail is excellent.
Top rating ++++ well done and see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,478
    2,427
    882
    475
    362
See reviews for
4,216
3,351
54
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice facility and all in all very friendly people. We never felt in-secure at any time. All of the staff was very polite and helpful. Nightly entertainment was great. The 9 pools are wonderful. It will be very hard to top the accomadations of the Moon Palace. The lobby to lobby transportation is great. And also the access to the other Palace Resorts, with the free transportation.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view and it was perfect. All the rooms are within 100yds or less of the Carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband Gary and I just returned from another week at Moon Palace. We celebrated our 40th anniversary and renewed our vows. A special thanks is in order for the following staff who made this trip the most memorable yet. Alexandra and Claudia at Palace Weddings.
Aracelia, Norma and Manual at La Gondola for a special breakfast on our vow renewal day. They made us a 40th anniversary photo frame to put our own picture in, it was beautiful. Norma has been like our family for seven years. Jesus at La Gondola at night has also been a family member to us for the same number of years. Abel, who is a bartender at the 19th hole is in the same catagory. These people are the ones we search for every trip and will never leave without spending time with each of them.
To our new friends Jorge, Olivia and Alma at the Lobby bar. Thank you for everything. If you need pictures taken look for Ingrid at Kodak. Last but not least, at Bugambillas are Marcelino and Jesus(who is a chef). Clemente with public relations and Robin at the Bell station all your kindness is always appreciated.
When we think of how many visitors go to Moon Palace and staff are always approaching us to tell us they remember us, it is amazing. We took friends who we have been trying to get to come with us for 10 years. Within 24 hours, they were asking themselves why they hadn't come with us sooner. They now have their own special people.
Moon Palace is growing into an even more beautiful resort than it was.Didn't deter our stay at all. Once again, THANK YOU TO ALL MY FAMILY AT MOON PALACE. We love and miss you already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed Nov 9 to Nov 17 and had a wonderful time. I love the all inclusive idea and everyone at the Resort made you feel important and appeared to be glad you were there. Not having to worry about money once your there is a big plus and a lot less stress. I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Since the day we arrive we encounter problems, our room was by a construction site, very hard to relax because of the noise, we ask to be change, and mind you we are members of the palace resorts, something now we feel not too happy about. It took 2,1/2 days out of our 7 days, to be place in our new room. Next I get sick in the next two days. If you request medical attention they charge you, and if you require medicine prices are four times more than regular price. It was a very bad experience. When comes to the administration services, they don’t have the right equipment so time take place for everything you request. If you translate the time you lose between waiting for the bus to go from one place to another and the request of services (spa, trips) you may lose 1 day just for that.
So if you think in vacation, in these resort think for 10 days in order to enjoy 7.
I also suggest making sure that is not conventions going. They are, sometime up to 3,000. Peoples, that takes all spots in restaurant, and buses. So you have to wait for ours to eat.
Also ask if the resort steel on construction, if they said yes make sure where they give you the room otherwise you will be upset by the noise, and possible injures. I personally sow many falls from gest at the resort.
My experience was only dissipated by a few peoples who thank to them I may reconsidered coming back. And they are: from LA GONDOLA our breakfast place: ERASMO, PAMELA, ARACELI, ROJAS LUNA, AND YURIDAIRE, Amazing people how put a smile in our faces every morning. From TRATTORIA: Vicky, and ROBERTO. They fix all our problems with the confusions that reservations will make.
So for all of you, who will go no matter what, try not to get sick, and drink a lot so you don’t feel anything.

i will also like to thank Marta at service desk.

Room Tip: room not near the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November for my sisters wedding the wedding was awesome if your planning a wedding an trying to pick the food get the chicken cacciatore it is good lol .... the resort an food was great the staff is friendly just be prepared to walk its a big resort but they have golf carts running all the time to take you around the resort

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the Moon Grand and overall, we had a great time. The bad part was the check-in process. As a Palace member, it's pretty disappointing when you give the hotel 4 month's lead-time and travel during the 'slow season' only to find out that your room would not be available for 2 days. We had requested a room in the Grand with king bed, but had to stay in the Nizuc for the first 2 nights. This led to taking extra time to move, check-in, and check-out. It also seemed to mess with our reservations (spa/dinner) since their system showed us in different rooms during our stay.

Beyond that, everything went very well. The weather was beautiful, there was so much to do at the large resort, and the staff was very friendly. Speaking of staff, I usually prefer to stay at the Beach Palace because the service is so personal (mainly, due to it be a much smaller resort). So, it was much more difficult to get on that name-to-name basis at the Moon since we liked to move around from restaurant or bar to another. However, I need to need to call out Carlos Ceh P. (Juan Carlos) at the Caribeno restaurant at the Grand. Almost every morning, we ate there, and he made sure that our days got off to a good start. Thanks for the great service!

Finally, there seem to be big changes in store for the Moon in the upcoming years. While expansion continues on the Grand-side, they are beginning to remodel the Sunrise-side. New attractions have already opened (Sky Bar, Club Noir, Flowrider), and the rooms will get the treatment as well. I've been told that the Nizuc side will be next. It should be interesting to see the changes at the Moon in the next couple of years. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Like many others have said, try hard to tip as many staff members that you come into contact with as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.