We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice facility and all in all very friendly people. We never felt in-secure at any time. All of the staff was very polite and helpful. Nightly entertainment was great. The 9 pools are wonderful. It will be very hard to top the accomadations of the Moon Palace. The lobby to lobby transportation is great. And also the access to the other Palace Resorts, with the free transportation.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view and it was perfect. All the rooms are within 100yds or less of the Carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,088
    2,338
    845
    469
    349
See reviews for
4,065
3,179
51
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband Gary and I just returned from another week at Moon Palace. We celebrated our 40th anniversary and renewed our vows. A special thanks is in order for the following staff who made this trip the most memorable yet. Alexandra and Claudia at Palace Weddings.
Aracelia, Norma and Manual at La Gondola for a special breakfast on our vow renewal day. They made us a 40th anniversary photo frame to put our own picture in, it was beautiful. Norma has been like our family for seven years. Jesus at La Gondola at night has also been a family member to us for the same number of years. Abel, who is a bartender at the 19th hole is in the same catagory. These people are the ones we search for every trip and will never leave without spending time with each of them.
To our new friends Jorge, Olivia and Alma at the Lobby bar. Thank you for everything. If you need pictures taken look for Ingrid at Kodak. Last but not least, at Bugambillas are Marcelino and Jesus(who is a chef). Clemente with public relations and Robin at the Bell station all your kindness is always appreciated.
When we think of how many visitors go to Moon Palace and staff are always approaching us to tell us they remember us, it is amazing. We took friends who we have been trying to get to come with us for 10 years. Within 24 hours, they were asking themselves why they hadn't come with us sooner. They now have their own special people.
Moon Palace is growing into an even more beautiful resort than it was.Didn't deter our stay at all. Once again, THANK YOU TO ALL MY FAMILY AT MOON PALACE. We love and miss you already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed Nov 9 to Nov 17 and had a wonderful time. I love the all inclusive idea and everyone at the Resort made you feel important and appeared to be glad you were there. Not having to worry about money once your there is a big plus and a lot less stress. I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Since the day we arrive we encounter problems, our room was by a construction site, very hard to relax because of the noise, we ask to be change, and mind you we are members of the palace resorts, something now we feel not too happy about. It took 2,1/2 days out of our 7 days, to be place in our new room. Next I get sick in the next two days. If you request medical attention they charge you, and if you require medicine prices are four times more than regular price. It was a very bad experience. When comes to the administration services, they don’t have the right equipment so time take place for everything you request. If you translate the time you lose between waiting for the bus to go from one place to another and the request of services (spa, trips) you may lose 1 day just for that.
So if you think in vacation, in these resort think for 10 days in order to enjoy 7.
I also suggest making sure that is not conventions going. They are, sometime up to 3,000. Peoples, that takes all spots in restaurant, and buses. So you have to wait for ours to eat.
Also ask if the resort steel on construction, if they said yes make sure where they give you the room otherwise you will be upset by the noise, and possible injures. I personally sow many falls from gest at the resort.
My experience was only dissipated by a few peoples who thank to them I may reconsidered coming back. And they are: from LA GONDOLA our breakfast place: ERASMO, PAMELA, ARACELI, ROJAS LUNA, AND YURIDAIRE, Amazing people how put a smile in our faces every morning. From TRATTORIA: Vicky, and ROBERTO. They fix all our problems with the confusions that reservations will make.
So for all of you, who will go no matter what, try not to get sick, and drink a lot so you don’t feel anything.

i will also like to thank Marta at service desk.

Room Tip: room not near the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November for my sisters wedding the wedding was awesome if your planning a wedding an trying to pick the food get the chicken cacciatore it is good lol .... the resort an food was great the staff is friendly just be prepared to walk its a big resort but they have golf carts running all the time to take you around the resort

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the Moon Grand and overall, we had a great time. The bad part was the check-in process. As a Palace member, it's pretty disappointing when you give the hotel 4 month's lead-time and travel during the 'slow season' only to find out that your room would not be available for 2 days. We had requested a room in the Grand with king bed, but had to stay in the Nizuc for the first 2 nights. This led to taking extra time to move, check-in, and check-out. It also seemed to mess with our reservations (spa/dinner) since their system showed us in different rooms during our stay.

Beyond that, everything went very well. The weather was beautiful, there was so much to do at the large resort, and the staff was very friendly. Speaking of staff, I usually prefer to stay at the Beach Palace because the service is so personal (mainly, due to it be a much smaller resort). So, it was much more difficult to get on that name-to-name basis at the Moon since we liked to move around from restaurant or bar to another. However, I need to need to call out Carlos Ceh P. (Juan Carlos) at the Caribeno restaurant at the Grand. Almost every morning, we ate there, and he made sure that our days got off to a good start. Thanks for the great service!

Finally, there seem to be big changes in store for the Moon in the upcoming years. While expansion continues on the Grand-side, they are beginning to remodel the Sunrise-side. New attractions have already opened (Sky Bar, Club Noir, Flowrider), and the rooms will get the treatment as well. I've been told that the Nizuc side will be next. It should be interesting to see the changes at the Moon in the next couple of years. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Like many others have said, try hard to tip as many staff members that you come into contact with as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the Moon Grand, with my wife and two kids 7 y.o. son, and 9 y.o.daughter for a week from November 10th, to the 19th.

Rooms
The rooms at the Grand are huge with a nice outdoor patio that is big enough to have a two person lounger as well as two chairs and a table. Super clean, new and tastefully decorated. Large marble shower, two person vanity sink, spotless daily! Loved it.

Pools
The pools throughout the club, and there are tonnes of them were clean and well maintained. One pool outside of Nizuc was heated as we spent most of our time there but the others were cool in the mornings but warmed up well my mid day.

Activities
Our family was lucky enough to release baby turtles into the ocean the second night there...fabulous experience! The Flowrider had just opened at the Sunrise, and it was awesome! Our kids loved it. Took a day trip into Cancun everything went smoothely and we enjoyed our time on the beach there.

Food.
Food was outstanding. Mexican restaurant was fabulous, our waiters were Miguel, and Santiago quick, super friendly and had everything ready for you. Bambu (asian) was also very good food was not over cooked and veggies were crisp and hot. Trattoria (italian) was the nicest of the three. We loved the food and desserts. Santos was our waiter at Bambu and at Trattoria, his service and demeanor was excellent, super great guy. The buffets were good, they had everything you wanted not a lot of seafood but overall very well done and presented.

Service.
This is were the Moon Palace seperates itself from the pack. Poolside was unreal fast and friendly. Moon Grand pools we had Claudia, and Maria Mercedes. When they saw your drink was getting low they would just show up with another one for you. At Nizuc we had Jose, took time to visit with our kids, and even crafted them a palm leaf grasshopper while running around serving drinks. Minelia was our waitress at the outdoor grill at Nizuc pool, she was awesome. All the servers new our names and our kids names by the second day, and greated us warmly daily. At our buffett our waiter was Sergio David, and Ruby. Five star service. Polite conversation, anything you wanted they had ready for you in a blink. The staff really want way above my previous experiences in travelling to the Mayan Riveria. My wife and daughter had mani/pedis done twice with Maria and one other spa worker and raved about their work. We have stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace and this place was comparable, with the one caveat that the service here was much quicker and friendlier.

There was some construction going on but it did not directly affect our experience. Golf cart drivers were awesome after a long day of walking they would go out of their way to drive you directly to your room.

I will highly recommend this resort to anyone.
Great Job to the staff and management.!

Room Tip: Moon Grand has huge rooms. Very quiet but are out of the way. We were happy to be away from the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.